We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$223
$191
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
$212
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dossier Hotel(Portland)
$180
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Lane Suites & Inn(Portland)(Great Value!)
$169
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
406
271
81
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
271
81
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronald mcdonald housestreetcar stopthe river walkfull kitchenbedroom suiteriver placebreakfast staffpool and jacuzziwillamette riverthe breakfast areaoatmealpull out couchstreet parkingfree breakfastparking feesmall kitchenper night
Filter
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 789 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We got the king suite w/sofa bed. The room was equipped with a full sized frige, microwave, & two burner electric range. We were on the 7th floor. The hotel was pretty quiet. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet in the morning. There is a streecar stop right at the hotel and if you're going to venture out in downtown Portland, there is no cost to ride. We caught the train from the airport then the streetcar over to the hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly. We arrived at noon and asked could we check in early and they let us.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hiker114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Dear Hiker114,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Spent two nights here in October. Very nice room. Had a good deal on a suite. It was almost like a small apartment with a full kitchen, including all the dishes you would need. Pool and spa area was spacious and super clean. Gym was very modern and up to date. The breakfast served in the morning is complete with eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, cereal, waffles, biscuits and gravy. Hotel is close enough to walk to a couple of fish houses down in the RiverPlace. The streets are tricky in the area and it's easy to miss. Hotel is basically under I-5. Parking is self-parking in an on-site garage, unfortunately it costs an extra $21 per day. I've stayed at the waterfront Marriott in Portland before and I preferred this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank packman8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Dear packman8484,
We appreciate your time and feedback! Thank you for staying at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

My girlfriend and I came down to spend a long weekend in Portland from the 22nd of August to the 24th. There was a huge evangelical fair of some sort in town that weekend, so ALL hotels and B&Bs were booked up.

So went with this one. And I am so glad I did. Checking-in was hassle free, and took about 2 minutes. The room was standard 1 bedroom king size, but was fantastic. Balcony, a fridge to store our liquor and leftovers, a couch, and a tv. We payed the $20 for parking, which was right beside the side entrance, and very convenient. You could also park a few blocks away, there are a couple of private parking garages. The hotel is about a 2 minute drive to downtown, and our cab fair to go out on Saturday night was less than $6 each way. The only problem we encountered is that our card didn't work when we returned early Sunday morning from the bars, but we got buzzed in and the problem was taken care of quickly.

Location was not in the heart of downtown, but pretty close. The view was great, and the place was not noisy at all. Many reviews said that the location was terrible because of an empty lot and the I5 overpass that's 2 blocks away, but we barely noticed those as it was nice and quite with no construction. The tram is right outside the front doors, so if you're willing to ditch the car, you're in luck.

Breakfast was AMAZING, they had everything from fresh fruit and yogurt to homemade waffles and pancakes. Definitely worth getting up for. Overall great hotel, terrific service, would come back next time I'm in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JFresh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We thought this hotel would be more in the heart of downtown. It is on the edge and you have to walk or take the free street car (stops across the street) to really get to the heart of downtown. Has some restaurants nearby and is on the river. It is below the freeway but the hotel is well insulated and very quiet. Excellent manager's reception with great snacks and pretty good Oregon wines and beer. The breakfast buffet was exceptional even for Marriott standards. Friendly and attentive staff. $21/night to park the car.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My cousin was to make his first trip to the West Coast from the midwest this past May, and he wanted to stay up in Portland. Decent Hotels at a reasonable price can be hard to find in the downtown Portland area (A dumpy Holidays Inn can run 100 bucks a night). So we did some research and found this hotel, located in the new "river place" development in the Southwest corner of downtown. All I can say about this place is WOW. Especially at $134 a night (before taxes and not including parking).

This hotel is located right on the Willamette river and on the edge of the Tom McCall waterfront park. There are nice, affordable restaurants within walking distance and the Portland Street car (Which is FREE in the downtown area) stops right out in front of the Hotel.

We had a one bedroom suite and it was excellent. The pool was very nice and very clean. The continental breakfast was nicer than most restaurants breakfast menu. The best I have ever seen by far. The staff was very friendly and professional. Everything about our stay there was terrific. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank light_sleeper68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Dear light_sleeper68,
We appreciate your 5-star rating of our hotel! Service is our priority and we're glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at Residence Inn RiverPlace. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews