We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel nearest to OHSU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #33 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Large multistory all suite hotel with full kitchens, interior corridors and quick elevators. One of the better Residence Inn properties. Rooms are spacious and very clean, but furnishings are dated (big tube rather than flat screen TV), and bed sagged a bit. Overall, however, quite comfortable. Large multi-level garage (gated to room key) cost $24/day - a bit more than the full service Marriott downtown. Location is away from downtown at bottom of hill from downtown near river - not near anything. The only restaurant within walking distance is a McCormick & Schmick, and there are no stores nearby. A light rail immediately outside of hotel will take you either downtown or to the OHSU outpatient clinics, where an aerial tram can take you to main campus/hospital on top of the hill. Free hotel shuttle can take you too, but was already booked for the entire week on arrival for another group. so we could not use. Free breakfast was one of the best at any Marriott property I have been at, and customer service is stellar. Overall a nice Residence Inn - could be 5 stars if they updated their rooms. Location is great for OHSU but not downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 745 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

Great Hotel..Lots of room. Nice free breakfast, always coffee in lobby, close to riverwalk to enjoy,but far enough away sleep. Under bridges but you'd never know it inside. Great friendly staff that always greet you with a smile and offer helpful advise about Portland. Easy travel to and from hotel and streetcar just outside the door. $24 for parking but so is everyone else downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlawson49680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our business and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace while you were visiting downtown Portland. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel has the services from transportation around downtown to grocery. The staffs are excellent in their services. In addition, the hotel provide homemade breakfast that bring variety of choices everyday. They also have a theme for each day and provide light tea and snack for their customers as a part of complimentary services. This really make me feel like home, i have friendly stuff that willing to make me feel welcome and their never ending services that make me feel important.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Dear 28Moo,
We appreciate your 5-star rating of our hotel! Service is our priority and we're glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at Residence Inn RiverPlace. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel for 5 years for the marathon. We have logged more than 8 stays of more than 3 nights at the Riverplace Residense Inn. It was a great value at $139 for a 1 BR but it is not clean and looking tired. The staff USED to be accommodating and friendly - but recently have become uncaring and complacent about customer service. The residence inn brand has rooms with kitchens but poor service. This hotel is not downtown but adjacent to the free downtown transit and street car. It is very convenient and the hot breakfast is worth staying for. We were pleased that the hotel allowed our dogs to stay- at an additional fee but the other patrons were a bit unhappy about the number of dogs at this hotel over the weekend. We will NOT be staying here again when we travel to the marathon next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadaKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Dear Canadakids,
Thank you for sharing insight regarding your stay in 2010. We hope you will consider giving us another try. We now have a floor dedicated to a pet-free environment, which was something that was really needed given the reviews from travelers not wanting to be around pets. It has been a huge success! Our staff service scores are currently rated in the top 100 of the brand so we know you won't be disappointed next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The staff are great, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast buffet is HUGE. They are also pet friendly which always ranks high with me. I stay here every other week and I love it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvfreeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear kvfreeman1,
Thank you for your 5-star rating in all aspects of your stay with us at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace! We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Residence Inn on RiverPlace has everything you could want. Great rooms, pool, gym, and wonderful breakfast. The location is the best BUT you had better love lots of dogs. At one point three large dogs (one being an unmuzzled) Pit Bull were in lobby barking at one another. Another day, a dog was left unattended in the room and barked most of the day. A third time, two large dog got into in the lobby. In addition, there were lots of small and medium size dogs coming in and out of the Hotel. I wonder how much of the wet dog hair is removed from the rooms.
By the way, the elevators smelled of dogs. The hotel should require all dogs be muzzled in the public areas. Sorry, I wouldn't return to this hotel until they limit their "dog friendly policy". This hotel is going to smell like a dog house before long.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shulld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Dear shulld,
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay back in 2010. Since your last visit 4 years ago, we have dedicated a floor of the hotel (36 rooms) to be entirely pet-free. Since you found the service top-notch and the amenities plentiful during your stay we hope you'll consider coming back the next time you visit downtown Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We have stayed here twice with my family (my family of four, my parents, grandparent, brother family) and also our extended family (26 of us). It is a really nice hotel with connecting rooms which were needed for us with so many kids and families. We always get the two room suites which are great and have a little kitchen, sitting area and rooms with bathrooms. It works out great for nap time and eating in if needed Everything was very clean and service very fast when asking for more towels and pillows. My husband and I love that breakfast is included and it is a very nice set up and lots of food to pick from (eggs, waffles, cereal, juices, coffee, fruit, ect.). The kids and cousins enjoyed the pool and the street car (which picks up right in front of the hotel). It was great to jump on the street car to tour around the beautiful city with out having to pay and park. Easy to get on with strollers too. The hotel staff is very nice and personable. They were great when asking for kid friendly places to eat and things to do (I highly recommend the Old Spaghetti Factory and the Children's Museum). When we were there last year for a funeral and had over 20 of us there they were very sweet and let us use the computer area to print out programs. I love the area of this hotel and seeing the water and many bridges. We will stay here again when we visit the Portland area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHX-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Dear PHX-PDX,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $143 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing