We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, Please!!!”
Review of Salt & Straw

Salt & Straw
Ranked #1 of 129 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Small-batch, chef-driven ice cream made by hand with local ingredients since 2011. We hope you love it!
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yes, Please!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

From the moment u walk through the door until your last spoonful, you are amazed! The flavor are so unique that you want to sample all of their flavors. Don't be shy to order half scoops of two of your favorites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardengal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    294
    89
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the wait in line...”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

And I really don't like waiting in line! It was a short wait - 15 minutes, maybe, and the ice cerams we tried were amazing. We loved the blue cheese + pear & the lavender honey. Will be back to try more. Great vibe, friendly staff! Love it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autumn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Holding my breath this place upholds its quality”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Long lines are a "nevermind" when you are rewarded with this quality of ice cream. The variety and the ingenuity are impressive, as well. My favorite brands are filled with rum and cheese and pear. I am not as adventurous as allowing bacon in my ice cream, but if you feel like something unusual, then go for it! They let you try any number of yummities and the only pressure is the line behind you, that is the eye gazes that drill the back of your skull secretly passing you the message "O, come on, order already and let me have my ice cream!"

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dmitri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ate ice cream here, even though it was cold and rainy. You will not be disappointed if you love excellent quality ice cream, unique flavors (as well as regular choices) regardless of the weather. Take the Portland streetcar over to the Northwest district, have some ice cream and walk up and down 23rd and 21st streets.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHELLEY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun little place with some good ice cream”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had the pear and gorgenzola, salted caramel and a few others. Great area for walking, so get to 23rd and enjoy the neighborhood.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RomaamorA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt & Straw also viewed

 

Been to Salt & Straw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing