We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had 2 br suite, spacious with a kitchenette including Fridge, Cooker, Microwave.
Bedroooms are ensuite with a TV in each room. The fittings are not to die for, but the hotel has a friendly atmosphere. Equipped with coin operated washing machines and dryers.
Iron and board provided in Room. Guests with animals, are housed on a separate flooor.
Location is great, next to a MAX rail.

Was impressed by the range of Complementary services offered by the hotel:-
i) Drop off and/or pickup within a 5 mile radius of the hotel Location.
ii) Grocery shopping, when you provide a list
iii) Breakfast with a good variety and specials each day of the week.
iv) Newspapers each morning at Breakfast area
v) Tea & coffee making facilities available all day for hotel guests and kept clean
vi) Indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and fitness center
vii) WIFI around the hotel, PC's at Lobby where once can access internet, free for the first 20 min.

Every Mon-Wed, they host a cocktail with complementary bitings and beverages, we enjoyed these sessions as we were able to interract with other guests.

There is a daily charge of $ 25 for parking, we negotiated this because we stayed for over one week.
I believe this hotel gives the best value for money, we visit Portland about twice each year and we all agreed that this will be our home away from home in PDX.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Werna34,
We appreciate your 5-star rating of our hotel! Service is our priority and we're glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at Residence Inn RiverPlace. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    243
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
258
155
30
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Staying here was not my choice, corporate dictated - but it was ok. I did not like location under freeway or power station across the street .
Proximity to trolley is great.
Getting in and out of here is a bit tangled.
Room was adequate space wise, far better than just a hotel room, but smelled of stale alcohol. Bed was comfy though.
Staff seemed indifferent at best - except our housekeeper - we were here a week and she was delightful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear Lesrose,
Thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay in April 2012. I'm glad that you found the bed to be very comfortable and the location convenient for streetcar access to public transportation. While we do not advertise rooms with a view of the river, some have better views than others. We hope you'll return and give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Clean & Friendly place to get away for the weekend. The max is just across the street and provides a free ride into downtown attractions and absolutly great restaurants. All rooms are suites and have a full kitchen. With all the Great restaurants in the area, we only used our kitchen to warm up leftovers for a midnight snack. This Hotel has a good breakfast every morning with a fair selection that would please most. It is also located on a river walk that takes you past many shops and restaurants. A great home base to the Downtown Portland attractions. The Bad.......They charge you $25.00 a night to park your car. :o( They will pick you up and take you back to the train station if you decide to go that way. Once we park our car, we really have no need for it until we leave. (Thanks to the light rail Max) We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years after trying others, we always come back to this one.

Room Tip: We have stayed all over in this one. Other than the view out the window, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear SPK45,
Thank you for rating your stay at Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and appreciate your time submitting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

When we visit Portland, this is our favorite hotel regardless of the time of year. The staff is outstanding, and the rooms are the perfect size even if not on an extended stay. The location is one block from the Portland street car which connects to MAX, allowing us to roam throughout the Portland area without the need to drive. The manager's reception each evening is a nice treat and the morning breakfast is very good. Both are included in the price of the room. Being able to walk along the waterfront, especially in the summer and fall adds to our enjoyment. One year we were able to watch the Christmas ships from our room. The only downside is the cost of parking but wee just figure that cost into our trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkleNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear SnorkleNut,
Thank you for your 5-star rating in all aspects of your stay with us at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace! We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Start by saying for the price it is a great value. We had the one bedroom king and it was great amount of space for just my husband and I. The bed is a little hard for my taste, but the room was clean and the kitchen was helpful to have. Breakfast is a little better than most and there is a great coffee spot just a short walk away. The location is great when the weather is good - you can walk along the river all the way to the Saturday market and public transit is close by. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famtravl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear famtrav14,
We appreciate your feedback from your stay in 2012. Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendly service you received at Residence Inn RiverPlace! We hope you will return so that we will have the opportunity to show you our Marriott hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Outstanding hotel... suggest make reservations early as it seems popular. Staff is excellent and helpful. The breakfast is first-rate. Very convenient to nice walk along the river or to the trolley stop for free rides to stops within easy walking distance of the best book store perhaps anywhere, good restaurants, and the Rose Garden, convention center. This hotel is excellent for families and business travelers. Indoor pool and exercise facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Ronald2012,
Thank you for your 5-star rating in all aspects of your stay with us at Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace! We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I wrote a review on this hotel when we stayed here several years ago. We went back again in November 2011 after Thanksgiving and stayed in the 2-bedroom suite with 6 people. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived a little early, but check in took just minutes when the room was ready for us. The suite was oddly configured, with long hallways, and the bathrooms were tight. But it was the same great service and comfort we had during our previous stay. The pool and hot tub are still in great shape. The beds were comfy, and each bedroom and the living room had it's own flat screen TV. My brother had no problem connecting to the wi-fi, without any interruption in service.
There was a little kitchen and dining table area which was also compact. There was the complimentary breakfast in the morning, and despite the hotel being pretty full, the food was continually monitored and replenished by the numerous and friendly wait staff, until the very end of breakfast time. They also provided us with take-out containers and cups to take back food to the room for my mom and kids who slept in. It took awhile to get everyone together, and the front desk allowed us to have a complimentary late check-out.

The trolley also stops just across the street, and although the hotel isn't in the center of downtown, the free, pleasant trolley ride takes you right into the middle of it. I'd recommend this hotel for families and people who want to relax just on the edge of the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Katmommy,
Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our business and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace while you were visiting downtown Portland. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing