We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #7 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After reading the reviews I decided that this would be the best place for my boyfriend and I to stay for our 2 night visit, I wasn't wrong. I can honestly say it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in period!. Soooo clean and well designed, all the decor and small touches made a perfect stay. The bed was to die for and we did not get a better nights sleep for the rest of our trip. I left some stuff in the hotel so contacted them the next day, the lady I spoke to located my things (which included a very expensive pair of sunglasses) and immedialtley offered to send them onto me. With the streetcar right outside, I cannot imagine there being anywhere better to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello there!

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and especially that you liked our custom made mattresses. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable so we put a lot of thought in all of the little details in our suites.
Thank you again for your review and we can't wait to have you back the next time you are in Portland!

Until then...

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    276
    48
    20
    13
See reviews for
278
434
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Inn at Northrup Station is located in the Northwest district of Portland, two short blocks from the 23rd St shopping/dining/entertainment area. It is, as the name implies, right on the streetcar line that will take you downtown and to the waterfront. The local area is mainly residential, so it’s a pretty quiet place, but a five to ten minute walk from great dining and shopping.

The hotel is decorated whimsically, with bright yellows, reds, oranges, greens. In keeping with Portland’s environmental bent, recycling and reuse are big themes here. The lobby has a small breakfast area with breakfast seven days per week (pretty standard – waffles and toast are the only hot items), and “wine down Wednesdays” ever Wednesday evening, featuring free wine (2 glasses each) and snacks. I found it odd that the cutlery and plates were disposable, not really environmentally friendly. There is a small business centre and no pool or fitness facilities (passes for the LA Fitness several blocks away are available at the front desk.
The suites are very large – mine a king bed, sofa, chair, desk and two flatscreen tvs. The open concept kitchen featured fullsized fridge and stove, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, and Keurig coffeemaker. Lots of dishes, cutlery and cookware (even measuring spoons in case you might want to bake, I suppose). There was a small 3-stool breakfast bar with granite countertop. There is a small balcony with plenty of windows (needed in generally dreary Portland). Unfortunately, the windows did not open.

Plenty of power outlets available, and free wifi; however, my room was at the very end of the building and the wifi signal was poor (I sometimes had to go out into the hallway to use it). The bathrooms are good sized, and the staff are great at replenishing the amenities.
All in all, a great, quirky value, a good choice for either leisure or business travel.

Room Tip: If you need wifi avoid rooms at the end of the hall. Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_and_N_and_5_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We decided to stay here based on other TA reviews and we weren't disappointed. The location is perfect for walking to the Pearl District or Northwest District (Nob Hill). After staying here we can appreciate the time, energy and thought that the Inn @ Northrup Station puts in every day to ensure each guest has a comfortable and memorable stay. The beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get out and explore. This hotel is unlike any I have ever stayed before. (Check the photos of the rooms on their website) I wish there were more like the Inn @ Northrup Station. We have every intention of returning to the wonderful City of Portland and we won't stay anywhere else but the Inn @ Northrup Station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A17503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Annie,

Thank you for your very kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and had fun exploring Nob Hill and the Pearl District.

Guest feedback is so important to us. As you mentioned, you learned about us through other TripAdvisor reviews...and here you are, sharing your experience so that other people can learn about us as well! Thank you for spreading the word about the Inn and we look forward to seeing you again!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good home base for seeing the more well-traveled parts of Portland.

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon for two nights as we traveled from Washington back to San Francisco.

Decor is fun, if a little forced or chintzy. We were certainly very comfortable. Our room was spacious, clean, and well-appointed.

The free 2-hour streetcar pass is a nice touch. Streetcar tickets are a dollar each and can get you to the Pearl District in 15 minutes. You can easily walk to the Northwest District.

Free on-site parking is what made it for us. The parking turned out to be a tight squeeze, but it was convenient not to have to pay a bundle for a lot or something and have the car right outside our window.

The Wi-Fi was so slow, I just turned it off. Couldn't even get my email before my phone timed out.

Might try something new next time, but we were happy with our pick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Tombyrne,

Thank you for your honest review. We take all feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve our facility and guests overall experience. We are glad you enjoyed your overall trip to Portland and found our complimentary parking and streetcar passes a great plus to your stay! We do hope you will give the Inn another chance on your next visit to our city.

Thank you again for this review!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The inn itself was situated conveniently, street car stop was right in front of the hotel, and yes, complimentary tickets. Trendy third St (23rd St) was just a couple of blocks from the place. Lots of places to eat at. The rooms were just lovely, as expected from the pictures in their website. Had 2 televisions, kitchen area, and sitting area. It was spacious. My favorite place is the third floor outdoor area. My children and I always sat there after all the walking we did, we even brought our food, and drinks, enjoying the cool breeze. Breakfast was good. We eve had wine tasting, we were there on their wine tasting day. We plan to go back to Portland, and definitely stay at the Inn again. Love the place, they thought of everything to make your stay a very pleasant, and comfortable one.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor, convenient to the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasyalannatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello there!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We're so glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed spending family time on our one of a kind rooftop terrace.

We look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be ideal. Not only is the location great (close to restaurants, bars, clubs, and shops with the streetcar stop in front, for which the hotel provides complimentary tickets), but the hotel is well-managed, very clean, and very comfortable. The bed in our suite was great....we wanted to smuggle our mattress out with us!

We did not cook in our suite, but it was convenient to have ice, a refrigerator for cold drinks, and a microwave when we had leftovers from dinner out. There is also a dishwasher so we ran it before we left....another wonderful little convenience. The rooms are very spacious, the decoration is very upbeat with imaginative color schemes, and the hotel was very generous with perks such as taffy and other candies, complimentary parking just behind the hotel (a big plus in Portland in this area where traffic can be annoying), and its continental breakfast. The hotel offered hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, waffles, and a variety of cereal and fruit so it was more interesting than the typical continental breakfast.

Housekeeping service was also very good. We tipped twice as much as usual (BTW, we tip every day so the housekeeper cleaning the room gets the tip).

There is an elevator so we were happy with our 3d floor (top floor) suite.....no noise above you and you can leave the balcony door open for fresh air. There was alot of natural light in our suite. On the other hand, we did not experience any city noise when the balcony door was closed.

The rate per night was also very reasonable. Great value.

Hats off to the Inn at Northrup Station and management and staff for exceeding our expectations. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3d floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Susan,

The Inn is conveniently surrounded by many one of a kind restaurants and shops, all within a 5-10 minute walk. Getting around town is especially easy when you stay with us! You can park your car and ask the desk for your complimentary Streetcar pass and be on your way!

Thank you so much for your appreciation and generosity to our housekeeping staff! They truly are amazing and we couldn't be where we are without them!

Thanks for this great review Susan! Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Unexpected gem of a place in Northwest Portland for business travel has great rooms with big desk/workstations, full kitchens, very comfortable bed and a living room (all in a great room layout, bed not in a separate room). BTW, love mirrors on the bathroom wall i can walk right up to, no makeup mirror can compare! Comp breakfast was great with lots of food choices. Street car stop is on the corner and lots of great restaurants (and yes, a grocery/market) within very short walking distance. Quiet, peacful but close to everything. BONUS! Rooftop patio to eat/greet/meet clients or friends. All the staff and service were outstanding. No Rewards Points since it is not a chain but well worth it. Prices comparable to big chains.

Room Tip: Go for the King Suite, well worth the small extra price, ask for 2nd floor room with balcony or 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frantic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Frantic2,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for this fantastic review! I've got great news for you too, we do have a rewards program! Check out our website and click on the "Inn Crowd" link to sign up. Or call us directly and we can sign you up.

Thanks again and see you soon!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing