We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation for 5 in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington state
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for 5 in Portland”
Reviewed April 6, 2009

My spouse and I travelled to Portland with our two children and his mother for a quick trip. I reserved a two bedroom suite at the Residence Inn that slept six as it was far more cost effective than reserving two rooms elsewhere.

Check-in was fast and efficient. Luggage carts are provided to help you move bags to your room. On reaching our floor, I tried both key cards only to find that neither one would open the door to our room. A hotel employee (manager?) happened to be on the house phone on our floor and called to me that he could assist me. After asking the front desk over the phone for the name of the party checking into our room, he asked me to provide our name to confirm that the names matched. I appreciated this security check. He then tried both key cards and when they failed to open the door, let us into the room with his master key and offered to take our key cards and have them properly activated. He returned promptly with working key cards and even took our luggage cart back down to the lobby for us. Great service that I have not encountered at higher end hotels!

The suite was very spacious and nicely appointed. A king bedroom and a queen bedroom each had a sink in the room and a separate toilet and shower. Kitchen and bathroom counters are granite, as are the bathroom showers. The kitchen featured a full size fridge, oven and dishwasher, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom vanity had drawers, which would be great for a longer stay when you get tired of your toiletries cluttering the counter.

The staff was uniformly excellent, greeting us from the front desk when we returned to the hotel, and cheerfully refilling the excellent complimentary breakfast buffet the next morning. My daughter accidentally dropped an empty taco shell she was going to fill and as I bent to pick up the broken pieces, an employee promptly and politely shooed me away and whisked the mess up off the floor. I felt the staff truly cared about their guests and took tremendous pride in their work.

All in all, with the wonderful service, spacious accommodation and proximity to public transportation, I would recommend the Marriott Residence Inn/RiverPlace without hesitation. One caveat – if you are not a dog lover, this may not be the hotel for you. I saw more dogs walking through the lobby than you might encounter at your local park!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Shaunavd,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    252
    71
    15
    10
See reviews for
267
162
30
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kootenays,BC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

As most people have already commented this is an excellent hotel in this price range. We were travelling with our dog and they are pet friendly. The area is perfect with the riverfront trail right outside. Also the free trolley to downtown (can't use with pets obviously). The rooms are nicely decorated with a great full kitchen and everything was very clean. Although we were fairly close to the overpass the noise was minimal and I am a light sleeper.
The breakfast was excellent for a free buffet and the service was wonderful with clean up, refilling food etc.
Parking is expensive and there is not much street parking in the area but we did luck out and get a metered spot out front the three night's and all day sunday that we were there .
There are only 2 elevators and they were usually quite busy and the stairs are strange not going all way to lobby so not user friendly.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kootenai-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our business and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace while you were visiting downtown Portland. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We got a killer deal on priceline for $42 on a Sunday night. We were a little surprised to find parking was $21, but easily got a street spot right across from the entrance and ended up only paying $3.80 for the meter.
Check in was bumpy. We got there at 3:55 and they couldn't give us a room (wasn't guarantee until 4). 25 minutes later and after helping everyone else in the lobby, we asked about an available room. The guy acted like he had never seen us before. We were given a key and when we got upstairs there was maintenance equipment inside. Back downstairs and received an "upgrade" to a balcony suite (overlooking an industrial area and highway).
Good location. Seems like more stores will be moving down that way. Comfy beds. Relatively quite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Ambria,
We appreciate your time and feedback! Thank you for staying at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, USA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Bid $65/night on priceline.com was accepted for 5 night stay. Room was large, full kitchen, sitting & sleeping areas. Bed very comfortable, plenty of pillows. Good TV. WiFi in room. Great free breakfast buffet hot & cold food. Small convenience shop in lobby. Good exercise room, pool, hot tub. Downtown trolley located at door. Excellent rerstaurants within short walking distance. Free hors d'oeuvres on 3 nights (M,T,W).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We have stayed here many times. Quality is consistently good. Excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, very pet friendly. Probably the best value is the location. They are right on the streetcar line, which takes you easily to University, shopping district, library, art museum, etc - all for free! (hotel and attractions are within Portland's very progressive "fareless square" for mass transit).

This hotel is highly recommended. Not the cheapest option downtown, but by far the best value. Check out the Portland Visitor's Association site (www.pova.org) for great deals on this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear rowriver,
Your opinion matters and it validates how hard our team works to take care of our guests. Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace. We can't wait to see you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed here for a gymnastics meet. When I checked in, they handed me a map with directions to the site of the meet. The room was large and spotless, the breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful. The bed was just a little uncomfortable but the children slept like logs in their bed. There is a streetcar stop right outside the hotel and it's free within the downtown area so getting around Portland was easy.

  • Liked — Room size, great service
  • Disliked — comfort of the bed
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank montmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

This is a newer Residence Inn and well designed. The rooms are oversized and the bed is incredibly comfortable. The complimentary breakfast buffet was really good and its within walking distance of most of downtown Portland. A great place to stay and enjoy the city !

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear NCTraveler245,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing