We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of room location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Portland
State College, PA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beware of room location”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a standard chain hotel on a row of them close to the airport. Convenient if that's your objective. We arrived after 9 p.m. local time from the East Coast, very tired. Otherwise I might have immediately recognized we were given a bad room location and requested another. I think it was #113, but it was just off the lobby and right next door to the fitness center. As we were preparing for a much-anticipated sleep about 10 p.m., there was considerable noise from exuberant children outside the room. I went out to investigate and found a family checking in while their two small children tested the echo properties of the lobby. If we hadn't been so close to the lobby, it might not have been a problem. When I explained that the children were disturbing us when we wanted to sleep, the father responded that I "didn't look like I was trying to sleep" (not in my pjs?) and I should "chill out; take some medication or something." (I didn't scream at them, honest, way too tired for that and not my style.) I was so tired and so flabbergasted that the response wouldn't be, "We're so sorry; we didn't realize the children's sound was disturbing anyone." I know rude guests aren't the hotel's fault, but it sure gave us a bad taste for our first visit to the northwest. However, the room location was the staff's choice. The next night we were awakened at 4:50 a.m. by someone using an exercise machine located on the other side of the wall from our bed, even though the fitness center supposedly doesn't open until 6 a.m. The front desk did apologize for that and gave us breakfast vouchers for their lobby dining area (though we noticed that everyone in the area seemed to have the same voucher, possibly because it opened late due to Columbus Day holiday.) I wondered if we were given that room because we paid partly with points rather than cash. It could have been even worse if the pool (the other side of the fitness center) were operating, but it was not. There are also no decent restaurants nearby- the best we could find was a Red Robin. It was convenient enough for driving downtown and for visiting the Columbia River Gorge. I would probably stay here again if I needed a place close to the airport, but I would definitely beware of the room I was given.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you next to the lobby and fitness center!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reveiw. I apologize that your stay was not up to the standards that should be expected at our hotel. It must have been frustrating to receive such a response from other guests in the htoel. I am glad that our front desk staff did compensate you for the fitness room noise by giving you breakfast vouchers. Breakfast is $8.95 per person, but we do have quite a few guests that book the breakfast package that is offered and the Hilton Gold and Diamond members are offered free breakfast as part of the belonging to the Hilton Honors program.
I hope that you will come stay with us again so that we may give you the guest service that you deserve.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    204
    109
    56
    19
See reviews for
129
149
54
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buford, GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was nice. Had a good restaurant with good service. Rooms were nice but could have been better taken care of. Bed slept horrible. 3 lights were out. My remote did not work and my ac was broken. Overall o would stay again but will double check my room before I commit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. I am glad that you did like our hotel but was disappointed to see all the problems that you had with your room. That is unexcusable! I sincerely apologize for your frustrations and hope that it was reported to the front desk before you left so that we could get the issues fixed.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will return!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel was nice. My door to room did stick, however, I never advised the staff. I did however have to change my stay due to work and be gone one day in middle of trip. On the last day because I made the change I was charged nearly double what I was charged for the other days of stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I apologize for the frustration that you feel with the rate change. I did look into the change and it was only a $10 difference. I am wondering if it is the authorization amount that you are looking at, which should be released any day by your bank. I am hoping that this is the case, for we never want our valued guests to feel like they are being over charged and be dissatisfied!
I do appreciate you staying with us and hope that this all works out and we will see you next time that you are in Portland!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay, the bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and smelt clean. Bathroom was clean, only problem I had was water pressure wasn't the greatest but I dealt with it! The room stayed cool the whole night with the AC. I will definitely stay at this Hilton again! I was very satisfied with my time at the Hilton Garden Inn

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport was the perfect choice. Close to the airport, quiet, and clean. I had a room adjoining with my sister and brother-in-law's room, and that was convenient. We all enjoyed the staff, who were courteous and friendly. We had an employee discount for our rooms from a relative who works for Hilton, which does not typically include the free breakfast, but we were comped it anyway. And the breakfast was wonderful--hot and tasty and lots of choices. It was a comfortable and relaxing overnight stay in Portland.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms for family (or friends!). Very convenient. I'm sure all hotels must ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you next time that you are in Portland!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

HIlton Garden Inn is great in that they're consistent. Clean rooms, good service. The Portland Airport location is no exception.

Please be warned though. Due to the Columbia river there are no gas stations very close. If you have a rental, fill up the night before. Also there are not a ton of restaurants close by. Cascade station has a few, but mainly bar food type items (wings, burgers). Be prepared to drive to get a decent restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your reveiw. I did want to let you know that they have just opened a 7-11 right off Airport Way on the way to the Airport that has a gas station. We are all excited about this because as you said it was previously such an inconvenience for our guests.
Cascade station does have quite a bit of casual restaurants which is nice but for anything more upscale our Guest Service Agents are more than happy to give you some suggestions.
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Best value, park & fly. Quiet location, great service, clean, comfortable. What else do you need before starting your vacation. Shuttle both ways was great. Our flight was delayed and the shuttle arrived promptly on our late return to PDX. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaLaurie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice reveiw!
See you next time you are flying out of PDX!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#46 of 142 in Portland
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Address: 12048 Northeast Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Portland
#43 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#49 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing