We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern and restful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was the second trip back to this hotel (although now it's under a new name, maybe ownership) since a celebratory trip a couple years ago with my husband here. I love how close to Portland you are, but you feel far enough away and the tram is just blocks away. This time back there was a lot more finished construction on the SW Waterfront area nearest the OHSU campus and we really enjoyed exploring that. It is a very short and fun walk around that urban and eco-friendly community on the water.

Valet parking is convenient the only thing offered at the hotel. The views from balcony rooms over the Willametter River are gorgeous, especially since the windows in the room facing it are floor to ceiling, which is what we experienced in our Hillside King room! Another fun treat is the flavored water in the lobby and spa areas. We really love how close the paved river trail is (literally just steps from the front door of the hotel) to enjoy the views and get some quiet time by the river (exercising or just taking a leisurely walk).

Unfortunately our trip ended unhappily with our brunch visit at their restaurant, Aquariva. We had a $40 voucher to use with our 2-night stay we purchased online so we decided to do it for the brunch so we could splurge on the Mimosa and Bloody Mary bar. We decided to get a little more tame of drinks (tea and coffee) and started out with water (distilled or sparkling were the options given by the waitress). It was unfortunate to find out (on the bill at the end of the meal) that sparkling water is not free as my husband's distilled water was. I would have liked a heads up on that or the menu. Besides a couple other unfortunate mistakes and ingenuine service by our waitress after an almost hour and a half in the restaurant (we would have liked to have cut that time by 30 minutes at least), our brunch was disappointing and we had wished it was not the last "taste in our mouth" before we left because overall our stay was wonderful! But as we mentioned this in our downtrodden voices to the hotel's front desk when checking out, we appreciated her apologizes for our experience at brunch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenoraFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear SenoraFo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your experience. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the gorgeous views from your room and the amenities that we offer.

I would like to apologize that you did not have a memorable experience at our restaurant, if time allows, would you please contact me?. I appreciate your feedback, and promise you we will use it to improve.


All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager
503.802.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We received a Travelzoo certificate for a 2 night stay at this hotel as a Christmas present, which we just used this past weekend. We really enjoyed ourselves! The staff were extremely nice, the view of the river was great (got a free upgrade), the workout facility and spa were also very nice. It's not very centrally located to downtown, although we took the trolley into town for dinner which worked out well. I should also mention the very popular running trail along the river, which made for a great Sunday morning walk. We would definitely stay here again, looking forward to next time already!

A couple of notes on the down side. The wifi was practically non-existent in our room, and even sporadic in the lobby. The continental breakfast is only so-so, and the restaurant on sight is hit and miss. We had Sunday brunch there on a bad day; it was only mediocre. On the other hand, their bloody mary and mimosa bar were an outstanding deal :-)

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Sonja K,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay. We definitely think the Bloody Mary and Mimosa Bar is outstanding and loved that you enjoyed it. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay.
We are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi system and hope to have the low signal strength corrected shortly. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were here celebrating my birthday and I have no regrets for picking this property over The Nines downtown PDX. The Riverside Suit was clean and modern with ample space. Every single staff member we encountered were genuinely polite and eager to assist if need be. We have spent a week at Trump Towers and the service and attentiveness here were by far the BEST we have ever had!! Excellent fitness center also... Only downfall is the location, kind of off the beaten path for coming from out of town however we know where The Rivers Edge is located at now and we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mscat9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear mscat9801,

Happy belated b-day! And thank you for your five star review, we all think your tagline rocks! We are very excited to know that you had a great time in our hotel, enjoyed your accommodations and received great service from our staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

You actually feel like you are in the country, far away from a city and as another writer mentioned you are only about 20 minutes from downtown on the tram. The walks along the river are wonderful, the room is great, the service is amazing and the Aquariva Restaurant next door is amazing for dinner and for happy hour. Have a chat with Shae - he is a great bar tender. Definitely would return and would recommend this to anyone visiting Portland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn7352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Dawn7352,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel and staff. Shae will be thrilled to hear you were impressed by his service.

We are really happy to know that you had an outstanding experience at River's Edge Hotel and Spa. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we do appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Portland

All the best,
Ana Maret
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We planned a rather hasty trip to Portland, and could only get a suite. That turned out to be absolutely wonderful. Great windows, patio, and view of the river. We're glad the trees were bare! The room was very comfortable with large sitting area and king sized bed next to the windows overlooking the river. The bath was large and really nice. Services provided by the hotel are prompt and friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Kathy B,

It is great to know you enjoyed your accommodations and views from your suite. Thank you for mentioning our helpful, friendly staff, and for your loyalty to River's Edge Hotel and Spa. Looking forward to your next stay

All the best,
Ana Maret
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

River's Edge is a bit further from downtown (but only about 3 blocks from free streetcar into town). Have to pay for parking ($20/night). Has free in-room wifi (I had a hard time connecting most of the time).
Average room, decor, services, etc. If you're looking for spa like retreat, I wouldn't recommend this place. But it's a decent stay when spending majority of you're time away from the hotel.
All in all, great option if you can get it for a great price and don't mind being outside of the main areas of town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8down80togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your February stay. We would very much like the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Regards,

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent desk staff. Upgraded room so we wouldnt need to switch on second night. Bathroom w sep tob/ shower was beautiful and spacious. View of river was lovely and we enjoyed the wall sized window.

If you take your time streetcar starts near hotel and ends at omsi. 15 bucks for cab is a time saver but the streetcar is fun and cheap if you have time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichellaCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversEdgeHotel, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you Michella for taking the time to review our property and for mentioning our excellent staff. Looking forward to your next visit.

Ana Maret
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,432 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239-4245 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $135 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing