We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel has good and bad reviews so we were a little nervous, but decided to stay here because we really wanted a good Portland location for a weekend getaway. The hotel has funky colors and decor but all the rooms are suites which was a plus for 3 people traveling. We had a king room with full kitchen. The bed and couch pull out were both comfortable. We were on the backside so did not have issues with the streetcar noise (the only noise we had was from the ice maker in the fridge so we turned it off). City Market and Trader Joe's are very close so if you want to buy food to cook. it is very easy. The breakfast is standard: fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles. If you don't like that there are great bakeries a few blocks away. Salt and Straw and Ken's Artisan Bakery are both close and great. The staff was nice and helpful. They give you free streetcar tickets which are good for 2 hours. It costs $1 to return if you are gone for more than 2 hours. We ate at the food trucks on 10th and Alder for lunch and then came back to the hotel neighborhood for dinner. There are several good restaurants within walking distance and we felt safe walking around at night. Portland does have a bit of a problem with homeless people on the street but we weren't aggressively bothered by anyone. I highly recommend this hotel and this area. I read all the negative reviews and really don't know what they are talking about because we had a delightful time and I definitely will stay here on return trips.

Room Tip: I would choose the backside again because it was quiet. We did have a small balcony which might be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italygirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend getaway! Sounds like you had a great Portland experience and were able to visit several unique destinations. Next time you are in the area hop on the streetcar and walk over to Voodoo Donuts! They are guaranteed to have something that will make you smile.

See you next time!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Loved this hotel. Staff is attentive and super friendly. Rooms are suites and are large and spacious with funky decor. Location cannot be beat - we walked everywhere from downtown to the Rose Garden to trendy 23rd and took the street car with the complimentary passes they give out at the front desk. Candy bowls in common room are part of the fun. Happy hour on Wednesdays which is always a plus. Breakfast was great, too, with lots of choices. We stayed 5 nights with 2 kids and it was a dream.

Room Tip: We did not mind the street car going by our window and thought it was part of the fun but if you thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilene80111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your great review! Sounds like you really got to explore Portland and visit some of the finest locations in town. Hopefully you and your family were able to ride the Portland Aerial Tram, it has one of the best views of the city! If not, it is a must next time you are in town.

Hope to see you and the kids soon!

Thank you,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

How many places combine whimsey with high quality and great service? How many times do you want to take a picture of your hotel room? Not many, not often, unless you're staying at the Inn at Northrup Station. The location is convenient and safe, blocks for downtown and right on the rail.
The staff was fun and helpful and acted like they really liked working there and were happy to see us.
The gathering room was open at all hours with treats and candy avaialable at all hours. Most places are on lockdown but not here. We have a daughter living in Portland and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you so much for this great review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our bright and funky décor. Don'’t worry either... the candy jars aren'’t going anywhere!

We will see you next time!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September. Though the decor can be a little over stimulating (think movie Beetlejuice), this funky hotel has good front desk service, conveniently on a electric tolley line to shops/restaurants and spacious rooms. Room included a kitchen and two TVs. The breakfast was light, yet sufficient and plentiful.

Would definitely consider staying again if I were to visit Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great hotel! It's conveniently located at a streetcar stop and is in a wonderful neighborhood with a variety of good restaurants and small shops. There is also a Trader Joe's within walking distance. The hotel has a colorful, whimsical décor and the rooms are super comfortable. The staff are most helpful and we were given free streetcar tickets each day to get downtown. The hotel breakfast is adequate and during the 3 nights we were there, they had a regional wine and spirits tasting with free appetizers. Candy filled vases are always kept on the dining/sitting area tables. Keurig coffee makers are also available for hotel guests in the rooms and the parking is free. We would definitely go back the next time we're in Portland!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a small balcony (but also the streetcar line). King bed rooms have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review! Sounds like you were able to take advantage of the streetcar to get around town and explore Portland. We are glad you were able to join us for Wine Down Wednesday on a night where Bull Run Distillery was also providing samples of their delicious spirits!

We look forward to your next stay!

Thank you,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed two nights last summer and were ultimately left with a feeling of disappointment, despite the obvious thought and effort to make this a pleasant experience...at least in the main dining room with its small patio and roof terrace. The problem was our room: Low-ceilinged, noisy, damp smelling, with stained furniture (although whimsical and colorful) and a loud but nonfunctioning air conditioner.

Bottom line: public spaces were cool, but basic conditions in the private space were unacceptable at this price point. Never again, despite the great location. Even our clothes smelled like mildew after we left. They should have spent a little more on the rooms and less on the cute candy on the tables in the dining room. But if that's what matters to you, the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: If you're booking, make sure it is NOT on the first floor...back window is a half dozen feet fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

It is apparent that we fell short of your expectations; we apologize. We may have fallen short this past summer but we believe strongly in second chances and hope that we will have that opportunity should your travels bring you back to Portland again.

Thank you,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assitant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when house hunting three years ago because of location, helpful staff. Arranged for son, daughter-in-law and grandchildren (ages three and five) to stay here when they visited from out of town last week. Plenty of space in rooms for kids to run around. Streetcar stops by front door (hotel staff give out free tickets), free parking behind hotel (though late at night spaces can be tight), interesting nearby streets with lots of restaurants and shops. Staff was very helpful when my daughter-in-law had medical problem. Microwave, range and dishes. Far outshines alternatives in Northwest Portland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you referring your family to stay with us and hope your grandchildren enjoyed the endless amounts of candy found in our lobby!

Hope to see you and your family again soon!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $165 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing