We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and a huge selection of dishes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicholas Restaurant - NE Broadway

Nicholas Restaurant - NE Broadway
Ranked #322 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hawaii
Level Contributor
636 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a huge selection of dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It took a good while for each of the three in our party to decide what to get. The menu is huge and there are many dishes that one does not usually find in Greek or Middle East restaurants. As a vegan, I was particularly happy with the number of choices. Each of us ordered different dishes and we all enjoyed them. Two of us had mezzas--one vegetarian, one Arabian vegan--and we could not come close to finishing them. There was a lot of food! The atmosphere is friendly and the service was excellent. I would not go here for a romantic evening -- quiet is not the theme. But for friendly staff, well presented delicious food, I highly recommend Nicholas Broadway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The food is an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The chef & culinary team know how to create a multiple noted masterpiece! The food actually sang in my mouth! The atmosphere is romantic, sultry, rich and inviting; The staff is fun and great at what they do! They know how to make someone feel special & well taken care of!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never fails you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This is the best middle eastern food you can get. I have been their dozens of times, always good food. Reminds me of my hometown Damascus, Syria. Don't order the tzatiki...that is not middle eastern. Large portions inexpensive. Love that place. The meat mezza is great. I always go there when I'm in Portland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finediner1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious and priced reasonably.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We tried a sampler platter and really enjoyed it. Service was fast and attentive. We had much to bring home including freshly made pita bread and dipping sauce.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD and SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the second time we have eaten at the Nicholas Restaurant and remember the food the first time was good but this time I had a chicken Kabob salad and was blown away at how good it was. The rest of the family commented the same with their meals but my son's dish was huge and good. Everyone else took a portion of their dinner home but my dinner was so good I had to eat it all. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank booker_idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicholas Restaurant - NE Broadway also viewed

 

Been to Nicholas Restaurant - NE Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing