We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #7 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very unique place to stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Some friends recommended The Inn at Northrup Station because it is right around the corner from where they live. We looked into it and decided to stay there. We could not have been more delighted. What a fun place! We loved the fun colors, the very pleasant staff, and the special touches. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We had a first floor room on the street side, which had a large balcony. Our 2 days in Portland were perfect weather, even a bit on the warm side, so we enjoyed sitting on our balcony. The coolest (and our favorite) thing about the balcony is the tiki torch(we assume is gas powered) that lights up at night. All of the balconies on this level have them and it looks really cool at night. It was a nice relaxing way to enjoy a beverage in the evening. We were very impressed with the amenities in the room, comfortable bed, the kitchen, the nice breakfast with healthy options. It was really nice to have the cold water, fruit, candy, and coffee in the lobby all day long. I would not even think about staying anywhere else the next time I visit Portland!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hello Peggy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and especially our tiki torches! We owe your friends who recommended us a big thank you as well!

We will see you next time,

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    276
    48
    20
    13
See reviews for
278
434
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I love visiting the city of Portland, I vacation there as often as I can, and if Portland to you means Voodoo Doughnuts, Powell's Bookstore, the Kennedy School and all the cool-funkiness then the Inn at Northrup Station is the emblematic Portland experience. Roomy suites, comfortable beds, awesome location - there is no point in staying at a regular old 'hotel' when you can stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rong548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for this fantastic review! Sounds like you have a good grasp of all the must do's in Portland. One thing I would suggest if you haven't already, is the Portland Ariel Tram. You can take the Streetcar directly there and it's only $4 for a beautiful view of the city!

Thanks again for your review and we will see you next time!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn and Northrop Station for two nights to see highlights of Portland. So, we wanted a hotel near the heart of town without all the downtown noise. This location is close enough to city center in a neighborhood of restored older homes and good eateries, and streetcar access to downtown is right outside the front door and free with tickets provided by front desk staff.

It's a three-story building and we chose the back-facing king room on the third floor. The room was fairly quiet, though the bed seems to be right at the entrance door to the room, as is the door to the bathroom. A post with light switches is situated between the bed area and kitchen, which can be bumped into if not paying attention or moving around at night with lights out. This was a problem my wife encountered, though no issue for me. Just thought I'd raise it, though.

The room is colorful, though the colors may or may not be to your taste. It's certainly well-equipped with two flat-panel TV's, a large one at the desk in front of the kitchen, and a small one on the wall next to the bed. The bathroom has an old tub/curtain shower combo, and a single sink. Small, functional, and with good water pressure for the shower.

The internet worked though I've had faster connections before. It's speed was fine, though, for most applications. The breakfast is in a colorful room (what else would you expect!) off the lobby, with free candies in jars, and an assortment of cereals, waffle-maker, and fruit. However, there were no hot food selections such as scrambled eggs. We felt that was an omission.

Overall, if staying in a fun and different accommodation in a neat neighborhood near downtown Portland sounds appealing, this is a solid choice. I thought it was very good, not excellent, mainly due to the layout of the room with its bed right at the door (bad for privacy if opening the door while someone is still in bed) as well as a bit of a musty smell in hallways detected as well as lack of hot food choices at breakfast. It was quiet and comfortable, though, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra room charge to get on the top floor facing the back for maximum quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockiesExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We hope that you will think of us again the next time you are in Portland!

Thank you,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place was very solid. It was a cool offbeat hotel in a great location. The service was good and the rooms nice and big. Buffet breakfast was basic, but offered many good options. With this big price tag, you're paying mostly for the cleanliness, service, and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
What more can we say, but thank you for this great review! We are happy you enjoyed our location and hope you were able to try at least one of the great restaurants nearby. Next time you must try Bamboo Sushi, it's delicious!

See you next time,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Wa.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you need an ADA room you should know that the toilet had no handrails. There was one on the wall behind the tank, but what good is that? The sink also had a motion sensor to activate it which was incredibly annoying. You had to hold one hand in front of the sensor and try to wash your face with the other. There was no adjustment to the flow, so when the water came on it was full blast and went in your glass and out again and made a big mess. The one light in the center of the bathroom did not provide enough light to put make up on.

The rest of the room was fine and the bed was really comfy, but if you don't need an ADA room, you should know that they aren't as nice and shouldn't be as expensive as the other rooms. If you do need one, beware the toilet situation in particular.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize that our ADA bathrooms did not exceed your expectations. Please do know that your feedback is important to us and the items you have identified are now on our task list for improvement.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed other aspects of our Inn and we do hope you will visit us again to see how your suggestions have been incorporated into our suites. Thank you again for your feedback.

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stay here every time I come to Portland. The location is perfect. Close to everything. The staff is so friendly and very accommodating. The beds are very very comfortable. Rooms are so clean. I truly have to say for the price there isn't a better place around. Oh....and the colors are so bright and uplifting which is nice because it rains a lot and it's just good mentally to be in such a colorful place when it's dark and rainy. Thank you everyone at the Inn @ Northrup Station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our colorful decor! We look forward to your next stay.

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We've stayed here multiple times over the years, and The Inn @ Northrup Station continues to impress.

With children, this hotel works very well. The large rooms with pull-out couches and kitchenettes are perfect when traveling with kids, and the bright colors and waffles at breakfast don't hurt any, either.

The staff and service have always been as good as any other hotel we've ever stayed in.

The location is a bit more residential than some might like, but there are great urban neighborhoods in walking distance, and, with free streetcar passes, you can go downtown in a jiffy. We walk, and then take the streetcar back. Whatever suits you best!

Two things were very impressive on this trip. First, this is probably the 5th or 6th year we've used The Inn @ Northrup Station since it opened, and it is still clean and well-kept. I was pretty impressed, actually, at how they compare to other hotels in this regard. Things are still clean and fresh, where other hotels have gotten grimy over this timespan.

Second, we did have an issue with our room being over-run with ants on this trip. But they were absolutely accommodating in having us change rooms and gave us a discount after we asked. It is spring. This happens in the Northwest. But they held up their end and focused on the customer. Most places wouldn't have been as nice.

This is an independent, really nice, family-friendly place in a great lesser-known Portland neighborhood with excellent access to the rest of the city, friendly and accommodating service, and a history of class. We'll definitely continue to use The Inn @ Northrup Station in our future jaunts from Seattle!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for being such a wonderful repeat guest of ours! We truly appreciate the feedback you provided and are happy to know that you enjoy your stays with us time and time again.

Thanks for this lovely review and we look forward to your future trips with us!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,423 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing