We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps inconvenenient location, but a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #39 of 142 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
St Paul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perhaps inconvenenient location, but a great experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

The property is beautiful. The location requires a train ride/bus ride or a complimentary car into town, but it's worth it. As for food nearby, three blocks away on 43 is a chinese restaurant not worth mentioning and two blocks walk toward town is the Old Spaghetti Factory(again, not a recommendation).

The complimentary breakfast is not anything to speak of. Its available and free. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. BIg bathroom, full robes and a nice bathtub. Nice balcony access(we were hillside) was a nice way to end the day. Wifi was fast and glitch-free.

The spa is absolutely amazing and what makes this experience worth the down-side of the location. Its got a huge selection of exercise machines...I think a full room for classes and a great hot tub, sauna and steam room. The men's steam room was out of order when I stayed, but it didn't matter, it was 107 degrees during the day the week we stayed. Steam room not necessary.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stpaulgmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    390
    150
    91
    52
See reviews for
261
466
88
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The Avalon Hotel and Spa in Portland’s South Waterfront District is an absolute find! It’s a bit away from the central downtown core (which can be a definite plus if you don’t need to be downtown 24/7) and has a lot to offer.

The hotel is right on the Willamette River and river view rooms are available. We booked one for the 4th of July weekend and, while trees blocked a bit of the view, it was still great. The hotel provides a continental breakfast on each floor, so it was just a short walk down the hall (wearing the bathrobes conveniently placed in each guest room) to fetch our morning coffee, which we then enjoyed on our private patio overlooking the river.

The hotel features a fitness center and spa, and is also adjacent to a great jogging/hiking/biking path that wends its way along the riverbank.

True to the city’s environmental consciousness, the Avalon presents a very “green” image. The soaps and toiletries in the guest rooms are made with environmentally friendly ingredients and with a green focus to minimize both waste and use of plastics. The rooms also have recycle bins in addition to trashcans, and cards that provide guests the option of foregoing daily linen and towel changes.

The snacks in the snack center (unfortunately, no in-room “mini bars”) are among the most reasonably priced I’ve seen. There’s a slight premium for the convenience, but nothing like many hotels charge today. And the focus is on local products: snacks, bottled water, and oter treats made in the Pacific Northwest.

The Avalon is adjacent to the Aquariva Restaurant, an Italian-themed eatery with splendid river views as well as a nice menu and a good wine list. Daryl at the bar is great: very knowledgeable and quick to make new guests feel as welcome as the regulars.

Finally, the hotel’s reservation staff was excellent; Ana worked with me to provide a competitive rate and, in addition to saving me several dollars, displayed the attitude that puts the “hospitality” in the hospitality industry. I highly recommend the Avalon; we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2009

What a wonderful discovery - an oasis/retreat near the Oregon Health Science University complex in Portland. Although it is not easy to get to, the Avalon is well worth finding. We were fortunate to have a river view room and it was like being in another world. Beatiful view and perfect room. The staff was wonderfully professional and helpful (although the valet parking/tipping is always awkward!) and the continental breakfast was pleasant. We will definitely choose the Avalon for all our future visits to Portland.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Avalon for three nights at the end of June 2009, and, upon returning, there are just a couple of things that possible guests at The Avalon need to be aware of, so we wanted to post this review.
Positives:
1. The rooms are clean, bright, modern, and spacious. Our bed was very comfortable also.
2. There are nice perks in the room--bathrobes, an umbrella for loan, plenty of clean towels, a variety of TV channels, etc.
3. Atmosphere is quiet and serene. But, as another traveler said, this is a hotel for singles or couples, not families with children.
Negatives:
1. The location--It is physically close to downtown, but difficult to get to and from there from the hotel--confusing directions.
2. We expected the room to have perks that it didn't--like a mini-fridge in the room and an alarm clock that worked. Also, as another reviewer said, water pressure in the shower is low.
3. We also expected at least the amenities that one would find at a lower-rated hotel, but there is no place in the Avalon to buy a soda, for example. There is also no pool. Guests do have access to the attached spa's jacuzzis, but they are single-sex, so couples cannot enjoy this feature together.
4. THE PARKING SITUATION IS RIDICULOUS. Guests are charged $19/night just to have a car, and valet parking (in an uncovered lot, not more than 20 feet from the front door) is mandatory. So for three nights, we ended up spending about $100 extra on parking. Ridiculous.

The bottom line is that this is a nice hotel IF you are willing to put up with some inconveniences and be nickel and dimed for parking.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTraveler2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I don't really have any complaints about this hotel except that finding it from downtown Portland (or probably anywhere) was incredibly difficult! We even emailed the hotel ahead of time for directions and they gave us the same ones you would get from google maps....USELESS!! The directions were WRONG and what should have taken us about 5 mins from downtown, took us over 30 mins!!!! We had to get some gas and asked the attendant there...he didn't know where it was. Finally, we just went with our gut and tried to drive toward the water and reached and Old Spaghetti Factory where they told us exactly how to get there.

When we arrived, the receptionist was nice and helpful. She gave us a card with MUCH BETTER DIRECTIONS, which I think should have been made available online or sent with our confirmation emails...I don't understand why they sent us BAD DIRECTIONS instead??!!! Other than that, the stay was fine. We booked a hillside room, but got a riverview instead, which I'm glad we did! We missed out on the spa because they closed to early for us on Sunday. We did try the restaurant next door and pretty much had the whole restaurant to ourselves as we were there pretty late. The food was good! The river next to the hotel is nice too...I would recommend a quick walk around it and try to walk down to the water too. They also have a nice complimentary car to anywhere in downtown and all you have to do is give them a call if you want to be picked up from downtown too!

Overall, I'd stay at the Avalon again now that I know how to drive there :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed six nights at the Avalon Hotel in Portland. The hotel was rated four star, and I have no quarrel with that. There are several issues that should be considered before making reservations:

1. Finding it. The hotel's street address starts with a "0". GPS. MapQuest, etc. will drop the "0" and you will be directed to a residential area. Call the hotel for an alternate address.

2. The hotel is in the Southwest quadrant of the city. The location is not convenient to anything in Portland.

3. There is a $19 per day parking fee. Your car is parked in a large open parking lot across from the hotel.

4. The advertised free breakfast is juice, coffee, pastry & fruit. The same every day.

5. There is an Italian restaurant next door. There are very few other restaurants in the close by area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lake Forest Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Stayed at Avalon for 2 nights in the Riverview hotel room (1 king bed) with a nice balcony overlooking trees/water. The overall atmosphere was very quiet, serene, and relaxing; seemed better suited and catered to adults/retirees, not for families with young kids. The balcony overlooks the river and running trail, however the view could have been better if there weren't so many trees in a row, partially obstructing the view of the water. The hotel location is right outside of Portland Downtown, but with a rental car, it was very convenient to get to downtown for the nightlife (5-8 mins on easy side streets). There weren't any places to eat around the hotel (within walking distance), except the 1 restaurant that caters to the hotel, but drive out on the main road for a few miles and there's a few local places. No complaints about the bathroom amenities- seemed new and clean. Free Wi-Fi access in the room was available.

Typical complimentary breakfast (fruit/yogart, cereal, OJ/coffee, muffins/danishes) is located on each floor across from the elevator, but the food runs out fairly quick-- so get up early if you want the good stuff because the hotel doesn't replenish it when it runs out. (Tip: Try a different floor in the hotel if your floor runs out of food). We weren't too crazy about the expensive parking at the hotel- No self-park available, Valet Only ($16-18 a day). Seemed a little too expensive, especially since the hotel wasn't even located in downtown.

When we got home from our trip, we found the hotel had charged us twice by mistake. When we called the hotel, the front desk transferred us to the manager, who did take off the incorrect charge. However, not receiving much of an apology, they did say they accidentally charged us again for the room when the charge was supposedly meant for hotels.com (since that's where we booked the room from). Interesting...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittypie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,699 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 142 in Portland
1,934 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,795 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#23 of 142 in Portland
2,043 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Property: River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing