We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We loved the stay here and found the room both generous in size and fun for the kids in colour aswell. Two TVs and ideal for young families as there was a full kitchen area with fridge, microwave and dishwasher and all the crocery etc so you can provide late night/early morning snacks for little ones or easily heat baby food etc. We found the location great as were happy to jump on the streetcar which does leave from right outside and explore downtown as well as the Nob Hill area which we liked best. Hot water for teas and hot coffee always in the lobby as were plentiful supplies of taffy and sweets!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesKirkland_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

After staying in chain hotels the past few visits, we decided to check out the Inn at Northup Station. What a wonderful surprise! The hotel is perfectly located and because of the free trolly tickets from the front desk, we have not used our car since we arrived last night! Many restaurants within walking distance, or just a cable car ride away. We had a room facing the main street and I was amazed at how quiet it was. No noise to be heard whatsoever. Great breakfast which included bagels, cereal and waffles. The decor is wonderful. Colorful, trendy and the unusual color scheme is fun. Staff was very friendly and helpful as well as knowledgable about the area. We will make this hotel a regular part of our frequent trips to Portland!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveloveseaotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here - it's a really convenient place to explore Portland from (ask at reception for a ticket for the tram which stops outside the door - or simply walk around, there are nice boutique shops and places to eat in the area). The room was huge with full kitchen and two big televisions. The retro decor is bright and fun. Breakfast choice included fruit, waffles, bagels. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teggiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

I very much enjoyed my two-night stay, my second stay at the hotel. The room was clean, spacious and nicely appointed--a refreshing surprise given the competitive rates this hotel offers.

The kitchenette was a very welcome addition to the room--perfect for prepping snacks and light meals. The room featured a sitting area and a desk with a 32" flat panel TV overhead. Another 19" flat panel was equipped on the hutch at the end of the bed -- on the nightstand was an iPod clock radio, which charged my iPod and let me wake to my own music.

The hotel offers a fantastic continental breakfast in the lobby area. Fresh fruit, cereal, coffee/tea, a variety of yogurt, and--my favorite--Belgian waffles. Yum.

The hotel is located just three blocks from NW 23rd, a charming street lined with restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and pubs. The Pearl District is about 10 blocks away, a nice walk or a quick trip on the trolley, which stops right in front of the hotel. How perfect is that?

If you prefer the traditional full-service hotel with room service, valet parking and a bell clerk in the lobby, you might want to stay downtown. Everyone else should consider this super-fun inn.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank prinado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights. The room is very cool with a funky, retro decorating sheme. It was very clean & large. I loved having the full kitchen as we used it to store & heat up our leftovers. I liked the way they have recycling bins under the sink too. Wireless service was excellent & it was nice having a full desk to work from. They also have laundry services & I had my trousers dry-cleaned in one day. The location is amazing with a trolley stop right out the front door. We utilized the trolley many times to go downtown & back. Many good restaurants within walking distance. We were in town for The WFTDA Roller Derby National Championship Games, so we did need to drive to the convention center & to the "happening" spots on Burnside St. and on Hawthorne St., but Portland is pretty easy to navigate. I would return to The Inn at Northrup.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bombshelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Oh my goodness!
What a wonderful find. We checked out top 10 hotels
in Portland- have only stayed in 4 or 5- in any case,
from the whole list online for the city, this is the
best bang for your buck. Great for families,
a super chance to ride the streetcar for free anywhere
downtown and beyond. As for the interior,
it is so refreshing to see bold use of color.
The lobby is fun for an afternoon coffee
and great for breakfast. We were amazed
to stay 2 nights and get a third night Free-
Ask if they still have this promotion, through
end of January 2009.
Very friendly service- Hard to believe a previous
person who wrote didn;t get a refund with one
week notice on cancellation. We cancelled
SAME day during storm of December
for relatives who couldnt' make it and
they gladly refunded.
If you're ready for something a little unusual
and in a cool neighborhood- go for it!
If you insist on traditional furnishings
and a big hotel lobby, this probably isn't for you.
Again, for families its a treat.
Lots of room and small balconies make it fun.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gingerjust40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

This hotel had the most interesting, fun decor - lots of bright colors, cool lamps, funky carpet designs. Youthful appearance. Very nice continental breakfast. Free parking. Right on the public transit line. Very close to many small restaurants and sweet shops. Plush towels, clean and very spacious rooms with kitchens. The place looks like it may once have been studio apartments. Sleeping on the mattress gave me back pain, which tends to happen to me at lower end hotels or motels. That puzzled me. Big downer: horribly unfriendly, disinterested staff. Wouldn't even smile and barely looked at you. Well, that was 3 of the 4 whom we had any contact with. One young man was kind enough to smile when we spoke to him, but the other three were real downers. The house cleaning staff and woman who prepared the continental breakfast smiled when approached. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,728 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $140 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing