We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
408
274
82
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
274
82
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronald mcdonald housestreetcar stopthe river walkfull kitchenbedroom suiteriver placebreakfast staffpool and jacuzziwillamette riverthe breakfast areaoatmealpull out couchparking feestreet parkingfree breakfastsmall kitchenper night
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 798 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Within walking distance of some great places, easy parking and courteous staff. A very enjoyable stay. Definitely take the time to wonder down the boardwalk. There are some great cafes worth spending some time in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear MReubendale,
We are listening and appreciate your feedback! It's nice to hear you enjoyed our waterfront location and took advantage of the river walk during your stay at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I won a bid through name your own price on Priceline. I stayed here over the weekend for 3 nights. Honestly, the rooms are valued at $199-$209 but through Priceline, we got it for less than $140 a night! The rooms were perfect! We didn't really use the kitchen much because we were out and about eating at restaurants. We absolutely loved the complimentary breakfast! The food was delicious and best of all, free! We had a studio and our king size bed was so roomy! The only downside was that our cable TV kept lagging especially during the night. The view was not great at all because of the bridges and construction going on nearby. The also provide a free shuttle to wherever you need to go that's within 3 miles. The hours vary so make sure you ask. You have to reserve the shuttle ahead of time at the front desk. It's on a first come first serve basis. The customer service was outstanding as well! Our flight was super early in the morning so we arrived at the hotel at 830AM to drop off our bags so that we could explore the city and come back at 4PM which is the check in time. I explained to the guy that we got here A LOT earlier and without even mentioning that I only wanted to drop off the bags, he advised me right away that he will see what he could do and let us check in 8 hours early! Everyone at the front counter are all very friendly. We were staying on the 8th floor and the Wi-Fi worked really well up there! And yea it might seem a bit far from the center of everything but the streetcar stop is right in front of the hotel so getting around was so easy! Too bad you have to pay for the streetcars now but one of the locals told us that they rarely ever check if you bought the ticket or not and even if you do get caught, they give you 3 strikes before you have to pay a $175 fine. So if you're visiting in town and won't be staying long, it's your choice if you want to risk it or not. We stayed 3 nights and 4 days and they NEVER checked if we bought tickets once. I would definitely stay here again. I prob won't be paying full price for the room though. Only if I can win the bid again on name your own price on Priceline. But I definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Name your own price on Priceline! Start at $130 (for rooms in Oct)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlee1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

We appreciate your 5-star rating of our hotel! Service is our priority and we're glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at Residence Inn RiverPlace. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here with some friends on a bachelor party in Portland. Why go to portland for a bachelor party? Apparently, portland has the most strip clubs per capita in the united states. (a fact i learned this trip out). Ok, on to the hotel review. The hotel is on the south west riverfront a couple miles from downtown if you want to walk. It's also a short walk to the riverside and hawthorn bridge. On Saturday there is a market/bazaar that goes on. There's a conveniently placed metro stop that will take you into downtown and other neighborhoods such as the pear district. The rooms my party stayed in were identical suites each with 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. They were both spotless and clean and came with toiletries and towels typical of American business style hotels. The couch also turns into a fold out bed with linens provided in the closet. There is a kitchen with a stove if you need to cook. Cab rides run a little expensive but the public transportation in portland is good. If i was coming to portland with a good sized group 4+ i would definitely stay here. Breakfast is also included, standard hotel breakfast buffet not that impressive. Stale bagels, waffles, cold cereal, sausage etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thefakelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Dear Thefakelawyer,
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn RiverPlace for the bachelorette party in 2012. We're happy to hear that your rooms were "spotless". We appreciate your feedback and value your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The location is outstanding and close to everything downtown Portland has to offer, whether it be a stoll along the riverwalk, a multitude of dining options or a nearby business appointment. The staff is friendly and accommodating and eager to do everything possible to make your stay not just comfortable but memorable. The breakfast buffet offers something for everyone and three morning papers to choose from. Rooms are spacious and well maintained and equipped to dine in should you choose and work equally well for the business or pleasure traveler.

Room Tip: Our room on the city side was totally quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear Cathyw,
Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our business and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace while you were visiting downtown Portland. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Many of the reviews here have described function in detail. I would say the hotel lacks any particular style but is what you should expect at residence inn. I like the location at the river and the street car is so handy. Only a 15 minute walk to Pioneer Court House Square. Take MAX from the airport to downtown and then connect to the street car. Very easy. Check out the happy hours close by at River Place Hotel (great porch) and McCormick and Schmicks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2014

Dear redhills,
We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for taking time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community regarding your stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews