We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Residence Inn, but $26 parking !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #24 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Typical Residence Inn, but $26 parking !!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay in a Residence Inn when available, so thought this would be a good one. Disappointed in location (not scenic at all) and we couldn't find a luggage cart to help us carry things up to our 6th floor room. Front desk staff was full of excuses, but no help. The price for parking is way too much. Room is typical, but on the small side.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Weyman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear WeymanS,
Thank you for taking time to tell us your feedback. We are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    244
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
259
155
30
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I can pretty much rely on this hotel as a good place to bring my family. It's a safe neighborhood, walking distance to streetcar, waterfront, and Max train. The only issue I've repeatedly had is that housekeeping tends to fix rooms late in the day. The breakfast is standard for the Renaissance brand, except they offer steamed rice too and that is pretty awesome. The pool and workout room are both nice. Even high rooms near I-5 are super quiet with triple pane windows.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Iolawally,
We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for mentioning that you can rely on us to take care of your family. That really means the world to us. Glad you enjoyed the pool and other amenities. Visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here while my husband was at a conference. The room was very clean and had plenty of space for the entire family, including two dogs. The pool was nice and the breakfast was great! There's plenty of space to exercise your dogs, walk on the river front, walk downtown, shop and enjoy great restaurants. Public transportation comes within half a block of the hotel but getting around by car was also quite easy. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueheelertravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear ChristyD,
Thank you for letting us know how much you like our location. We appreciate the 5 stars you ranked us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with the two kids in the big room (one on the pull out couch, and the other a roll-away) while the parents were in the 'bedroom.' Decent amount of space for four people as long as you don't plan to stay in the room all the time.

The free breakfast buffet is pretty broad and a good amount of variety (hot items, cold cereal, waffle maker, etc etc). The rooms do have a kitchenette thing...which is okay for basic stuff. Beware of the hyper sensitive fire alarms if you get too creative.....

The location isn't the greatest, but it isn't too bad. It is on the tram line, so you can get around downtown for free (the hotel is just inside the fareless square area). There aren't a lot of mid-priced restaurants within a short walking distance but it isn't too long of a walk along the waterfront to many others...

Parking is pretty expensive, but given all the public transportation, you could probably get away without a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NA69Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear NA69Traveler,
Thank you for your feedback - we are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Guess its not so near downtown - but has amazing public transport connectivity. I didn't realize the parking fee (and driving in Portland is no fun either) so gave up the car the next morning and got myself a weekly pass - worked out fine. The breakfast is great - partly the reason why I prefer Residence Inn. I happily skipped the conference breakfast for the hotel spread. There are evening specials as well - which I couldn't enjoy. However, I was told, it was as good. I5 goes by a almost touching flyover - however you hardly feel any noise/vibration.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They allowed me a early checkin - almost at 11AM - which was very nice.

Room Tip: This hotel has no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbandopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear tbandopadhyay,
We appreciate your comments and your feedback is valuable to us. I understand that downtown parking can be pricey but am glad that you noticed how connected we are to public transportation as well. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and it worked out great. The room was comfy and modern. The place had a good breakfast and happy hour snacks. I didn't get to spend too much time enjoying the amenities but I'm sure they were good. The hotel was a little over 2 miles away from the convention center and I used this opportunity to walk there and back every day. The river made the stroll very nice. There is public transportation near by as well. There are some good places to eat in the Esplanade. Overall a good location for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 582StephenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear StephenR,
Thank you for being our guest. So glad to hear you enjoyed a stroll along the river walk after a long day of meetings at your conference. Take care and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline and so initially didn't know which hotel we'd be staying at for our weekend getaway to Portland. This hotel, for the price, was fantastic. The rooms were very large with a super comfy bed, very clean and relatively modern looking. The kitchenette aspect is a great feature too, especially for longer trips. They'll even pick up groceries for you and leave them in your fridge if you request it!

The free breakfast blew our mind. There was a huge selection of cereals, oatmeal, sausages, waffles, pancakes, toast and tons of juices/coffees. From our experience, this totally blows a standard continental breakfast out of the water!

The location was decent to downtown portland, just a 5-7 minute street car ride, or about a half an hour walk (which you can do most of on the river, which is nice when you're a tourist).

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouverites211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear vancouverites211 ,
Thank you for giving us 5 stars in your review and for specifically mentioning how much you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast we offer. Hope it helped get your day off to a great start! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing