We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was my wife and I's first visit to Portland and I can't imagine we could have found a better place to stay. The rooms were spacious and modern and there was a large patio on the third floor, which was popular among the guests during our stay (the weather was quite warm and sunny during our visit to Portland). The hotel was on the streetcar line and a few blocks from 23rd street, which had a large selection of restaurants. I enjoy running, and found the location to be relatively convenient to Forest Park, which is where I went two mornings of our stay. The free breakfast had a sampling of the usual fare - cereals, waffles, yogurt, fruit etc...

I would definitely recommend this place and look forward to staying here again if we are able to visit Portland in the future.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Brian,

Thank you for choosing the Inn @ Northrup Station for your first Portland visit! So glad you and your wife enjoyed your time with us! Sounds like our rooftop terrace was a great place to relax after your runs up at Forest Park.
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Northrup Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located right on the streetcar line the inn was the perfect base for exploring Portland. If you don't want to the the streetcar it's an easy walk to almost anywhere in the Pearl district. The room was big bright colorful and comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay! Whether you hop on the Portland Streetcar or explore the neighborhood on foot, it's always an adventure with so boutiques, cafes, bistros, breweries, and galleries to visit! We're glad you had a pleasant visit and look forward to having you back!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Fun place!

Located in NW Portland, this hotel is ideally suited for getting around this fabulous city. Right out the front door is the streetcar allowing car free access to most Portland locations, and the hotel itself is right in the middle of the hip Alphabet District with tons of stores and restaurants.

The rooms are clean and spacious, and decorated in a decidedly noncorporate fashion. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was no better than fair, but as it was included, it seems to be churlish to assign a demerit here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We're glad you were easily able to explore the neighborhood using the Portland Streetcar. We may be "non-corporate" in decor, but we certainly cater to business and leisure travelers alike; offering complimentary wireless internet throughout the building, a business center, and executive desk in each and every suite.
Thank you for choosing the Inn on your recent stay and we look forward to having you back!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband said it was Willy Wonka designs a hotel! Very comfortable. Suites have lots of space. Comfortable sofa and bed. And it is in a great part of town with good restaurants, boutiques, etc. you have to see it.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast available. I didn't care there was no restaurant or fitness center but th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pp21401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your short and sweet review! So glad you and your husband enjoyed the Inn and that you were happy with our love seat and mattress. Both were locally and custom made just for the Inn! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Rather than repeat all the many virtues of this great place to stay that have been catalogued by other reviewers, let me add a few that haven't been mentioned:

Electricity: As one who travels with many gadgets, I get tired of crawling under desks and nightstands in search of free outlets. Inn@.. provides scads of them, in all parts of the room.

Quiet breakfast room: For some reason, most hotels that offer free breakfast have a giant blaring TV in the dining area, watched intently by a few slack-jawed bozos and annoying everyone else. This hotel has no such thing, and it's a blessing

Everything sparkles: Great design is fine, but if it's allowed to deteriorate it can turn into a mess. At Inn@.., everything is crisp and clean and they don't let esthetics get in the way of comfort.

And a few cons:

Heightism: The Portland Trailblazers would be right at home here (and maybe they are). There's an extension pipe on the shower bringing the shower head and its companion hand-held shower and controls out of the reach of people below average height. In the kitchen wall cabinets, we could reach only the lowest shelf. We're short, but not freakishly so, but this place made us feel like Lilliputians.

Suggestion: Provide an additional mounting bracket for the handheld shower lower on the wall. Cheap, and very helpful.

Noisy refrigerator and icemaker: The fridge in our room, like the other appliances, was a full-size model suitable for an apartment. Nice in many ways, but a little too close for comfort when the compressor is running, and especially when it drops a load of ice. The ice maker can be turned off if you don't need it.

And the BIG problem, resulting in 4 rather than 5 stars:

We checked in with the outside temperature at 96, and the temp in our room felt like about 92. The room AC unit was pumping out warm air. When we complained we were told that "they're all like that" and that it would (magically?) get better.

We complained again the next morning, ready to decamp for another hotel for the rest of our stay. This time instead of the "whatever" attitude, the desk clerk dispatched a maintenance guy who immediately replaced the unit with a brand new one, still with manufacturer labels on it. We never had a problem after that.

This happened on a Sunday, so clearly they have actual working air conditioners stashed away somewhere. They really need to do a wholesale replacement. In the meantime, if you're coming to this trendy place during a heat wave make sure to ask for a room that's "cool" as well as "cool".

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. The streetcar is charming, but not when you want to sleep. Ask for a...
Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tangible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We really were not sure what to expect from the Inn, but were THRILLED by our accomodations here! The front desk staff were very very helpful, and all their recommendations were perfect. We expected our room to be colorful, and it was! As well as large and roomy with a very comfortable bed, sofa, swivel chair, 2 tvs, desk and full kitchen. We heard no noise and slept soundly (Our room was on the backside of the hotel). The breakfast room is smallish and tables fill up fast - Fortunately, they offer trays so it is easy to carry items back to your room to dine. I could imagine some visitors may find the location a little far from downtown, but we loved it because of its proximity to 23rd street and convenient trolley/bus access (and Portland public transportation is exceptional). They also have a parking lot (versus street or valet parking only, as is the case for many of the downtown hotels). We discussed and agreed would not try someplace different on our next trip but definitely return to the Inn - Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnCan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hello there!

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! So glad that your first stay with us was a pleasant (and colorful) one! Although our lobby can get busy during our morning breakfast rush, we offer trays so you can also conveniently enjoy breakfast back in your spacious suite or even up on our 3rd floor rooftop terrace and soak in some sun!
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Walked into the room, then bathroom after having had a LONG drive. WOW - hot pink! It was GREAT! Loved the color scheme of purple, chartreuse and white -- but it was not garish. My room had a full kitchen w/everything needed if you wanted to cook your own meal. The furnishings were stylish, the carpet colorful. It was not your ordinary hotel room and I LOVED it! The parking was free, and the continental breakfast good. The location couldn't be beat -- 23rd St. has all the restaurants, shops, bars that one would ever need within walking distance. The only drawback was that the A/C in the room didn't cool very well, but I didn't complain because I wasn't in my room until later in the evening. By then it had cooled off. It is a little spendy, but not horribly so. Would I recommend this hotel? Would I stay here again? Youbetcha!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNBSGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Inn @ Northrup Station for your recent trip in Portland! We're glad you enjoyed our spacious suites and unique color scheme. We sure look forward to having you back the next time you are in town!

Thank you again!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,542 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $175 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing