We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare bones motel”
Review of Downtown Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Downtown Value Inn
Ranked #97 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Yakima, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bare bones motel”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Location is good, price is cheap and, although recently updated, finish work done by very inexperienced sloppy workperson! Check out time is 11.00 but don't plan on leaving your bags at the motel...they will not hold them for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    20
    17
    31
See reviews for
15
28
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was reasonable value for the cost, the location was convenient, the staff were friendly and helpful. It is in a good location for the University, plenty of good restaurants in walking distance. We found it easy to use the Max light rail. The room was confortable and warm. It was sufficent for our needs and budget. I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've stayed in some baaad motels over the years, both scary corporate places as well as 'the only place in town' Overall, this is certainly not one of them.

My husband and I have been here twice, now. Room/bathroom/sheets were totally clean. Rooms are stark but adequate. Both times, rooms were barren of any artwork/photos on the walls and in one there were unrepaired/badly patched holes but since when do you go to a motel to gaze at the wall? Bathrooms/bedding/carpeting seemed new and our rooms were spacious. There was a minifridge and microwave. Staff was EXCEEDINGLY helpful and friendly. Parking lot is tight, but I was able to park my pickup with LOTS of care.

Yes the hallways were stiflingly non-airconditioned. Yes there was an ice machine but we were not given an ice bucket (we also never asked for one). No there will not be a complimentary shower cap. These are bare-bones accommodations where the staff happen to try to make the stay as comfortable as possible.

Biggest gripe- I didn't like that there were no Do Not Disturb signs because I'm one of those people who doesn't care if they come in to make the bed or change the sheets everyday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is located next to Portland State University. The tram also drops you off literally at the side of the hotel. There are not very many restaurants nearby. It is a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area in downtown Portland. It is fairly clean and the staff are friendly. The beds (we had two in our room) were very comfortable. Overall, not worth $100 per night but decent enough for one night.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor, this will help with the noise factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a horrible experience. This motel ruined our Portland trip. Portland accommodation is expensive, this was about $100 after discount and taxes in Aug 2012. Its very run down and unclean. the walls are really dirty. The sheets on the bed at least looked clean. We sanitized the room with handy wipes. We had pre-booked and pre-paid this place otherwise we would have left. At first we only worried about how dirty the place was, then we worried about our safety. In the middle of the night, we were woken by yelling, door slamming and then loud fighting in the hall and from another room. We complained to the front desk. It still continued, and we called again and were told that they threatened the motel worker so the police were called. The police arrived and only arrested one person, the others escaped out the windows or the fire exit.
We were so exhausted the next day we couldn't enjoy Portland and so hit the road for home.
Unless this place has been redone and under new management, don't even give them a chance.
Its too bad because this could be a good place under right management. Its location is good, near the university, close to the Farmers Market, and just a 15 minute walk to downtown Portland. There's a good pub on the corner.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if you do, ask to see the room first before you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Avg_40ish_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The manager is very rude to start. He makes his own rules as he goes and has no people skills what so ever. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Old, out dated, stinks and no parking unless you drive a small Yugo. Spend an extra $20 and go to a real hotel where they know how to treat a CUSTOMER!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice staff, couldnt get an early check in, but that's ok, because they have a nice little resturant downstairs that i was able to hang out at and eat some good food, while i waited.
The building is older, and rooms have been remodled, got two queen sized firm beds which my partner liked. The TV remote did not work or it could've been operator error who knows, but i slept comfortably. My partner was surprised that i slept through the party next door that went for a while (but i was tired), he on the other hand got to hear it till it stopped. The price is not too bad for what you get, and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oly360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 142 in Portland
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 142 in Portland
1,946 reviews
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#43 of 142 in Portland
88 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Property: Downtown Value Inn
Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing