We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In one word DISGUSTING”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #127 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In one word DISGUSTING”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We did not expect much from a budget hotel. The room was average but clean. Front counter staff was short and unpleasant. The pool was cloudy and "usable" as the front counter female commented when I complained about large clumps of hair floating everywhere in the pool. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. It is the most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bergetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshini P, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and have taken the observations for further improvement.

Based on your review, we have taken steps to check and ensure that the overall amenities of the rooms are perfect before checking in a new guest. We have given special training to the concerned staff.

The housekeeping staff has been given additional training to maintain the best cleanliness of the rooms and the property as well.

We would like to invite you to once again to the Rodeway Inn during your next visit and assure you a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    16
    13
    58
See reviews for
29
36
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have too agree with a lot of the other reviews here, this place is definitely old and aged, there are many problems with rudeness, old fixtures and fittings, busted doors and furniture, holes in screens and drapes, uncleaned appliances, weak wi-fi, burned out or not working light fixtures, and I'm sure I missed a few other details.

I have actually wondered if these folks actually care about "Inn Keeping", after being told a few times to "call back later" when trying to make a reservation, that ought to be a red flag for anyone! To be perfectly honest, it seems like this place gets worse every time I have to stay here.

Everything I have said, and others have said, is absolutely TRUE! Maybe not on all floors, in all rooms, but enough where I am compelled to finally write a review, even if negative. Seriously, the public has a right to know about a place BEFORE they spend their hard earned money to select a place to be able to relax and ENJOY much need rest after a hard and/or long day of travel! The last thing you want to face is a poor room and service when you are very tired!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoapinTrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshini P, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Rodeway Inn during your last visit to our area.

We also appreciate your review and observations and apologies for the inconvenience howsoever.

We have taken the following steps and we shall see that our guests get the best services and hospitality during their stay.

The Housekeeping staff received additional training in properly check and confirm the cleanliness of the rooms and amenities before the checking in of new guests.

The next time you visit our area, we invite you once again to choose us once again.

We are sure you shall appreciate the change.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Okay for one night, watch out for bedbugs. Staff was quite rude and towels and sheets were dirty.
Bring your own sheets and towels, heck just bring your own air mattress and everything else you need to sleep and shower. The room did not even have a garbage bin. At least there is a pool, abit murky looking, oh well at least there's no bed bugs in there (maybe they will learn to swim one day)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshini P, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Rodeway Inn during your visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and take the observations for further improvement.

We have taken steps to check and ensure the overall amenities and cleanliness of the rooms are perfect before checking in a new guest and the concerned staff has been given the required training.

Please consider us once again choose us during your next visit and have a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aniheim, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Clean, comfortable, quiet, and wallet friendly. Very nice place to stay right off the highway. I would recomment this hotel, its very affordable and nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spouse & I only paid $50/night for queen bed, so I was glad to find a clean & comfortable room. Bed was quite comfortable. Room was freshly vacuumed, there were clean sheets and towels (typical cheap motel towels), and the fridge and TV worked. Staff was helpful and friendly. We stayed 3 nights, had no troubles. We were on main floor; I don't think we had any close neighbors because I didn't hear anything other than occasional muffled footsteps above us. FREE breakfast was simple: 2 kinds of dry cereal, toast/english muffins, make-your-own-waffles, apples, coffee/juice/milk. Also fast food and family-style dining nearby. Did not use pool or fitness room, but saw sign that jacuzzi is out of order. Wi-fi worked for us with no problems. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay again for this price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runcynrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Wish we'd driven a little further to Troutdale and the motels there. We stayed in the suite with the hot tub and I was not impressed with having to clean it before using it. The decor was dated and dusty....the whole room needed a good cleaning!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dltennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshini P, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Rodeway Inn for your past stay and the review.

We definitely appreciate every kind of criticism and suggestions about our hotel.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We have addressed to your observation about the rooms décor and amenities for cleanliness.

Please check in one more time and find a better experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel was sooooo filthy. first of all we booked some conjoining rooms and when we went upstairs to let the kids wind down, one of the rooms was not even touched since the last person had been there. There were towels on the floor, t.v. on, pee in the toilet..etc. I told the owners in the lobby and they had us move into some rooms across the hall and had the nerve to ask my husband to "re-make" the room we were in for 5 minutes waiting for them to give us a new one....

The rooms they gave us were so dirty. There was old rotten chicken fries and a soda in the fridge, used filters still in the coffee pot, pubic hair plastered to the floor and tub in the bathroom and to top it all off we found a pair of dirty underwear behind the love seat...
The sheets and bedding were scary with stains and it really looked like they might not have changed all the blankets and the beds and pillows were really uncomfortable.

We went to use the pool and hot tub and the owner had all of his family in the pool as well so it was very un-relaxing to have so many people that weren't even guests running in and out of the pool....

I am sorry to say this was the worst hotel experience EVER and to NOT GO HERE EVER unless you want some sort of disease from all of the filth...

Room Tip: All other surrounding hotels looked cleaner :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cora_lee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshini P, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Rodeway Inn for your stay during your last visit.

Your review is well appreciated as it would help us to improve ourselves.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had howsoever and apologies for that.

We have attended to ensure that similar difficulty to our guest is totally avoided.

We have also taken steps to improve the overall cleanliness and checking of the amenities for proper functioning before checking in a new guest.

Please do choose us once again during your next visit to our area and we assure you a better stay and hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
4.4 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Gresham
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Portland/Gresham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Gresham/Portland Area OR
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Portland East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 2323 NE 181st Ave, Portland, OR 97230-6906 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Gresham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from I-84 East of Portland. Several nearby traveler amenities including gas, restaurants and shopping. Easy commuting to Downtown Portland, PDX Portland International Airport and any metro area of the city. Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area nearby with beautiful view of Mount Hood. Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Free hot breakfast served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hotel Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
Gresham Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing