We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don;t be on a diet if you're going to go here”
Review of Salt & Straw

Salt & Straw
Ranked #1 of 126 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Small-batch, chef-driven ice cream made by hand with local ingredients since 2011. We hope you love it!
Kowloon
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don;t be on a diet if you're going to go here”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lovely flavors and exceedingly great taste. This is the place for ice cream in Portland. They have a sit down restaurant in NE Portland and a cart at the side of the road in SE so you are never too far away to try their exceptional desserts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moniker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,075
    304
    90
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tacoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Ever!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a must place to go to while in Portland! The carmel sauce is to die for. The lines are long but they move fast. I love the different unique flavors. At Christmas time I had Mincemeat, but they always change the flavors up depending on the season!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakebrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the variety and atmosphere. Great and friendly service! So delish! Will come back again for more! Definitely for special occasions since it was a bit pricey but very worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Bobbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Innovative and so good!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This shop is the best place for ice-cream in Portland hands-down. The flavors vary all the time and they are never a disappointment. The horchata sorbet is incredible and the cinnamon really shines through. Also, the cheddar apple pie is a good pick as is the mincemeat. Whatever you choose though, you really can't go wrong!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaylorStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Interesting and Yummy!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I went here with my kiddos. All 3 of us LOVED the icecream! I got the Brownie sundae and it was amazing, the only let down was the whipped cream. It's house made but it's lacking in sweetness. I am one that believes if it's added calories it better have taste to it!LOL! But it had no taste at all :( wasted calories. My sundae had they burbon coffee flavor in it, that was amaizng! The kiddos had their woodblock chocolate on a cone and they loved it! I would say the biggest draw back was the lack of seating. They have some wasted space that they should put some tables in or remove some of the shelving and put in some tables because most of their customers were either standing around holding icecreams or running to their cars in the rain to eat...I am sure they probably don't have tons of people in there at any given time but on the chances they do they should make those changes. It was good, we will be back....and I will be taking my out of town family there during the summer for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank An_eatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt & Straw also viewed

 

Been to Salt & Straw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing