We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really a jem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby Jewel Scoops - North Portland

Ruby Jewel Scoops - North Portland
Ranked #18 of 127 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really a jem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

On my first night in Portland, I wandered into this place and couldnt be happier. I had a salted caramel ice cream and my husband had a mexican chocolate. The flavors are so unique, robust, and subtle at the same time. I came by once more with more family. Its a great little local shop.

Just a warning---their mint is very.....mint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhavi_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ladybugthepug
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect from this local ice cream joint, but we went after a local recommended it. I tasted a number of samples and went with the Almond Joy sundae - vanilla ice cream, hot fudge, salted marcona almonds (awesome idea), toasted coconut and whipped cream. I was a happy camper!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladybugthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The Best $1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful and interesting ice cream. I went there during their late afternoon happy hour they offered small cones or small cookie-ice-cream sandwiches for $1. It was the best $1 I spent in Portland.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My new favorite ice cream joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Locally owned ice cream joint using local all natural ingredients that taste home made. The ice cream sandwich with lemon cookies and Honey Lavender ice cream was so heavenly I could cry. The Brown Butter Pecan made my tastebuds jump for joy. I can't get enough of this place when I am in town. I love their creative flavors and natural ingredients. I love that they are open late for those after dinner cravings. Don't miss out on this place, they even have lots of seasonal flavors too. I will be sure to visit everytime I come to town!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tocknhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Followed our noses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Exploring Portland and smelled something amazing. Took a turn and found it was coming from the waffle cone iron at Rubys. Yum! Cones as good as the delicious unique flavored ice creams. All fresh made by the friendly staff. Only regret was that we didn't have room for an ice cream sandwich!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CCS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Jewel Scoops - North Portland also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Jewel Scoops - North Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing