We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”
Review of Salt & Straw

Salt & Straw
Ranked #2 of 128 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small-batch, chef-driven ice cream made by hand with local ingredients since 2011. We hope you love it!
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

They definitely have some random flavors but it all works. I like the fact that you can try them before committing to a flavor. My mom loved the lavender, the salted caramel was great and the strawberry tasted like they had picked the strawberries that morning. Great place to cool off.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colesmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    285
    86
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just because you can put all kinds of strange stuff into ice cream doesn't mean that you should. Some of the stuff they serve tastes like a bad basket on "Chopped."
I guess I'm just a purist. Give me a hot fudge sunday from Moonstruck, NOW you're talkin!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Icecream, awesome staff.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Awesome Ice-cream and on top of that awesome and very friendly Staff.. Must visit place..

I really liked their seasons special and the salted icecream.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gandalf201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
249 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Salt and Straw is Weird and Perfect”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I say it is weird only because of the crazy flavor combinations and ingredients - mince meat? turkey? pepper? blue cheese? - but everything we tasted seemed to work out without invoking a gag reflex. Salt & Straw is perfect because it is homemade, small-batch, local, seasonal and full of imagination. They are very friendly and even if the line is long they have no problem letting you taste as much as you want before ordering.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must visit Portland Place”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is the best ice cream I have ever eaten. The waffle cones smell and taste like a little bit of heaven. You have to wait in a line, like you do at Voodo Donuts, but it is well worth it. I really liked that they had waitresses who came to you in line and asked what you would like to taste. She followed you through your complete order. A wonderful treat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motherpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt & Straw also viewed

 

Been to Salt & Straw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing