We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Location and the Unit Size”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed here with my husband during our last two trips to Portland. We like the location because it is easy to walk to a lot of restaurants and shops, and we like the size of the units, which were originally built as bachelor suites. There is a lot of space and a full kitchen.

I understand the great reviews this place gets, but I think we will give it a pass next time we're in Portland. We like it, but we just want to try something different next time.

I like that the hotel will give guests streetcar tickets for free, and most of the staff are pleasant and helpful. A few of them can't quite manage to turn off the "ironic hipster 'tude" while they are at work, but they are not insufferable.

The Inn offers a free breakfast, the best part of which is the Tillamook yogurt. Otherwise, it's a pretty typical gluten- and glucose-laden traveller's breakfast. That said, there is always fresh fruit and lemony ice water available when we are there, and a pretty sweet upper deck.

I do have to say that their toiletries kind of lick, but not is a horrible way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieLeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Diversity in experience is always a good thing. We're happy you've enjoyed your stays here and hope you have fun wherever you roam. And if you ever feel like coming back our way again, we’ll have a room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Northrup Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family spent 4 days after Christmas discovering Portland. The Inn at Northrup Station was a great location to start each day and end the evening. It reminded us of something out of a cartoon with all the bright funky colours and crazy furniture, however the comfort/cleanliness level was the real thing! From the generous continental breakfast, free parking, wifi ,and well appointed rooms, this Inn is incredible! The tram stop was right outside the front door. Fantastic shops and an array of restaurants are 1 block away. Trader Joe's is a few blocks away. Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk and housekeeping ensures we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jipsee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

The hotel business is an interesting one, in that you are not typically the destination -- you are a support player in the experience of a vacation, a family reunion, a stop along the way, or even just an otherwise normal Saturday evening. And it sounds like in this case we did our job and helped your family have a great time. Thank you for the review and for choosing us as part of your fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Portland, loved it!
This was our first trip to Portland and we thoroughly enjoyed the idiosyncrasies and diversity of the city. This was reflected in the image being cultivated by the Inn. We loved our King 3rd floor room, which had a very well equipped kitchen and bathroom. The bed was extremely comfy. We had a room which overlooked the street, but there was no noise at all.
We only took advantage of the breakfast once, and it was fine, but I would strongly suggest visiting the coffee shop next door if you need a proper caffeine fix!
The proximity to the tram was great, and we really enjoyed the quirkiness of the design and the free parking was a massive plus!
The one downside was that we didn't really feel welcomed by the staff (housekeeping were extremely friendly, but not so the reception staff). We felt as though we were more of an annoyance than anything. Whenever we're in a new city, we try to get a handle on the public transport quickly so we can get ourselves around. The reception staff were unable (or unwilling) to help us very much in this area and I feel it took us almost our whole stay (4 days) to really get the hang of getting to all areas of Portland using the trains, trams and buses.
Nevertheless, I would absolutely stay here again, and hope to soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Well we must say that although we're glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay, we're not happy to hear that the service wasn't up to par. Please accept our apologies and know that we'll work on it, because a hotel is only as good as the people running it. Thank you for your review; it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Awesome. How else to describe a hotel that thinks of everything and delivers it!

The rooms are large. Spotlessly clean. The colours fantastic. The accoutrements excellent. The towels fluffy. The kitchen complete with an ice making fridge. The new beds are so comfortable. The location is central to all of Portland (though we walked to and from downtown everyday, the streetcar came in useful several times).

One thing I really liked was how everything was branded and coordinated so well. Green Bodum toaster matched all the other room colours. The extra roll of toilet paper had the right colour crepe paper covering it. Everything had the hotel's brand on it and you could tell that they had really, really thought it all through. Everytime I thought there should be something there, it was (like the magnet on the fridge telling me the in-room ice maker was sanitized and ready to go).

Could there be improvements? Of course but overall this property is just so well thought out and executed that one can, and must, overlook the niggly little issues.

Well done Northrup Station. We look forward to staying again :)

Room Tip: Based on previous stays, we find the King Suites are quieter as the Queen Suites have adjoining door...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Well shucks, we think you're pretty awesome too. Thank you for calling out some of the smaller details that, as you said, we've gone to great lengths to get right. Certainly you wouldn’t think sitting around a table discussing what color to wrap our toilet paper in would be a good use of time, but that's what it takes to make design a part of everything you do. Cheers and thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

As others say, the decor is the first thing that strikes one at the Inn. The thoughtful design, interior and exterior is more than "skin deep", however. The rooms are good size and the interior design colors, furnishings actually make it feel bigger, more spacious...the ceilings are less than typical 8 foot but again, the color and furnishings expand one's sense of space. Quite impressive and may have to be experienced to understand.
Ok, the specifics: great service; very reasonable price given the proximity to Downtown and the rich neighboring NW, Nob Hill and Pearl districts; Max access outside the door and a Trolley Clock in the lobby to tell you how long before the next trolley arrives; full kitchen with everything we needed including a dishwasher; 2 tv's are a bit of over-kill but impressive, balconies on upper floors; "quiet rooms" that are actually quiet; my wife so liked the bedding and pillows, again a real difference from even more expensive hotels!
Breakfast is minimal but also stays away from the boring, unappealing "hot breakfast" of some chains.
We will return!

Room Tip: If you like fresh air at night and a quieter room, ask for parking lot side at 2nd or 3rd floors. A...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

"Unique Comfort" is a good way of putting it. We took all the things we liked best about the hotel experience -- the great bedding, the space, the entertainment, the location, the service -- and we wrapped it in a very unique design, then slapped a bow on top. Thank you for staying with us and for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is so clean and the rooms are huge. Full kitchen with full size appliances. The staff is attentive, and there is someone available for any question you may have about Portland. The hotel is right at the Northrup Station streetcar stop (By the way, our room was on the second floor of the hotel facing the street and we never heard a peep from the streetcar ever - not once, and we stayed 4 nights). We used the streetcar numerous times, courtesy of the hotel's free tickets. The breakfast in the morning was great - fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, cereals, waffles, bagels, etc. No need to go out for breakfast, even though it is nice to visit the local coffee shops too. The location could not have been better - we visited all parts of the City, and perfect for the cool restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay here when visiting Portland over and over again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovefortcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

We have to warn you, if you visit Portland "over and over again" as you said, you have about a 72% chance of deciding to move here. It's a fact. A scientific, unresearched, arguably true but probably not fact. So just keep that in mind. Thanks for the review and we'll see you next time. And the time after that...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We really enjoy staying at the Inn love the decor, the location and access to the Max are awesome. Love the salt water taffy. A couple of things that might benefit from some attention; water pressure in showers is lacking enough energy to rinse long hair. Communication between shifts. There was an issue with the channels we received and apparently the 1st person we contacted, and came to the room to attempt to fix, failed to communicate the issue to later shifts. So after our initial notification of the issue at 6:30 am the problem was still happening at 5:30 pm.
One of the front desk staff could lighten up his attitude just a little, while his service was prompt and professional, it seemed to have a snobbish air about it. We will be back because the Positives overwhelm the not so positives.

Room Tip: Street side is better because of the balcony/patio.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hmm, sounds like we missed the mark a couple times here so we're going to investigate and make a few adjustments. That said, we're glad to hear the pros outweighed the cons, but it's our mission to make the pros a giant boulder and the cons a mere spec of dust in the wind. And now we're singing that song. Thanks for the review and we'll definitely do better next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,545 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $175 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing