We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints”
Review of Killer Burger

Killer Burger
Ranked #212 of 4,343 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Great Burger Joint in Northeast Portland.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Burger Joint in Northeast Portland.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really hungry for a hamburger. Decided to visit this new downtown location. Clean, friendly staff and brought to your table the minute the order is ready. No sitting around getting soggy. Really hit the spot despite the fact I thought they were flame broiled and not grilled. Didn't hurt it however because the meat had a nice caramelization so the flavor was there.

I had the Classic with raw onions instead of grilled. Crisp greens, crunchy pickle, not an overpowering sauce and crisp bacon. I would place this burger in the upper levels of Portland burgers however.... my next burger will be somewhere else just because there are so many more options in Portland to try. Very competitive business these days .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super burgers and super karma”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stopped in while wandering about Portland during a very long layover on our way home. Our choice to stop in was random and we were pleasantly surprised. The woman that took our order was very engaging and made my day with her smile. Their menu was fun and the service was fast. Somehow we were served burgers that we didn't order but, boy were they good. We were really tired and it took us a few bites to figure out that we didn't have the right burgers. The waitress showed up at the same time we realized we had the wrong burgers and insisted that we eat the burgers we had and that we take along the other burgers along with about 3 pounds of fresh, hot, crispy fries.

I have to repeat, the food was great and the people working there were beautiful. Especially the woman with the orange hair.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I didn't think it was that great.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Thursday night. Parking was fine. Order at the counter. Cheerful staff. Quick service. Menu is intriguing with lots of choices on the chalkboard. Burger was a weird shape and not particularly juicy. The blue cheese was an odd processed slice. Tasty enough, just not as spectacular as I was expecting of a place so highly rated by Zagat and TA. Still, worth a try if you're close by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starchucks1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Damn Good Burger...”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The thing that struck me almost immediately about their menu is that EVERYTHING includes bacon. Bacon: The candy of all meats. The burger was ridiculously good; quite possibly one of the finest this burger lover has ever had. Their ingredients are ridiculously fresh (I thought I'd heard some mooing coming from the back) and the service was superb. It's a burger joint that gets it right.

Go here for lunch. Just do it. Do it because you're hungry and you're smart and because you'll be that much better looking with a Killer Burger in your hands...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stacked”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

These guys stack it high and don't hold back on good ingredients. Creative, non-pretentious and they start with the "burger ball" on the grill. Fries are great too.
Usually have 5 beers on tap, pretty much all local stuff.

They even offer a "girlie" size on the burger.

Just simple and true to what they want to do, love that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lostinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killer Burger also viewed

 

Been to Killer Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing