We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picky Greeks Enjoyed Blue Olive”
Review of Blue Olive - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Olive
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Picky Greeks Enjoyed Blue Olive”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Whenever we travel to a new city, we try to eat in a Greek Restaurant . . .or at least find Mediterranean food. Our family hails from Rodos and we enjoy seeing Greek food interpreted in different places. We had reservations for a more expensive/elitest Greek restaurant in the Pearl District, but were happy to stumble upon the Blue Olive with an extensive menu and tables outside at lunchtime. We never made it to the other place. Fresh salads/vegetables nicely prepared and presented, good tzisiki and hummus. Service was good. Plenty of choices for vegetarians and a chance to eat outside on a beautiful day. Sigh. . . we were happy. Blue Olive is not sophisticated renditions of Greek food, but tasty traditional fare. We'd definitely return again and again. One cautionary note: we are from California and like things light and simple and organic and tasty. . .and we are not into the Portland meat scene---heavy on the pigs cheek mousse---we found that scene & cuisine scene ultra foodie pretentious. We did not feel that way at all about the Blue Olive which we found superior in taste and quality to the expensive foodie haunts where we had other Portland meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodaspoetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Olive has good intentions but no experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This place has awesome hummus, a terrible wine list, completely untrained waitstaff, and menu descriptions that don't match the dish. And it's empty. Wonder why?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeMerriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Delicious with great service!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in Portland and took a walk on 21st where some of the good restaurants are to find a place to eat, we sat down outside at the Blue olive and had one of the most wonderful meals we have ever had and that says a lot because we were travelling the globe for years working for Royal Caribbean and we had a lot of different food all over the world.

The manager was very friendly and the waiters were too, there were a lot of choices and they recommended a few and as I said it was a wonderful meal! I liked the fact that they let you enjoy the romantic setting while they prepare the food or let you eat cos some places like to check how it's going on the table too often(like when you walk into an empty clothing store and get swarmed by employees). I would recommend the Blue Olive to anyone visiting Portland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plaguezn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
419 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“fresh”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

we came down for last thurs, and had the falafel sandwich....the server is always friendly and quick. ....the sandwich so fresh and tasty....thx

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
240 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best Falafel in town!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recommend the falafel sandy. It's really quite delicious. The restaurant on NW 21st is nice. The cafe on Alberta street is so-so. Very slow but the servers are nice. It's too cold, too. They need to heat the space better. When the door opens, you freeze. This is not a quick place. Plan on waiting at least 30 minutes for your meal. Worth the wait though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarefootBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Olive also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing