We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northrup Inn Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Northrup Inn Rocks!”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This was the perfect hotel for my family during our first ever visit to Portland. The street car stop is right outside the front door and we got free passes for every day we were there from the front desk.The staff was very polite and helpful. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet, but cute and great for walking. Several times we walked back from the downtown area just because it was so pretty, even in the drippy weather. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. My kids loved the funky styling. The breakfast was actually more extensive than I expected. We even had a nearly full kitchen in the room. It was really just a lovely stay and we would do it again. Plus it was a great value!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vialegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
You rock! We’re glad your kids enjoyed our funky style, but be honest, didn’t you get a kick out of it too? Because while drippy weather is an unavoidable fact of life in the great Pacific Northwest, it’s always bright and colorful inside the hotel. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    283
    51
    20
    14
See reviews for
286
443
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I can't say enough good things about this hotel, and I'm pretty picky! From the staff (lovely, helpful...), the location (quiet, right near a streetcar stop and lots of nice shops/restaurants - plus Portland is set up so you can easily navigate even if you're a first-time visitor like I was. The streets are numbered one way and alphabetical the other), the rooms (HUGE - my sister and I each had our own flat screen TV in a room with two queen beds, not to mention the big balcony, kitchenette and living room area), the perks (free parking, free internet access, free street car passes and free breakfast, where they had great bagels [and we're picky on the East coast about that!] and you could even make your own waffles), the decor (funky and fun) and the rate (about $160-170/night for two queens). They even have a great website!!

Long story short -- if you're going to Portland, STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
You sure you wouldn’t like a job writing for our website? Thank you so much for this very in-depth review; you hit all the points we would make if we were trying to get someone to stay with us. Come back any time you want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Northrup Inn twice during a recent trip to Portland--and loved it. I've been coming to Portland for years, and generally try to stay in the Nob Hill area. Many stays at the Mallory (before it became the Deluxe)...a few at Park Lane Suites. Both were fine. But the Northrup Inn was extraordinary. Loved the funky decor; loved the flat-screen TVs and the iHome for recharging the iPod and the free WiFi; loved the kitchen; loved the small balcony; loved the rooftop terrace/patio; loved the location--right on the streetcar line, within walking distance to the restaurants & shops in the neighborhood. The staff was uniformly helpful and friendly. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else in Portland!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Thank you so much for letting everyone know what a great time you had with us. All of those little extras you listed are our way of combining life’s modern conveniences with our passion for design and comfort. Whenever you return to Portland, be sure to give us a call (that’s the best way to get the best rates). Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We loved the decor at the hotel. Everything from the rooms to the hallways has the same bright colors. The rooms are large with a sitting area for watching television and a refrigerator. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area. Location on the streetcar line is convenient for exploring the city. Shopping and several good restaurants are within walking distance. A good value with the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiohiker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Our décor is certainly one of the things we feel most proud of—from the colors of the carpet and walls to the art in every room. Did you know that all of the art hung in the hotel comes from local, Portland artists? It’s true… and every room has something different so if and when you come back to Portland, be sure to stay with us again. Thanks for the review and for adding a photo too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I was one of more than 60 out-of-town guests for a wedding in Portland, and the only one (besides my spouse) who chose this excellent hotel. Others who stayed at "higher-rated" hotels downtown were actively jealous of the convenience, comfort, and decor of our suite at the Inn at Northrup Station--and they didn't even have the chance to experience the tasty continental-esque breakfasts or appreciate the convenience of free parking, free wireless internet, and a full kitchen (with high-quality cookware!). We enjoyed the excellent location (including, of course, the streetcar stop right outside the hotel, which makes connections to almost anywhere one would hope to go), amidst more tempting restaurants than one could visit in several months of hotel occupancy (and ours, sadly, was limited to an 8-day stay). Everyone on staff was efficient and friendly, and housekeeping was superb. Ordinarily, my spouse and I compile a list of hotel-related regrets/complaints at the end of our travels, but we were entirely stumped this time--there weren't even minor aspects of our visit that were unsatisfactory! I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else while in Portland. One hint: their website recommends that you call the hotel directly to obtain the best rates, which was initially a bit distressing to me (as I consider myself a great travel-bargain researcher, but almost entirely with online resources). In this case: do it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edit_rrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
First, everyone should know that the Inn at Northrup Station is happy to accommodate large parties for extended stays. We can even occasionally offer group rates based on availability and time of year. Second, we’re so pleased you liked everything we have to offer—the hotel, the staff, the food, the easy transportation, and the neighborhood charm. It all adds up to an unforgettable experience. And finally, yes, ALWAYS give us a call for our best rates. We enjoy talking to our guests and direct calls to the hotel will, most of the time, result in the best available rates. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We extended our stay two more nights and dumped Victoria BC from our trip plans. Thats how perfect this Inn is. The 50's decor is fun, beds a dream to sleep in, free buffet breakfast good with real bagels & waffles and the help delightful on where what when and how of Portland. Free Trolly passes that get you quickly to the Pearl district and downtown Portland but why- your in the hip Knob Hill District with class non chain stores and great bars so very close (but not close enough to be bothersome at night). Do the Matador for drinks the Ring Side for steaks. It has a full kitchen in the larger rooms, a top floor patio if you want to BBQ your own steak- but for a foodie don't eat at your room- Portland beats San Francisco by a mile. The Trolly takes you right by Jakes downtown and near the Peruvian themed Andina where tapas rule. The Inn Northrup Station puts you where you need to be in comfort and fun class.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManOfC0nstantS0rr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
We love travelling as much as our guests and we’re so thrilled that your stay was filled with so many good things. The Inn is situated in the perfect spot for great food and nightlife, but not so close to it that your well-deserved night’s sleep is affected (in those very comfy beds you mentioned). Thank you so much for your warm review and for the listing out of a few of the nearby spots you enjoyed. Now others can benefit from your great time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylmar, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel looks unassuming from the outside but when you enter the front door you know you are not in the same boring hotel lobbies you have come to expect when you go traveling. The staff is very friendly and helpful even before we arrived they helped us set-up a wine tour. The interior design is modern and trippy. It was fun without being too wild. The guests staying at the hotel varied in age, so it seems like it would appeal to all age groups. They also provided free tickets for the trolley located outside their hotel that would take you into downtown Portland for fine dining and Powell's Bookstore, a must see. They have a patio that you can sit outside while enjoying a meal you prepared in your suite, or bringing a meal from the many little restaurants on the streets nearby or have a drink or read a book, it is so very relaxing. They also offer a free contiental breakfast. When I visit Portland again I will definitely stay there again, and the price was quite reasonable as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satine8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Isn’t it amazing how much you can tell about a hotel just from the lobby? It’s why we went to such great lengths to give it the charm and character that you’ll find throughout the rest of The Inn (and all those Starbursts didn’t hurt either, right?). Come back and see us whenever you can! We’ll be happy to set up another exciting excursion for as many people as you’d like to bring with you, because we think your good time in Portland goes far beyond a snazzy room and scrumptious continental breakfast. Anything we can do to help is priority #1. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,808 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing