We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with a resonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #42 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nicely located hotel, with excellent price. We found the Avalon hotel to be a classy boutique hotel in a nice quiet area on the river. We would definitely stay again when we visit Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diatype1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
There are newer reviews for River's Edge Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

2miles from city center with a bike lane directly to the hotel. Allowed us to store our bikes in the room. Had a fabulous spa and gym if you're not too tired at the end of the day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevmclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at the Avalon. I will definitely be back and will recommend the property to others. I own an event planning company and I have a high level of expectation for customer service. Everyone that I dealt with at the property was helpful and friendly. Alixandra, Michael and Kristin all went out of their way to assist with whatever I needed...from restaurant suggestions to where I could buy knee highs close by! Thank you to all for making my short vacation a pleasure!!

The hotel restaurant is excellent and the service was wonderful. They went out of the way to accommodate my seating request and made sure I was served efficiently to meet my need to be out at a certain time.

I was able to use the spa during my stay. Again everyone was just great to deal with and my massage therapist was great! I wish I could remember her name. The spa is very nice and has sauna, whirlpool and a steam room. I've been to many spas and this one is a great value for the services offered.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Riverside. The mountain views are fine but the river view is best!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCauiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

A Euro-techno boutique hotel at a picturesque spot on the Willamette River. We felt the staff were pretentious and the modern furnishings hid some important shortcomings. The mattress on the king bed was broken down and anyone sleeping other than in the center was at risk of rolling onto the floor. The location is quite but not convenient to downtown Portland. Avoid the associated restaurant as the food is only average and the service on the evening we were there was unbelievably slow. When we mentioned the issue to the waiter we got back talk rather than an apology and/or a faster pace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

There are some excellent packages available including drinks or dinner at the hotel restaurant. Get a riverside room if you can - much nicer view!

I'm guessing the prices were a little more reasonable because of the (theoretical) distance from the downtown area, however it's no more than 3 blocks walk to the streetcar that takes you right into the city.

The restaurant was pretty great - a limited menu but what we had we great.

Room Tip: Get a riverside room if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The downtown hotels were sold out... we ended up on the outskirts, at a place we were unfamiliar with...turned out to be a Lucky Break! Actually it's a very nice boutique type hotel, about 100 rooms...and it's situated in a residential/industrial area overlooking the river. Because of the location, it was perfect at night to walk down to the tree lined banks of the river where there were bicyclists going by. There is a decent restaurant & bar that stayed busy into the evening...as well as a continental breakfast offered on each floor in the morning. At first they told us there were no two bed rooms available, but after I protested, the clerks were able to magically do some shuffling and find us a room to meet our needs. We were happy...and we got a suite with a sliver of a water view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Avalon for five nights in mid July. We were there to run a 1/2 marathon in nearby Dundee, OR. The staff was wonderful at the hotel and always willing to give us directions, answer our questions about the area, and gave us maps, etc. The spa was great and the exercise facility was amazing. It was probably one of the nicest fitness centers I have ever seen in a hotel/resort. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the river and the walking/biking path that ran along the river. It was a beautiful view. My only negatives about the Avalon would be the $19.00 per night valet fee to park our car. Also, we ate one night in their restaurant which was very nice and we were seated outside on the patio overlooking the river. The food was excellent - however, we thought it was very expensive. Other than that, I would definitely recommend the Avalon....the rooms were very comfortable and the staff was great! Would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schufly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,733 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,960 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $183 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing