We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love the decor, the staff is friendly, the bed is comfortable and it's right in the middle of everything. I love it! What a great find! My favorite part is the wacky bight fun colors! The trolley goes right out front so you can get anywhere!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Black_Night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay...and that you liked our new custom made mattresses! We truly take guests' feedback to heart...In fact, our guests helped us with our mattress selection! After testing out multiple makes and models (and months of guest surveys), we found our perfect mattress. Best of all, they are custom made from Oregon Mattress Company...a local business! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Portland!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

1-Clean (This is #1 for me!).
2-Large "suite" type rooms with kitchens and sofas.
3-Free parking (We didn't move our car for 3 days).
4-Walking distance to all kinds of cute shops.
5-Walking distance to great restaurants and cafes.
6-Walking distance to Good Samaritan hospital.
7-Streetcar stop is right outside hotel with free passes at front desk.
8-Front desk service was friendly and helpful.
9-Price was good for area.
10-When I booked online the decor kind of scared me but it was actually quite cheerful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third (top) floor so you don't hear the people above you walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lvincent59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Well of course you know, you can't believe everything you see online! ;) Your top 10 brought a smile to our faces as we read them out loud in the office, so thank you for making it so simple for everyone to see what we’ve worked so hard to provide our guests. Cheers!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at the Inn @ Northrup for 6 nights in October and had a great time. I had a ground floor studio and it was spacious and well appointed. The rooms were also clean and had a full kitchen! I made use of it, cooking steaks for dinner. The location is fantastic, just outside is the stop of the streetcar and guests were given complimentary tickets for a 2 hours ride anywhere the streetcar goes in Portland. Nearby is a bus stop that takes you downtown, o the Pearl District and cross the Willamette River. There are also several restaurant nearby and both Paley's and Wildwood were wonderful. I ate at those place for both lunch and dinner. Breakfast is complimentary and had a good selection of bread, cereals, juices, fruit, yogurt and of course, coffee & tea. During the rest if the day the lounge has a permanent coffee station for guest to help ourselves and those yummy candies! To die for! Are available free in big jars brimming with the goodies. Would stay again for sure when I am next in Portland.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Steaks for dinner, salt water taffy by the bucketful for dessert! What could be bad about that? Plus, if you treated yourself to Wildwood and Paley's Place then you really came out ahead; those restaurants are both outstanding and within a literal stone's throw of the Inn. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back.

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times. The location, service, cleanliness, and of course decor never fail. In fact we have reserved two nights this coming weekend.
It's nice to be able to walk to most things and for everything else you get a free pass for the light rail.

Room Tip: The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We have had rooms in various locations in the building; n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan98586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Well this is a change -- we actually get to respond to a review for people who are just about to come see us rather than those who just left! If you're coming back that must mean good things, so we’ll simply say we can’t wait to see you again. Safe travels to Portland!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. I stayed here for 4 days on business and loved it. Very cute boutique hotel with all the amenities. You have a full kitchen, a keurig with coffee in your kitchen, a nice desk area and sitting area and plenty of closet and dresser space. The room was very clean and quiet and the staff was friendly. This is the only place I will stay when I come back to Portland. I have tried a couple others in the area and have been disappointed. There are lots of shops, places to eat and a Trader Joe's in the area. As a woman traveling alone for business, I felt very safe. Free wifi and parking!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Great to hear you can't say enough great things about our great hotel and the great amenities, including the great Keurig coffee and the greater than great stay. While we go searching for a thesaurus, just know that we are greatly honored that you took the time to write this review and that you had such a great time here. See you again soon!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a great alternative to downtown hotels. With free parking, trolly tickets and a trolly stop just outside the door, one can get to many places in Portland without driving. It's in a neighborhood with many good restaurants and shops and an easy walk downtown. The rooms are very large with full kitchens, and the kitchen has all you need to cook a meal. Some have small patios. Spotlessly clean, helpful staff--it's a great place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing Northrup have small patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Quite right that the Inn is a good choice for longer stays. Sure you could eat every meal out (and have a wonderful selection to choose from within walking distance if you did) but it's really nice to have the kitchen and full-sized fridge when you need the down time. Thanks for the review and for calling out just a few of the great reasons to stay here. Cheers!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the accommodation. This hotel has a vibe that’s upbeat and you can’t help but be cheery. My personal favourite was the breakfast available (cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt, juice) until 10am. The free pass for the streetcar was nice and we went for a lap around town to get our bearings – make sure you ask if the staff don’t give it to you at check-in. We also took advantage of the free onsite parking.

The hotel is a short stroll from many restaurants with so many different cuisines it is great to try something different each night.

I would rate the Inn higher if there was a coin operated laundry or similar on site, the dry cleaning/ laundry costs were exorbitant. Also, although on the ball which is normally appreciated, on the morning of our checkout (which is midday) housekeeping were knocking on the door when we were still in bed wanting to make up the room - I think reception should inform them once guests check out to avoid this inconvenience.

Overall I’d say “Stay Here”.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thanks for bringing up a couple of points we can improve upon and quite a few we got right for you. We do tend to try for an early start to ensure all the rooms are clean by the time folks want to check in, but by all means we encourage all guest to use their "Do Not Disturb" hangers to avoid the rap-tap-tapping on your hotel door. All our best and we hope to see you again someday!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,876 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,729 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $140 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing