We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice buisness hotel near downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace
Ranked #24 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice buisness hotel near downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and it worked out great. The room was comfy and modern. The place had a good breakfast and happy hour snacks. I didn't get to spend too much time enjoying the amenities but I'm sure they were good. The hotel was a little over 2 miles away from the convention center and I used this opportunity to walk there and back every day. The river made the stroll very nice. There is public transportation near by as well. There are some good places to eat in the Esplanade. Overall a good location for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear StephenR,
Thank you for being our guest. So glad to hear you enjoyed a stroll along the river walk after a long day of meetings at your conference. Take care and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    227
    64
    15
    9
See reviews for
244
141
27
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline and so initially didn't know which hotel we'd be staying at for our weekend getaway to Portland. This hotel, for the price, was fantastic. The rooms were very large with a super comfy bed, very clean and relatively modern looking. The kitchenette aspect is a great feature too, especially for longer trips. They'll even pick up groceries for you and leave them in your fridge if you request it!

The free breakfast blew our mind. There was a huge selection of cereals, oatmeal, sausages, waffles, pancakes, toast and tons of juices/coffees. From our experience, this totally blows a standard continental breakfast out of the water!

The location was decent to downtown portland, just a 5-7 minute street car ride, or about a half an hour walk (which you can do most of on the river, which is nice when you're a tourist).

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouverites211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear vancouverites211 ,
Thank you for giving us 5 stars in your review and for specifically mentioning how much you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast we offer. Hope it helped get your day off to a great start! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my first time at a Residence Inn. Very impressed. The room I had was an apartment, very large and with all the amenities. Location is right on the river and within walking distance from several nice restaurants. The trolley stop is a half block away. Staff were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeahfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear mikeahfi,
Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. Glad to know you were impressed with Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has it all whether you have a family member having surgery at OSHU or just visiting. Close to the waterfront, great restaurants, the trolley/ IMet system. Clean, comfortable beds, large kitchen suites. Head down to the farmers market for unusual finds. It is spendy, but for long stays, it feels like home. Nice full breakfasts also each morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear wilwag,
Thank you for giving us 5 stars in your review! We are the closest hotel to OHSU and I'm glad that we were able to help you enjoy the comforts of home while your loved one had medical treatments in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were hot and had plenty to choose from. The location was close to the tram and the streetcar as well as the Esplanade. My only complaint was minimal but the TV was mounted on a table that didn't face the bed OR the couch and couldn't be swiveled. So every night my husband would physically move the TV stand just do he could watch TV. Poor planning to have the TV mounted do that it faced the refrigerator!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear travelover901,
Thank you for sending your comments - we will be sure to check the placement of the televisions. We also appreciate your comments on the wonderful service you received from our team. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed here with a co-worker in a studio unit that offered a king bed and a double sofa sleeper with a small kitchen area. Upon checking in we were advised that our stay included the normal complimentary breakfast AND a dinner buffet from 6-7:30pm. I did not get to see what exactly was offered with the dinner as we had an office function to attend. The breakfast was as usual a great way to start the day.
The location is fantastic with many restaurant and bar optons all with in walking distance. It really is well suited for the business traveler and even though it is located right under the Marquam Bridge the noise level was nothing to worry about.
Thank you Residence Inn for another great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Terri W,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your prior stay with us. We appreciate you mentioning that our hotel was quiet and comfortable - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is not an extravagant place but is clean and well suited for families traveling. We have 3 children, including 2 teenage/tween girls and the suites are the perfect solution for us. Moreover, you can't beat the breakfast that is included, as well as the kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear David M,
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn RiverPlace to host your family during Spring Break! We're thankful that you found the hotel accommodations clean and comfortable. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#34 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing