We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place to stay for Families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Suites offer a comfortable place to stay for families. Hotel is near the free trolley and easy to access. Hotel is also near some restaurants. The complimentary breakfast has a lot of variety. Most of our family found the hotel to be quiet, but one guest did notice the freeway noise. The hotel is not necessarily in a hip part of town, but we stayed there because we needed space for two families. The hotel is not near the airport, our cab ride was about $40, something we were not aware of since we had been told (by hotel staff) that the ride would be about $20. Everyone in our family liked the hotel and would stay there again in Portland, or other locations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanoreE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear EleanoreE,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace in 2010. We look forwarding to serving you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    243
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
258
155
30
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Location for hotel was great. With a streetcar stop right across the street and free transit service (located in free fare zone), the transporation options took care of themselves. BTW, I wouldn't suggest anyone rent a car in Portland as the parking in the central city and surrounding neighborhoods are hard to find. Use transit - as all the locals do.

Hotel was spacious and clean as I have come to expect from Residence Inn's, my preferred hotels when traveling with wife and two kids under 10. Plenty of space in the room, two TVs and a seperated bedroom.

Free breakfast is a plus. Swimming ppol is enclosed and was clean. Another plus was the swimming pool was visiable from the fitness center so you can workout while keeping an eye on the kids in the pool. A negative was the pool closed at 11pm which is too early for vacationers in my opinion.

My complaint with the hotel: the view I was given was poor. Whenever I reserve and check into a hotel my first request is to be provided a great view. The view from my room in this hotel had to be the worst in the building - a view of the roof and a highway. Oh, I could see the river if I pressed against the wall and looked at an angle.

At checkin I was told the view was "decent." After I stepped into the room and looked out the window I immediately called back down and asked for a better view and was told no rooms with better view were available. Whoa... hard to believe in the 250+ room hotel that I checked into at 4:30pm on a Thursday that there were no better roomviews available. More frustrating was that I booked this hotel requesting a "view" six months earlier.

I was told I could call back the next day and they would see if a better room was available What?!? So, I'm to stay packed up for a night on the hope that I can load up my family's belongings then move the next afternoon. Not my idea of a fun family vacation. I passed. This experience made what should have been a nice hotel stay a mentally frustrating one for me.

In sum, if you care less about your view should you stay here? Go for it. It's a nice hotel. But I'll probably be checking into a hotel with a better confirmation system.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear dubnation,
Thank you for sharing comments surrounding your stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace in 2010. We're glad to know that you found the hotel clean and the service wonderful. Please come give us another try and we'll do our best to ensure you have a room with a better view. We aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

OK, I am a fan of Residence Inn, in general, and of this one in particular. Clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious suites. Top notch staff, except for one un-smiling housekeeper. Good breakfast. Great pool for kids. Unknown @ arrival but a BIG PLUS, this hotel is immediate to a trolley stop; perect for traveling the city without having to drive in unfamiliar territory. A big A+ overall!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear alwaysamber,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stay at this Residence Inn RiverPlace about 20-25 days a year for the past couple of years. It is a great location right down on the river. The service is always top of the line and the property is allows well kept. The pool is treated with salt rather than chlorine which makes it quite pleasant since it doesn't smell or burn your eyes. The breakfast each morning is quite enjoyable and very good. The fact that the place has two bedroom suites makes it stand out for us since we usually have grandkids staying with us when we are there. It's awful hard to find two bedroom suites at most hotels.

I guess my main complaint is the extremely uncomfortable strange shaped couches and the fact that the suites don't have flat screen HD TV's. The couches have a sloping back that is not very comfortable to sit on. All the rooms have the extremely large old style tube TVs that take of lots of room and after getting use to flat screens are not pleasant to watch. The AC can be loud at times and the $21 parking fee is quite extreme I think. Couple these things with the standard price and it makes this location right on the edge of being overpriced but as I said earlier we can't find other hotels with two bedroom suites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigslamntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We're glad to know that you enjoyed our waterfront location in downtown Portland. We appreciate the fact that you chose Residence Inn RiverPlace for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The NW
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

The location right across the river from OMSI made this very convenient for us. The hotel is clean, everything seems to run smooth, breakfast was decent and had a lot of choices. The only noise we heard was from unattended children running up and down the halls, but hotel staff said if that's an issue, they will take care of it. One of the elevators was down for a time while we were there which caused huge lines and a long wait. Keep in mind, you have to pay for parking in the garage and it can add up after a few days.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear NWTravelingFam,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace in 2010. My apologies that you experienced long waits with the elevator out of service for a short period of time. We look forwarding to serving you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

What a wonderful surprice. I'm in the hotel industry, and consider myself hard to please. but this place was just right. Friendly staff, great product, location at its best...and pet friendly. Way to go guys keep up the great work.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyguy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear happyguy1971,
We appreciate your time and feedback! Thank you for staying at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We are frequent visitors to Portland and love to stay at the Residence Inn because of the friendly staff, river front location and downtown convenience. The area is great for walking and has a streetcar stop nearby for longer trips uptown. We have stayed many times at this location and have never been disappointed by the clean rooms and well stocked and staffed breakfast buffet which features standard hot and cold offerings as well as a Japanese breakfast with rice and miso. On this trip we brought our 60 pound dog with us. We were thrilled with the low dog rate - $10 per night and the friendly greetings at check-in. Since the location is surrounded by parkways it is a great place to walk a dog take in the river views.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear sitesea,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing