We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Residence Inn Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #30 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer property located on the outside of downtown Portland, providing easy access to anywhere in the city. We had two different rooms there and I feel the staff went above and beyond to accommodate guests, while being very friendly. The rooms were nice but had some issues that should have been fixed-although nothing major, just in need of maintenance. The breakfast and evening social were good, but fell short of other Residence Inn properties. The staff failed to keep the food stocked and fresh, and although they were friendly, were painfully incompetent in terms of ensuring a clean well stocked area and communicating with guests. The food temperature varied widely, the dishes that were "clean" had left over food debris and coffee grinds on and in them. The property was clean other than that. The beds in the room were above what most other limited service Marriott brands have, providing outstanding comfort and clean, crisp linens. The chairs and sofas in the rooms were dated and worn but they put vinyl slip covers over the arms to attempt to hide this. Although it is close proximity to the freeway noise was never an issue, and it appears they have soundproof windows. The biggest complaint I have along with most guests and reviewers was the parking fee. I have no problem paying $50 a night in New York or San Francisco but $26 per night at this property that has ample parking and is not really even in downtown (Portland) is outrageous. I would rather pay a higher room rate than pay for such an overinflated parking fee. There is obviously no valet (this is a Residence Inn) but plenty of spaces and it is on site. This is just a revenue generator for the hotel which is understandable, but a more reasonable fee and a slightly higher room rate over this absurdly high fee would be expected and appreciated in a city like Portland. It is within walking distance of downtown, the waterfront, and very good restaurants including Pizza Shimitza, a staple in the fabulous selection of Portland Restaurants. I would recommend this hotel when you stay in Portland especially if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidaz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear DavidAZ85,
Thank you for your thorough review and for recommending our hotel, especially for those traveling with family as you mention. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 742 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace in early June as part of a family tour of Oregon.

While some hotels have limited space for the complimentary breakfast, this one had a generous and comfortable area for the sumptuous breakfast buffet. Many hot items, as well as make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit and a variety of teas, were available. The staff was friendly and helpful. Because we stayed on a weekend evening, the manager's reception was not offered; however, a weekly menu for the weeknight receptions was posted on the refrigerator door.

We requested a balcony for our studio king room, and were placed in a room with a balcony facing the city. The balcony, with two chairs, provided a view of construction below, but a comfortable area to sit outside.

While some Residence Inns are more updated, this one was quite acceptable, and close to local transit lines. We asked for and received a late checkout with no problem.

The king bed was very comfortable. The mini-kitchen provided everything we needed included a full-size refrigerator, in-room coffee maker and a bag of microwave popcorn.

One concern is the price of parking for hotel guests - $26 - which seems high, even for Portland. We chose off-premise street parking as an alternative. Portland Perks, a discount plan available on the Portland tourism site, provides a package which includes parking, although we did not use that discount.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpringdaleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear SpringdaleGirl,
Thank you for your comments and for mentioning how much you enjoyed the breakfast experience at our hotel and the comfort of the beds. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As some of the other reviewers have stated, location on one of this hotel's strongest attributes; easy access to the River Walk. Also, some excellent restaurants in the immediate area.
I did have a problem with the cat5 internet connection, did not seem to work, even after another cable was provided; was not a major issue since the wireless worked fine (a little nervous about entering passwords on a wireless network).
Also, the air conditioning seemed to be having trouble maintaining a reasonable temperature, even though the weather was not particularly warm. Overall, though, this was not a major issue.
All told, was quite satisfied with my stay; breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertj_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Robertj_48,
Thank you for feedback and for recommending our hotel for others visiting the Portland area! See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed one night in portland and this place offered a good rate with a decent sized room for 3 guys. the checkin staff were very helpful and filled us up on toiletries as our bags had not arrived after 15 hours of flying. its not exactly central but was near enough for a stroll to some waterfront bars before catching a cab (less than $10) into the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Straychris,
We appreciate your review and comments! Glad you were able to enjoy a stroll along the waterfront - our location is perfect for walkers, joggers and bikers alike. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is the best virtue of this Residence Inn. Be aware that the windows don't open because you are right on top of the freeway (you can read the car plates); ventilation was a problem for us, be sure to contact the desk if it is not working right. The "Ships Store" is next to the check in desk, prices are usury in nature; nothing is mark with a price so look at the little plaque on the wall. Parking is expensive but typical for city hotel. Take note: this is a green hotel, one ply toilet paper, water restrictors, fluorescent lighting. Breakfast is great, as is the staff in general.
You are paying for location so ignore the dated and shabby furniture.

Room Tip: Face the street not the freeway !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear WilliamH,
Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast, staff and the location of the hotel. Three great reasons to come back! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was great, the bedroom and bathrrom was separate from the living room/kitchen area. There was a TV in both living room and bedroom. A door separated the bathroom/toilet area from the rest of the bathroom. The breakfast - it was perfect. Great selection and a different main item each day. Coffee and tea were always available. Parking is a little expensive - $26 a day. We were there for the Rock and Roll Half Marathon and would stay at this hotel again. Would be a good hotel for kids - there is a nice indoor swimming pool and laundry is available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pangcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Pangcg,
Thank you for being our guest. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast experience! We hope you will return for next year's Rock and Roll Half Marathon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We usually stay in a Residence Inn when available, so thought this would be a good one. Disappointed in location (not scenic at all) and we couldn't find a luggage cart to help us carry things up to our 6th floor room. Front desk staff was full of excuses, but no help. The price for parking is way too much. Room is typical, but on the small side.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Weyman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear WeymanS,
Thank you for taking time to tell us your feedback. We are listening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $145 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing