We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #29 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 11, 2008

When I was driving up to the residence inn, I didn't think the hotel looked that great, but when I got to my family's room, I began to rethink. I soon found out that every room was a suite. ours, just like every room was huge, with a kitchen, bathroom,living room,and 1 king-size bed and a couch bed. Every day for breakfast, there was food galore! Much more than your typical Hampton Inn breakfast. Also, the rooms have a bowl of free mints each. On the second floor, there's a pool and a whirlpool. the pool is easier on your eyes if they're without goggles, or with.There's a laundry station on the second floor also, where you can do your laundry. the employees are very nice, and the Residence Inn is right at the head of the river walk, and it's an easy walk to the waterfront park. all I can say now is... AWESOME!

Theo, age 10

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AdmissionReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear AdmissionReady,
Thank you for your 5-star rating in all aspects of your stay with us at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace! We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 742 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2008

This hotel is right beside the 5 freeway. It looks as if the freeway bridge comes within about 20 ft of the hotel. There is a bus stop close to the hotel that will take you into town in about 15 minutes free.
The breakfasts were not good.
This would be a good hotel for business but not tourists.
The staff at the front desk were ok.
Too expensive when you add in tax and parking. I would look around for better value.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adavidson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear adavidson2,
We appreciate your time in sharing comments regarding your stay in 2009. Since our hotel is along the river that also means that we are near bridges but our rooms facing the bridge have triple-pane windows and we often get comments regarding how surprisingly quiet the hotel is. I also understand that the additional fees for taxes and parking do add up and know that everyone has a budget. Thank you for giving us a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Pros: service, rooms, breakfast.

Cons: location, expensive parking

I pricelined this room for about $60. I am not picky, just needed somewhere to crash in PDX that didn't cost an arm and a leg.

I was not overjoyed when I saw the location - it's located in a newly developed part of Portland where everything seems all JambaJuice/Borders/Starbuck-y. Know what I mean? But, it is very close to a MAX line, so it's all good.

However, I was totes overjoyed when I opened the door to our room. It was more like a small apartment than a hotel room. In fact, I have lived in an apartment that was smaller than the hotel room. It was all more than I needed since I was just staying for the night; but I imagine that it would be awesome if you were (a) staying with kids, or (b) staying for more than a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank legalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel. (We had stayed at the Hotel Vintage Plaza earlier in the week.) We booked the room through travelportland.com and received a package that was good for the date we stayed as Portland was pretty much fully booked. We paid $209 with free parking. Normally we book directly with the hotel. When we tried to check in, we were told our room was not ready. We waited for a while in the lobby and saw other people checking in with no problem. When my husband went back to the front desk and told them that we had received a voicemail from the Marriott downtown that they had a room available, suddenly they had a room ready. I suspect that they were planning to give us a less desirable room due to the discount package. As it turned out, we had a nice room with a river view. We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again. The negatives included a noisy refrigerator with the sound of the ice maker emptying and refilling all night, no luggage stand, and the bed adjacent to bathroom vanity with no door to block the light. I'm not a fan of free continental breakfast buffets, but this one was above average.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank east12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Dear east12,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace in 2008. I'm glad that you were impressed with the river view from your suite and that you found the breakfast buffet pleasing. We look forwarding to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

This is a fantastic value for downtown Portland. I really like that it is right on the riverfront, and the pool is very enjoyable. The breakfast is 1st rate (and free). The staff is friendly and really seem to enjoy their jobs. This is a much better value than the other Marriott located nearby. The only drawback was the cost of parking, but that's what you get when you stay downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rooster_Whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Dear RoosterWhisperer,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed at this hotel just one night at the end of a trip, and found it relaxing. The suite was compact but comfortable and quiet. Great bed. Easy to control the room temperature. The free breakfast was good--lots of breakfast food options.

If you want a classy lobby, etc, this isn't the place. We stayed at Embassy Suites Downtown Portland earlier in the week, and that had the beautiful lobby, larger suite, more convenient location, etc, but it also cost quite a bit more. Residence Inn, in contrast, feels more functional than pampered. But it does its job well and seems like a decent deal.

The one thing that is important to know is that the hotel is way at the south end of downtown, by the waterfront. If you don't mind taking the streetcar, which stops right near the hotel, you can get anywhere easily. But if you want to be able to stroll to department stores and the Pearl District, this one would not be a good choice. There are a handful of decent restaurants nearby, on the waterfront, but the selection is limited.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NPJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear NPJ50,
Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our business and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace while you were visiting downtown Portland. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Stayed for 1 night in June. Overall, hotel has great location near the river and streetcar stop. There's also many riverfront restaurants nearby within walking distance.
Rooms were large and clean (we had a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen). While the facilities were very nice, I thought it was a bit pricey for a chain hotel (we paid a base rate of $284). With parking (self park at $20 a night) and taxes added in, it was well over $300.
I didn't check out many other area hotels so maybe this is typical for Portland. The hotel location and amenities were nice enough that I didn't mind paying the price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Metsfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear Metsfan5,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We're glad to know that you enjoyed our waterfront location in downtown Portland. We appreciate the fact that you chose Residence Inn RiverPlace for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $145 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing