We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel, great staff and required some maintenance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great staff and required some maintenance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was closer to our relatives whom we were visiting. Located by the river, it was absolutely pleasant to take a walk in the early mornings. Our room and bathroom was massive and very clean. We also had a balcony facing the river and a European-style window/door which allowed fresh air into our room. The gym was of a good size and the spa treatments were heavenly. Our valets had recommended some excellent restaurants and gave us good directions to the various places we needed to visit. Check-in and front desk staff were also very warm.

The two issues we had was a leak from the air-conditioning and the hotel had kindly offered to change our rooms. We also had a clogged toilet which maintenance had promptly taken care of. We were settled in our room and hence decided to stay in the same unit for a few more days. We were also advised the hotel will undergo some renovations and updates in the near future. The beds were extremely comfortable for us.

The continental breakfast, although limited in variety had some excellent baked goods and fruits. It is not a place to meet and greet guests since there are only a few stools and tables. What we did was to pick up some items to bring up to our room upon returning from the gym. When we got really hungry, there is a mom and pop's restaurant called Café Du Berry up the street which serves the best breakfast items we have ever had in our travels (think hollandaise, grilled pacific salmon, eggs benedict...). There is also Starbucks a few blocks away. Their room service requires a mention - It was really good and the ingredients are locally resourced.

This hotel, although not in the heart of downtown, provided peace and tranquillity, which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Select a room with a balcony and facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sabsters,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community, we really appreciate your four star review.

I was wondering how long it takes to travel from Singapore to Portland. I guess you can tell me next time you visit your relatives and stay with us for another great stay in the City of Roses. Contact me directly, I will be very glad to assist you with your reservations arrangements.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    324
    118
    67
    36
See reviews for
196
370
73
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I last stayed here in 2006 with my wife, and it was a real treat then. I come to Portland several times a year and instead of staying by the airport thought I'd try the Avalon again, as a treat. I've been left wishing I had stayed near the airport.

Location remains as beautiful as ever by the river, and rooms as I remember then, lovely :-). But I was greeted with a $19 a day parking valet parking charge. Add in tips for every-time someone gets your car for you, and this becomes expensive. At least it is if you have not planned on it at the time of booking! Apparently it's in the small print online.

Breakfast was the last straw for me. No coffee in the early hours, and I'm up with jet lag needing coffee. At least I can get coffee 24/7 at the Red Lion by the airport. Then when breakfast is served it's limited (I know it's complimentary but one of the most limited I have seen in a long time), and served by the spa exit, with space for 4 people to sit. There is no option to buy breakfast, and the breakfast served is awful and I generally don't mind limited breakfasts. I was told I could sit at the back of a side room, under the stairs. So I made another trip to Starbucks and more tips for the car valet. I had expected this hotel to serve, and provide a full breakfast service, like it used to. Seems the change of ownership has led to the temporary breakfast area by an exit lobby.

Anyhow the desk manager has now comped my parking and explained the hotel has been owned by a bank whilst they sought new owners, which has just happened.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjasonclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Drjasonclark,

I really appreciate you took the time to share your experience of your recent stay; your feedback is of great value to us. Please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. I am providing my contact information in the event that you would like to reach out to me to discuss your feedback on your stay.


All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Overall a good value for the money. Because it's not near pioneer square the rate is much lower but there is a nice spa/gym with a jacuzzi and sauna/steam room (gender separated). The room was very clean, spacious and had a large bathroom. complimentary breakfast in the morning. There is a walking path nearby to walk along the Willamette river. The drawbacks of this place center around the fact that it appears this place is going through upgrades and renovations that are not yet complete. For example, the rooms still have the old tube televisions and the internet connection is rather slow and hard to connect to (a staff member told me they will be upgrading this soon). Other issues: parking is 19 dollars to valet and its your only option as there is no where else to park in the area and the front desk can be unresponsive, we had to call 5 times to get a rollaway bed. despite the drawbacks I felt it was worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UC_Caifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear UC_Caifan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate and value your feedback.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
ana.maret@riversedgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms were good, the staff was professional and capable and the location was quiet.

The only issue I had, which could be more a fluke, not one in 7 cabbies knew how to get to the damn place. No one had heard of it or knew where it was. Not sure if it was due to it recently being purchased at the time or what, but that was very irritating.

The hotel itself though, quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gideonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Gideonit,

It is great to read you found our staff professional and enjoyed our peaceful
location. Looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the River's Edge Hotel & Spa in Portland. The rooms were exceptionally clean, bright, and very nice. The bathroom was beautiful as well! The staff were very friendly, especially the valet parking attendants.

This is not a river view hotel though, so please be aware when you book. We stayed on the river side, but on the second floor, so all we really saw was trees. When we checked into the hotel we were right beside a massive noisy wedding party, so we went right back to the front desk, and they were very helpful and immediately switched us to a much quieter room. I would say though that the hotel overall is noisy, especially from the rooms beside and below/above. The front desk staff is very swift and understanding and deals with any noise issues immediately with out any questions asked.

We liked the valet parking, but it was not communicated to us that it was about $14 per night, so we were waived this fee because we were not told until checkout. The lady at the front desk said no problem and immediately waived the fee. This was appreciated, especially as valet seemed mandatory from our understanding. The complimentary breakfast was also satisfactory. From what we understood as well, there is no pool at the hotel, only steam room and hot tub complimentary through the spa.

The location is alright, you do need to walk about 5 minutes to a bus or street car route that takes you directly downtown. Next time we would forgo the need to stay by the river and just stay downtown. It's honestly much closer to all the fun and exciting things to see!

We had a good experience at this hotel, but we booked through hotwire.com and got a really good deal, otherwise I'm just not sure if its quite worth the regular rate. It is definitely a nice 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: River side rooms are not worth the price if you are really hoping for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rleeandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear rleeandrea,

Thank you for your four star review, it is very much appreciated. And thank you for mentioning the exceptionally clean accommodations and our very friendly staff. We really hope you reconsider and decide staying with us again; we are only located 2.5 miles south of downtown Portland, a 5 minute walk to the Street car. We would love to welcome you back!

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

"River's Edge Hotel" is named correctly. The hotel is located on the Willamette River and has rooms overlooking the river. Our room on the 1st floor had a balcony which directly did that. We could see (and hear) the many boats passing by. The room was large and very comfortable, as was the accompaning bathroom. We enjoyed the stay and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear rlwrisk,

We are on the edge of the Willamette River indeed. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our location and we can not wait until your return.

We hope you are enjoying the Summer!

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently spent two nights in Portland with my husband and five year old son with River's Edge as our "home base". We were very pleased with the experience overall, especially considering that we were given and upgrade to a spacious suite featuring a wrap-around river view balcony. We found the staff to be generally friendly and helpful, and enjoyed small perks like fresh fruit and refreshing infused water in the lobby. We took advantage of the free breakfast one of the two mornings; as complimentary hotel breakfasts go, it was quite good (I especially enjoyed that there were hard boiled eggs). The only downside of this property is that it's not in the world's most walkable location....but we knew that going into it, so prepared to mostly drive places (which wasn't an issue - we were able to find parking easily enough at each of our destinations). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

The entire team here at River’s Edge Hotel and Spa is really delighted to learn you and your family had a great stay and that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our suites and the amenities we have to offer.

We all wish you a great Summer!

Ana Maret
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#2 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Property: River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239-4245 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing