We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #10 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room was large, brightly colored. Beds were very comfortable, chairs stuffed and comfortable. Location for boutique shopping and good restaurants is excellent. Staff was helpful, a continental breakfast room is cheerful. It has free off street parking. It is also on the bus line.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank travelnanny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

It's easy to forget just how valuable free parking is until you get hit with an $80 bill for two days; that's a nice dinner out somewhere! So thank you for pointing out our free parking among some of the hotel's other great qualities. We appreciate your review and your decision to stay with us.

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent the weekend in Portland at Inn at Northrup Station, great place to stay, reasonable and the parking is free. We like the NW 23rd area for its shopping and great restaurants. Walk to the zoo, rose and Japanese gardens. The rooms are exceptionally clean, the beds super comfortable, and the staff always friendly. In an area of quaint Victorians.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BandBchasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

The staff is always friendly, but they're extra friendly when we get an adventurous guest like you. Thank you for spending your weekend with us and for checking out some of Portland’s most pretty places. Hope to see you again soon!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Finding a hotel in the city with free parking is rare enough, but finding one in an upscale neighborhood at a reasonable price is nearly unheard of. In that regard, the Inn at Northrup Station in Northwest Portland was a wonderful discovery. The Inn had all the features I wanted during my week-long stay – and much more. It was close to lively shopping and restaurants on 21st and 23rd Avenues. Along with free parking, wi-fi and a friendly staff, I had a fully-furnished suite with all the amenities of a fine home in the city, including a full kitchen with modern appliances, a private balcony overlooking Northrup Street, and a beautifully decorated living area. The retro furnishings and vivid colors were a pleasure to wake up to.

I stayed at the Inn during the Portland Rose Festival in June 2012. I found Portland to be a beautiful, pedestrian-friendly city with great biking/jogging/walking trails, not to mention the first-class TriMet public transportation system, which includes ultra-modern, quiet streetcars. I say "quiet" because the Inn at Northrup Station is on a streetcar route. My room was two floors above the streetcars and I rarely heard them passing by. Amazing! This was my first visit to Portland and the Pacific Northwest – and the Inn made my stay all the more memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rusticpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Sounds like love at first sight! This is how so many stories of Portland residents start, so be careful about coming back if you aren’t looking for a long-term relationship. ;-) We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you got to be here during a very exciting time. See you around!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here over Christmas while visiting Portland for a few days, and we very much enjoyed our stay.

The room was more than big enough just for the two of us! The kitchenette was a great feature as we knew many restaurants in the area would be closed for the holidays. The cabinets were stocked with cooking supplies and we were able to make meals for ourselves. The room came with 2 TV's, which seemed a bit silly, but I could imagine that it might be useful if a family were staying in the room.

I couldn't believe how comfortable the bed was. I don't think I have slept so comfortably. I could have slept for days!

I was a bit underwhelmed with the continental breakfast--I thought the bagels were a bit stale and there wasn't a great selection. I don't know if this was because it was Christmas and they didn't receive fresh orders of food or what, but I was hoping for a nicer breakfast.

The hotel itself is pretty charming and unique--I loved the colors and furniture! It is very different from any of the other hotels I have stayed in, and it fit Portland's personality well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seemed a bit noisy with the Max running along the street right outside our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

It's hard to match the vibrant, artistic personality of Portland but we've certainly tried our best and are happy to hear you thought we did an ok job of it! Sorry the breakfast wasn't up to par during your stay; we definitely try to keep a close eye on it and will continue to do so. Thank you for the review and we'll see you next time.

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not right downtown but on the trolley with free tickets from the Inn. Situated in NW Portland close to good food and shopping. Park you car and adventure pedestrian friendly Portland. Great staff, nutritious breakfast, spacious rooms with kitchenettes.

Room Tip: Ask for north side of building away from the traffic on Northrup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DancingHeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, General Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Who doesn't like lime green and orange!? Well, I suppose some people might not, but unless you also dislike purple then we definitely recommend at least giving the Inn a try. Bright colors, after all, make for bright mornings -- even if it happens to be raining that month. Thank you for the review!

Denise Stanton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed here with my husband during our last two trips to Portland. We like the location because it is easy to walk to a lot of restaurants and shops, and we like the size of the units, which were originally built as bachelor suites. There is a lot of space and a full kitchen.

I understand the great reviews this place gets, but I think we will give it a pass next time we're in Portland. We like it, but we just want to try something different next time.

I like that the hotel will give guests streetcar tickets for free, and most of the staff are pleasant and helpful. A few of them can't quite manage to turn off the "ironic hipster 'tude" while they are at work, but they are not insufferable.

The Inn offers a free breakfast, the best part of which is the Tillamook yogurt. Otherwise, it's a pretty typical gluten- and glucose-laden traveller's breakfast. That said, there is always fresh fruit and lemony ice water available when we are there, and a pretty sweet upper deck.

I do have to say that their toiletries kind of lick, but not is a horrible way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieLeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Diversity in experience is always a good thing. We're happy you've enjoyed your stays here and hope you have fun wherever you roam. And if you ever feel like coming back our way again, we’ll have a room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family spent 4 days after Christmas discovering Portland. The Inn at Northrup Station was a great location to start each day and end the evening. It reminded us of something out of a cartoon with all the bright funky colours and crazy furniture, however the comfort/cleanliness level was the real thing! From the generous continental breakfast, free parking, wifi ,and well appointed rooms, this Inn is incredible! The tram stop was right outside the front door. Fantastic shops and an array of restaurants are 1 block away. Trader Joe's is a few blocks away. Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk and housekeeping ensures we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jipsee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

The hotel business is an interesting one, in that you are not typically the destination -- you are a support player in the experience of a vacation, a family reunion, a stop along the way, or even just an otherwise normal Saturday evening. And it sounds like in this case we did our job and helped your family have a great time. Thank you for the review and for choosing us as part of your fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,882 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $144 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing