We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$143
$127
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$251
$191
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$127
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$288
$263
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$178
$161
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
$263
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Lane Suites & Inn(Portland)(Great Value!)
$145
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
406
272
81
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
272
81
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronald mcdonald housestreetcar stopthe river walkfull kitchenbedroom suiteriver placebreakfast staffpool and jacuzziwillamette riverthe breakfast areaoatmealpull out couchstreet parkingfree breakfastparking feesmall kitchenper night
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 790 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is the 2nd hotel we stayed in the Portland Downtown during a week's holiday with family. Our family members chose this because of the size of the rooms which allowed family members staying with each other. It cost exactly the same as our Amex-reserved hotel room for 2 adults at the Courtyard Downtown and had almost the same amenities - but, this was one notch below for the following reasons:

The location does not put you in the center of everything so for our older family members, it took a bit longer to get them on/off the free streetcar. Had we been in the downtown proper, they could have walked around more freely and independently.

The rooms are slightly older and the beds were old and saggy but luckily replaced due to a stroke of luck hotel-wide during our stay. The Fitness Center is smaller than the Courtyard across town despite having more guests, it seemed, but they do have a nice large pool and jacuzzi.

Room fixtures/furniture is slightly older too but not yet in a worn state. Also we noticed that this hotel allows dogs and we're not sure if pet-friendly rooms are reserved for only pet owners or if they can stay in any room - we didn't want to think about it too much but it's not something we particularly liked.

The bonus is that they had an extremely generous breakfast buffet and canapes on certain weekday evenings which made for a more lively reception area. All staff members we encountered were extremely helpful and patient so service was excellent.

The waterfront area is a short 3-5 min walk but it's not very extensive and only has a handful of restaurants. So due overall only to the location of this hotel would I not choose to stay here again. It may be great for families and small groups but if you are a couple and want to be a very short walk in the middle of everything as soon as you walk out of the lobby, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Dear Merkey,
Thank you for taking time to share comments for our team at Residence Inn RiverPlace regarding your stay in 2012. We understand that the ideal location is different for every traveler and are glad to know that you took advantage of the Portland Streetcar to get to the places of interest to you. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet! Come visit soon to experience our new modern look coming in early 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Why yes I would! Thank you! This is the greeting you receive when you check into the Residence Inn and why would you pass up that offer?
I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was clean, the beds were comfy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and the chef came out to say good morning each morning we were there.There is currently construction going on in the area very close to the hotel and a major highway runs past, but I didn't hear any noise from it.
We had a car during our stay and seen as Portland is the biggest biking city, had no trouble finding parking. We found it was worth risking trying to find on street parking rather than paying for hotel parking ($25 per night) and parked for free, on street, both nights.
The hotel is right on the water front so if you're a runner theres a great route for you to take. From what I could gather, street cars run past the hotel so public transport looks to be a good option also.
I honestly had a really great stay at this hotel and would defintely go back if I was to return to Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Dear bostonenglish,
We appreciate your 5-star rating of our hotel! Service is our priority and we're glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at Residence Inn RiverPlace. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Although this hotel is a bit off the beaten track we were completely satisfied with our stay and would go again without hesitation. We've been at a variety of Marriott properties and think this is the best Residence Inn we've seen. They have anticipated what guests might need and provided it. The lobby is large as is the breakfast area. Breakfast is substantial with lots of variety and a friendly staff keeping things tidy and well-stocked.
The front desk staff was helpful and very pleasant Our room, on the 9th floor, overlooked a highway project just outside the hotel and my husband was fascinated watching the process of huge girders being placed. It was surprising that there was no construction noise. We had a spacious, attractive suite at the end of a corridor and although we did hear a dog bark once in another room it was not a problem. The Portland Streetcar goes right past the hotel and is free! We turned in our rental car before checking in to the hotel so no parking fees for us. We used the free streetcar, connected with another streetcar system, and walked...no problem getting around. On our last night we walked five minutes away and ate at a patio table at McCormick and Schmick's overlooking the Willamette River...very nice. Our king sized bed was comfortable and I especially liked the very soft bed linen. We are "seniors" and so our needs were simpler than if we were traveling with children. We never had time to try the pool. On the refrigerator was a notice of social nights with free food offered but they weren't scheduled on the two nights we were there. Overall we were very impressed with the City of Portland and with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a 9th floor, corner room if you don't mind the walk down a long corridor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainiekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Dear lainiekatz,
We are thrilled to hear your comments regarding the Residence Inn Portland Downtown being the "best Residence Inn you've experienced"! Thank you and come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Whenever I travel down the I-5 to Portland from Seattle this is my hotel of choice. The location can not be beat and the front desk service is always outstanding! This trip was a girls weekend to the Oregon Brewers Festival and the hotel did not disappoint once again. The front desk is very helpful about directions. They even went out of the way and gave us a ride to the Brewfest since I hurt my hip and didn't want to walk the one and half miles that first day. Breakfast is not the greatest but acceptable. One thing is I asked for a fan and they bought a heater...it was 80 degrees. I tried to explain what I wanted but housekeeping didn't get it.

The biggest plus about this place is the location to the light rail/trolley.....once you get here you do not have to drive anywhere in Portland.

I have already booked this hotel for my trip in September.

Room Tip: I have always booked a 2 room suite on the riverside is best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplepower1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear purplepower1981,
Your opinion matters and it validates how hard our team works to take care of our guests. Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace 2012. We can't wait to see you back in the future for another Brewer's Festival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was by far the worst Marriott I have stayed in. The bed was like sleeping on a foam wrapped piece of Plywood. The room furnishings were cheap and uncomfortable. The price was very excessive. On the plus side, you are on the riverwalk as long as you find staying beside a two layer eight lane highway adjacent to a construction site to your liking. Marriott should be ashamed of themselves for ripping people off this way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johngovictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Dear johngovictoria,
Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace in 2012. Since your visit, we have invested in new beds and the extension of the Portland Streetcar is complete as well so there is no lingering construction noise. We hope you'll have the opportunity to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews