We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at a local favorite”
Review of River's Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Living Social gave us a great deal to try out the Avalon Hotel and the Aquariva Restaurant and we loved both. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

I wish there were a rating between poor and average. This hotel doesn't deserve a poor but I also don't think of it as average. At check in we asked for a quite room. The staff said we were one room from the end and that we shouldn't have any trouble with noise. The room was THE closest to the elevator you could get. She was correct with saying it was the second from the last room, but this was a staff member who clearly didn't know the layout of the building, or just doesn't understand that their elevator dings. Second when we pulled out the tv to turn it to the bed, (I haven't been in a hotel that still has boxed tv's in a long time)the dust behind the tv and on the shelf was unreal. Housekeeping needs to do a better job. The view of the river through the tress was nice, but there is nothing to do there. It is to far from downtown to walk.There is no pool and the hot tubes are separate by gender. The continental breakfast was very good. Different breads, cereals, fruit, juice and coffee. The restaurant's happy hour was fantastic! Friendly staff, great bites with nicely priced drinks. We will go to the restaurant again.

Room Tip: As for a room on the north side of building since the elevator that dings is on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDFlipFlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Avalon Hotel and Spa. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

As I mentioned in my e-mail sent directly to you, I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Portland.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Avalon Hotel and Spa

Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We came here with a bridal party to do a girl's night! It was such a nice place - the staff was wonderful! We all got up and went and did Pedicures in our jammies! Loved it! Very relaxing with nice views of the river - it doesn't feel like you are in a big city.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Brooke H,

Thank you for your kind words. We love the views of The Willamette River, we are so fortunate with our location. Please do come and stay with us again soon,

Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent one night at The Avalon because we got a LivingSocial deal. We would most definitely stay again. Next time, I would like to try out the spa services. The restaurant was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alysia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Alysia S,

Thank you, we would love to see you back with us very soon

Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing on all levels. Wonderful staff that were so professional yet warm. We checked in a little late and were given a room on the first floor on the end. The room was lovely but we had hoped for something higher with more view. Mind you we were using a Living Social deal but I took a chance and asked if there was any other room we could upgrade to. Totally willing to pay for it. The Front desk young lady found us a bigger room and gave it to us with no extra charge! Making a birthday that more special without even knowing it till after the fact! I will come back and send everyone I know there. The restaurant and the hotel compliment each other perfectly. Aquariva Italian Kitchen also has amazing staff and awesome food. We had happy hour and dinner there it was that wonderful. Make sure to save room for dessert!

Room Tip: Riverside is beautiful with personal patios. Quiet and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear VonFab,

What a treat to read your review, It was a privilege to have been your choice of accommodations during your trip to Portland and we are looking forward so much to welcoming you back to The Avalon Hotel and Spa.

The staff appreciates your compliments of their service and on their behalf; I thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We just returned home from a three night stay at the Avalon in Portland. It's a lovely hotel and spa in a neat spot overlooking the river. Though it rained our entire stay, we did take advantage of the walking/running trail along the river. We really enjoyed having breakfast right on our floor, and it's far and above your typical "continental breakfast". The granola is hearty and very tasty...the pastries were "bakery status". Good coffee and juice as well. As many other reviews have mentioned, the only two things we would recommend changing: 1. Upgrade the TV's to flat screen. 2. Get rid of the valet parking. It is just ridiculous that the parking lot is right outside the front door, and the valet walks about 20 feet to grab the car (and then you feel obligated to tip him/her). Other than those two things, we will definitely stay again at the Avalon and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Heidi C,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Avalon Hotel and Spa from your recent visit, we appreciate that you enjoyed your accommodations and continental breakfast. We would like to take a moment to clarify for others that we understand the parking situation may be out of the ordinary, unfortunately we do not own those spaces, we rent them, thank you for your concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards,
Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The quiet luxury of the setting and the convenience of a full service spa make this an excellent place to escape.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janek1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,759 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,441 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel

Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239-4245 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $131 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect setting for your next Portland adventure, River's Edge is rooted in this vibrant Pacific Northwest city. We are energized by our location right alongside the mighty Willamette River, in the on-the-rise SoWa neighborhood. Our location makes us the perfect base from which to explore the city and surrounding areas, while our expert staff loves to offer their tips for enjoying nearby Downtown and beyond. Later, we'll welcome you back to enjoy a meal in our seasonal-fresh restaurant, a relaxing treatment in our spa, and some downtime in our comfortable rooms and suites. Thoughtful amenities like complimentary internet access make traveling a little easier, while upgraded perks like gas fireplaces and private furnished terraces make stays a lot more fun. And it’s all backed by views of the river and lush hillside—further reminders of our incredible location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your River's Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing