We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your bike!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #36 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite in June prior to attending a conference at a different downtown hotel. We were at this hotel for 2 nights.

We were generally pleased with the hotel. We liked the quiet location (except for the drone of the highway) and the access to the riverside trail down to the park. We were wishing for our bikes as we watched countless happy people trekking down the riverside trail.

The staff was outstanding - taking the time to help us map out destinations in town. They even offered us an umbrella when we were headed out and it looked like rain.

Pros:
- Wonderful suit set up. Very well-thought design.
- Clean rooms
- Bathroom sink is separate from the shower / toilet area
- Full kitchen amenities
- Funky/Fun couch (my wife loved sitting there to read)
- Very nice assortment to choose from at breakfast
- Quick access to free trolley (last stop in fareless square)
- VERY courteous and helpful staff.

Cons
- Only a few restaurant choices nearby. Maybe a 5 minute walk.
- Some rough-looking areas (still under development?) just outside the hotel
- River view from room may include a close-up of the highway.
- Highway noise (constant drone) throughout night
- No easy stair access to main floor. We were on 3 and HAD to take elevators because stairs deposited you outside on a fire rescue platform with no return entry to the building.
- Only 2 elevators caused for long waits at breakfast time and around check-in/check-out time.
- No free parking - tho the attached parking deck clearly belongs to the hotel.

Overall we'd consider staying here again if coming to visit with our bikes. Otherwise, we'd be more inclined to consider a more central-downtown location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg_Dianne_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear Greg_Dianne_Mc,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We're glad to know that you enjoyed our waterfront location in downtown Portland. We appreciate the fact that you chose Residence Inn RiverPlace for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 749 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2009

Great summertime stay in downtown Portland .. walked to the Rose Festival.. and all over downtown, happily returning to our quiet hotel location for the manager's reception and lovely breakfast in the morning. Great rooms - love having a kitchen , feels more like home. Pool area nice.. clean.. fitness center the same.. really enjoyed having the free trolley right outside the hotel door; also provided is a shuttle service (we did not use, but overheard people discussing at breakfast that they arranged for transportation to the Zoo/Rose Garden.. all complimentary) Walkable to various nice restaurants -- McCormick/Schmick.. Stanfords Steak House.. Newport Seafood Grill on the water.. etc. Very nice, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharmernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear pharmernicole,
Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our business and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace while you were in Portland. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was a memebr of a group visiting the medical center. The location of the hotel is great. You actually do not need much transportation. The street car (light rail) is right in front of the hotel and it is free. We took the tram (air lift cable car) to the medical center for a nominal fee. It was a wonderful ride. The hotel is also right on the river with tons of choices for food. The river walk itself was fantastic. Rooms were great and spacious. Windows are triple classed and you hardly hear the highway noice. Free wireless internet and free expanded breakfast. Front desk staff were very helpful. The only disadvantages are the absence of flat screen TV and the number of homeless on the river bank during the night. However, we felt safe walking around.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasMte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2014

Dear Texasmte,
Thank you for your review and for rating Residence Inn RiverPlace 5 stars for service and cleanliness! We look forward to your future return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was a great hotel for the value:
A short walk to the downtown area, close to the water.
The free breakfast was fantastic, although the lobby was packed with guests and it was tough to get a table.
A nice, clean room with updated bathroom counters and shower.
The hotel is VERY pet friendly (which can either be a good or bad thing for you). It seemed like every guest had a dog with them.
The elevators were extremely slow (they only have 2).
The parking charge ($21 per night) seemed a bit steep.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gt5309a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This hotel was more than adequate for our needs. The room was spacious, modern, clean and quiet. What more could you want? The free breakfast had choices galore, and the neighborhood had many, many restaurants within walking distance. We had an excellent meal at Veritable Quandary--rated well on Trip Advisor. Free trolley across the street. Would stay here again in a minute! Great $45 price on priceline.com. Parking is $21, but places on the street (ours was a couple blocks away......)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Dear DTgundy,
Thank you for the review of your stay with Residence Inn RiverPlace in 2009. We receive high marks regarding our complimentary breakfast buffet and are glad to know that you had a positive experience. We hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I rarely leave poor reviews-- check out my history and I almost always give the benefit of the doubt. But this time...

Check-in was cold and unfriendly (she couldnt smile if it killed her) and unresponsive, even though we were polite and friendly. We were given 1 bed for 3 people, and when we asked they would not give us a room with 2 beds. 1 of us slept on sofa. Upon arrival we were told that parking is $21/nt. At 10pm we were hostage to their parking, as it was not possible to find a private lot. The next day, it was clear there are no other parking options near the hotel. The location is on the outside edge of downtown and is not walking distance to anything. The free trolly stops outfront, but is inconvenient and does not run at all hours. Therefore, we paid for parking and for taxis.

On the bright side, the hotel is newer and the rooms are spacious with kitchenettes. A nice pool, whirlpool and gym are free to use, and a hot breakfast is provided in the lobby in the morning. There was also free wireless.

Nonetheless, mostly due to the poor reception and location, we had such a bad experience that we checked out early. We then checked into a hotel in downtown proper, parked in a private lot for $4, then walked and enjoyed the rest of our stay.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
2  Thank mjgriffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear mjgriffy,
We highly value your feedback regarding your stay in 2009. Our location at the South end of downtown Portland (South Waterfront) is not in the middle of town but it is impossible to find a waterfront location that would be in the middle of downtown. We know location is everything and depends on the itinerary of our guests and the purpose of their stay. Regardless of the location, you should always expect and receive professional and courteous service. My apologies that this was not your experience at our hotel. We'll do better next time. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

As part of a large group of bicycle riders, we stayed here for two nights before riding our bikes from Portland to Seattle in March 2009. The room for two was large and full of features that would have made for an even longer stay. I would reccomend this place to someone who was going to be in Portland for a week or more, or someone in town for the night. The location is within walking distance of boutiques, a harbor and the financial district.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $142 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing