We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian in downtown Portland”
Review of Mucca Osteria

Mucca Osteria
Reserve with OpenTable
Mucca Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 4,313 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th St.
Transit: Portland Streetcar: SW 11th & Alder (Southbound to Waterfront) and SW 12th & Morrison (Northbound to NW 23rd) MAX Station: Blue and Red line at Galleria/SW 10th Ave (Westbound to Beaverton) and Library/SW 9th Ave (Eastbound to Gresham or Airport)
Description: Chef-owner Simone Savaiano carefully selects ingredients to create authentic, Italian cuisine in an intimate downtown Portland restaurant.
portland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in downtown Portland”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ate here a couple of times in recent months. On each occasion the food was excellent, and the wines were both good and reasonably priced. The staff in our case were Italian and both knowledgeable and friendly. We went early evening prior to theater and had no problem getting in, or getting done in time for our show. The wild boar pasta dish and the mushroom risotto both ranked high. The ambience is OK, not exactly ideal as a romantic dinner spot, but the dinner itself made it excellent for couples or small groups. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RIDPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    46
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A wonderful taste of Italy!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to Portland for my birthday and one of the best surprises was finding this incredible little Osteria on Morrison that was listed in the Where to Eat in Portland.
An 8 block walk from our hotel brought us to a charming restaurant with an even more charming hostess-server.
The room is a comfortable, exposed brick wall with gorgeous mirrors and lighting. The tables are topped with kraft paper so the feeling is upscale casual.
We chose the chef's menu listed on top for 50. per person and were not disappointed. All the selections we had been thinking of we're served along with other delights. The scallops were wonderful but the wild boar with fresh pappardelle pasta and the halibut ravioli was amazing. The boar was just like what we had in a small village in Tuscany.
Follow this with a saddle of rabbit and a serving of grouper finishing the evening with a trio of delightful deserts, especially the flour less chocolate cake that melts in your mouth and you have a perfect dinner.
Usually a chefs menu is several dishes of their choice however in this case, my husband received one dish and I received another so there was a forks crossing the table to try all the great dishes.
The staff and service is above average by far. The chef is passionate about is food and the wine list is a study in fine wines.
This is a must return again place and we will!
The deserts were a trio

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow in Portland”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We went to Portland for a half marathon. Walked around the night before the run and came across Mucca. It was early and the place looked empty but we liked the quaint ambiance so we walked in to see what it is all about .

Wow, we are so glad we did.

We started with scallop and it was amazing! We had a half marathon the next day so we ordered 3 pasta dishes. Sorry but I couldn't quite remember the name of the 1st dish, seashell something. The pasta was thicker then usual and had a terrific bite to it. Fantastic!

2nd pasta was our old favorite, papadelle. Simply fantastic. 3rd dish also our old favorite, taglietelle. Wow!

We didn't drink any wine because of the run next day and we were sad to hear they were closed on Sunday and Monday because we so want to come back and try everything on the menu with some nice wines.

We sat right next to the wall on the counter and had a complete view of the kitchen and watched the chefs prepared all the food. Super fun! The hostess was this beautiful Italian woman who had a no-nonsense genuine friendliness.

Also ordered 2 desserts. Should have ordered 3 because we were fighting for every bite!

We have been to Italy and Mucca Osteria brought back many wonderful memories!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGr8Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go discover it!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Far and away the best Italian restaurant in the Portland area. The owner-chef offers an imaginative menu, and has a sure touch with soups (esp. a memorable minestrone) and pastas (an equally memorable dish with mullet roe). To those who lament the closure of Alba Osteria in the Hillsdale area, take courage! You will not be disappointed with this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taxonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was here in March and had a lovely pasta, salad and glass of Prosecco. Small but interesting menu, I am always suspicious of place with extensive menus...It is an intimate setting, small and warm, almost feels like you are in New York with tall windows looking out on the street.The service was excellent, try it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mucca Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing