We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Downtown Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Downtown Value Inn
Ranked #97 of 142 Hotels in Portland
kazoo2008
1 review
“Horrible”
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Do not stay there! Nice folks but...My daughter got bed bug bites (9-10-08) in room 42.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kazoo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    20
    17
    31
See reviews for
15
28
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 17, 2004

We booked this place through Expedia on their "special rate" discount for 47 bucks. We figured that if it was on Expedia, it'd be a basic, no-frills, clean place. We've stayed in flea-bag hotels across Europe, and we're pretty flexible about most things.

We left this hotel after being there for 20 minutes. At 2 AM. Dead tired. But we WERE NOT going to sleep there.

The whole place kind of smelled and looked run-down. Our room reeked of cigarette smoke and god-knows-what. There were ashes all around the sink. The walls were stained and I was afraid to sit on the bed. Everything was dirty and smelly.

AVOID AVOID AVOID!

I wish I'd read the other reviews before booking. Don't make our mistake!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 16, 2004

... this place came pretty close.

I strongly concur with all the previous reviews: DO NOT STAY HERE .. unless your senses are dulled by mind-altering drugs so that you can filter out the unpleasantries.

Regrettably, I managed to book this place for 3 nights through Expedia. The package looked alright and the location was ideal. As I approached the place however, I knew I made a big mistake.

First of all, I was greeted by the guy who worked at the front desk who looked like he just got up, hung over. It was noon. It took him some time to process the fact that I was a guest who had reserved a room (I guess it doesn't happen very often as I suspect most people use the rooms on an hourly basis).

He gave me my room key and asked for a five dollar deposit. When I gave him a ten, he cried "Aw man!", because getting change was like the single most arduous task he had to do all day.

Then the fun began. As I opened the door to my room, the stench of old cigarettes permeated. Smoke stains all over the walls. The window was open and this let in some flies which had the misfortune to enter this room. Cigarette burns were on the sheets. Everything was old and run down.

Bathroom: no hairdryer, no shampoo, very worn out towelletries. At least there was running water which was hot.

Amenities: no clock radio, no remote control for the TV (although you didn't want to spend time in the room watching TV anyway). There was a microwave and fridge, but I didn't check if they were in working order because the last thing anyone would want to do is eat here. Air conditioner didn't work.

If it weren't for the Rose Festival and non-vacancy at other hotels, I would not have stayed, but I endured it.

The only good thing about this hotel (and that is really being generous) is the location, but I would have gladly paid more to have stayed somewhere else.

Portland is a very safe city, however I did not feel secure in this place at all.

Unless you're into slumming, I would avoid this place altogether

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2004

Oh my god....I have stayed in MANY hotels, mostly through work but also through weekend jaunts like this was. This was the all time worst hotel, not only that I have actually stayed in, but I believe the worst I have ever seen even on tv. There was an abundance of homeless people around the hotel and I quessed some were inhabitants. The stench when you went into the lobby was bad, but not unbearable...that stench was left for when you opened the door to your room. A half eaten apple greeted us, probably a few days old, placed right outside our door as we attempted to open it. I slept on top of the sheets (good job we were tipsy by the time we made it back) and would never go near that shower. The front desk had a woman I could not understand...but whatever language she spoke she was ignorant. Please, please, please....LOOK elsewhere!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2003

I was going to review the Value Inn, but after reading the review of the guy from MA I decided it would be redundent---he pretty much nailed it. Cool staff, good location, cheap rates. Maybe there's one thing to add: eccentric clientele.

Helpful?
4 Thank booradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2003

I would probably give this place only one star, but it did have a few redeeming qualities so I wouldn't really qualify it as "terrible". The location is great - basically right in downtown Portland so you can walk everywhere. The staff was also very friendly and well-meaning - they let us look at 5-6 different rooms and pick which one we wanted.
Finally, the price just can't be beat! On the downside...it is kind of a funky place. Definitely not somewhere your average tourist would want to stay, but probably acceptable for younger, backpacker/student types or those who just want the basics.

Half of the hotel seemed like a drab residential hotel with apartment like rooms (neon beer signs in the kitchenettes was an interesting touch) including some with hot tubs. However, we ended up staying in a separate part of the hotel which was more like your average motel room and that was perfectly fine. No frills, but for that price, I wasn't expecting any.

Helpful?
11 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 142 in Portland
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 142 in Portland
713 reviews
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#47 of 142 in Portland
79 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Property: Downtown Value Inn
Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing