We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is an unusual hotel. If you like dull don't come here! The colours are bright and across the spectrum. Our room was huge with a kitchen, large sofa, chairs - as well as the bed. We loved it but its definitely not your typical hotel room. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast choices were beyond the usual fare with yogurt and fresh fruit.
The location is excellent with the trolley right outside the door (and our window but we did not hear any noise at all) and a short walk to some very nice restaurants and shops, its also very easy access from the highway.
Highly recommended - wished I'd done the review much earlier.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
This one time an entire busload of exceptionally dull people came to stay with us. They were in town for the annual Low-Sodium Saltines Convention, and, needless to say, they were entirely overwhelmed the moment they walked through the door. One of them nearly raised his voice he was so shocked! Also needless to say, that never happened. But you're right that this is no place for dull people, so we welcome you back any day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    263
    46
    19
    13
See reviews for
266
418
48
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Inn at Northrup was in a great location for us. The service was great and the decor was interesting. I wanted to move in. Staff was nice, only problem was a room service lady coming in at 830 am, but I've had that happen other places too. If you want something a little different, that is still really great, stay at the Inn at Northrup.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Glad to hear the girls weekend went so well; we're happy you decided to spend it with us. The Inn is definitely a bit different from the rest and that’s what makes it so special. Hope to have you (and the ladies) back someday soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I came down to Portland for a girls' weekend, and even though all the search sites showed the hotel didn't have any double rooms available, I knew calling would probably give us results, and it did -- they were happy to get us a room for (unfortunately only) one night. The staff here are really wonderful -- I think they know they work at a fun place, so they seem to have an attitude to match. We were all the way at the end of the hall on the first floor, and it was great, even with the streetcar outside, it was quiet. The restaurant we wanted to try was literally across the street from the parking lot, so that was an added bonus. My only complaint was that we couldn't try the cool-looking tiki torch on the porch, nor sit out on the porch to enjoy a cup of coffee or tea from the Keurig beverage maker in the room: it was pouring rain for much of the weekend, and the streets were flooded all around us. Ah, good ol' Pacific Northwest.

They've replaced the Tootsie Pops from my friend's first stay here with saltwater taffy, which is OK but I confess I was looking forward to the pops. The nice thing is that even if you miss breakfast, as I did, there's still some fresh fruit around, and you can make tea or coffee in the lobby and sit and read a magazine or paper there. I also really appreciate that they offer lotions and body care products that are paraben- and other chemical-free, that is an especially welcome touch.

Love the decor in the hotel and the rooms, and the beds are quite nice. It's great to be able to bring your own food and snacks and have a place to put them. I hope next time we can stay longer to take better advantage of it and the free streetcar tickets. And there will be better weather.

Room Tip: I think just about any room here is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We've been working day and night to find a way to control the weather, but alas, it has not yet come to be. Sorry about the rainout, but we're really glad to hear that everything else was up to par. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and helpful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place is very cute. Updated decor that is way more fun than most of other hotels. Even the smallest rooms are big. The kitchen is great too. Beds are comfy - I slept on the pull out and even that one was good. The breakfast is amazing and the top terrace is great as well. If you're with a bigger group I would definitely recommend doing a BBQ up there. The location is OK but we still ended up driving or taking a street car (free tickets from the front desk). The local restaurants are amazing too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the first floor facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
You're very cute. And we're not just saying that. When the weather is nice we definitely recommend checking out the 3rd floor roof terrace, whether you’re bbq'ing or just relaxing with a drink. Thanks a ton for the nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Decorated in an art-deco meets modern style, the very colorful lobby and rooms worked beautifully together. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The inn is located on the edge of the Pearl District, right next to a streetcar stop that connects with just about anywhere in Portland -- no car needed. Numeous restaurants within a few blocks' walk. The breakfast at the inn was free and very good, with a wide variety of foods. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W&Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Sounds like from design to dining the Inn met your expectations for a stellar stay. Thank you for the review and for choosing us. Whenever the time comes to visit Portland again, we'll have a room ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first visit to Portland and we were very satisfied with our choice of lodging. This hotel is conveniently located on the streetcar route, making travel around town a breeze. We parked our car in the lot and didn’t move it except when we took day trips to the Columbia River Gorge and Cannon Beach. The free parking for guests was a plus!

The King Suite had all the amenities we needed for our 4 night stay. The room was spacious, with a nice sitting area, desk, and kitchen. Décor was fun and contemporary. The bed was a little too soft for our liking, and the closet space was limited, but overall, the room was quite comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and also a decent size.

Breakfast was above the standard Continental, offering cereals; make your own waffles, breads, bagels, yogurt, coffee, etc. Seating was limited during peak hours, but trays are available if you want to bring breakfast back to your room. The wine tasting on Wednesday night was an unexpected treat and the snacks were tasty.

The front desk and housekeeping staff were very polite and professional.
The only criticism we had was the complimentary Wi-Fi…which didn’t work in our room. We told the front desk of the outage, but it still didn’t work with any consistency. Despite this glitch, we were more than satisfied with our stay and wouldn’t hesitate in staying again if in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_DINKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
The hotel definitely makes a great base of operations for seeing the city and the surrounding areas and we're glad to hear you had such a good time exploring. Anyone who happens to be with us on a Wednesday evening should stop by our wine tasting event in the lobby--provided you're of drinking age, of course. Thanks and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having lived in Portland for 27 years and making the annual pilgrimage back, we searched out the Inn at Northrup this time. I used to live in NW Pdx and found this place just a few walking blocks from all the action of 21st/23rd with its resturants & shops. The Streetcar is right outside and the Inn gives you a free pass, so its sort of a good way to orient the town by taking a ride around the entire route (takes about an hour). The rooms are 50's ecletic, large w/kitchen so you can heat up leftovers from the great resturants or stop by City Market (21st & Johnson) and take a meal back to the room. There's a large deck (weather permitting) to sit out on, drink a little wine & listen to r&r. also. The prices are great when you consider that it includes parking & morning lite BF. We found the guests to sort of be like us, a little dirrerent and friendly. So is the Staff. Have fun

Room Tip: You may want to see if you want a street side room to view the action. During the day its busy, at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank promano99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Any praise from a local strikes us as a little bit sweeter than the rest, even though we love to hear it when anyone has a good time. But to us this means we've done a good job creating an experience that fits in with the vibe of our great city; one that both locals and visitors can enjoy equally. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing