We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality beers”
Review of The Green Dragon

The Green Dragon
Ranked #852 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Named by Imbibe Magazine as one of the 100 Best Places to Drink Beer in America, features 62 taps that serve an eclectic mix of craft beer from across the country. Located on 9th and Yamhill in Portland's inner east side, the Green Dragon will also feature Aloha Tuesday, Sunday Pajama Brunch, Hoppy Meals, Bathroom Tours, Meet the Brewer nights, and a beer-infused menu.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Quality beers”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I liked the Green Dragon a lot, a good selection of microbrews and even a nano-brew, good friendly staff who know their beer and good quality brewpub food, worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good pub food with great beer selection”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Green Dragon is a worthy stop for beer geeks. They always have an amazing selection. The food is good for pub food. The burgers are a reliable choice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service?!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Did I go to the same place as the other reviewers? I got surly service, with a side of animosity. Apparently this isn't a unique occurrence at The Green Dragon. Yeah, the beer list is impressive, but hardly worth being treated like an idiot interloper to enjoy it. Admittedly, I didn't order food. Nothing about the service there encouraged me to do so.

Portland is Beervana. Almost any other choice is a better one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive Array of Beer”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

... and the food suffices to support the experience. The standing rotation of 50 taps (20 in front, 30 in back) is a wonderful sampler of area micro-brewing, worth the trip for a beer fan. The variety of food selection permits a proper meal for almost any palette.

Our trip was somewhat handicapped by two problems. First, they were short on staff due to illness (thank you for being conscientious to health standards). Second, the place hasn't been upgraded from the industrial acoustics: forget holding a conversation with someone more than one seat separated from you, even on a sparsely-populated week night.

Bottom line: if my friends choose it for another gathering, I'm there with taste buds a-quiver.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norcekri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great tap house”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It took us a while to find the entrance. We could hear people inside, but couldn't figure out how to get in. (We approached from the north.) Great selection. We sat and tried lots of hoppy beer while we enjoyed the afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinArtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Dragon also viewed

 

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing