We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown
Ranked #52 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Vaughan, there are 2 others I believe in the area. The location was just off the main highway into Portland downtown which made it very noisy. Convenient for walking to local restaurants in the Nob Hill area but then we were terribly disappointed in the food in general in the area. Way over priced and not good. Bed was horrible, sunk in the middle and pillows too soft. Pool was dirty too. We were disappointed at what is normally a consistent, good value with HIEX.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 359 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sep 8-10, while in town for a Wedding. The Location is good as it is a short walk to Glisan and lots of resturants and bars.

The room was in good condition and parking is a breeze and Free...nice considering proximity to downtown.

The price and location add up nicely and overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AStraveln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

For my first trip to Portland I was very happy with the location & staff & cleanliness. Location was a short pleasant walk to 23rd which has plenty of shops & restaurants. The streetcar is also easily accessible on 23rd which made it easy to get to the Downtown area. Every single staff member I encountered was very friendly & helpful which is a rarity now a days. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mollitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel. I was debating staying here or the Embassy Suites, but the cost difference is what acutally made the decision. We spent $100 less per night and from what I could see our hotel was in a better area than the Embassy Suites. The neighborhood this hotel is located, at the top of Nob Hill, is great! Lots of wonderful Victorian homes, restaurants, and boutiques. We felt very safe walking around. Transit is nearby. The Embassy Suites is very near Skid Row and we would have felt very uncomfortable walking to/from that locale.
The Holiday Inn was clean, warm, very inviting. Adequate breakfast buffet. And yes, free parking! That is a big deal in a city where hotels charge a lot for parking!
We loved Portland and would stay at this hotel again!

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank italgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed here for one night in mid June. The hotel is not as "pretty" as described by some of the reviewer but nevertheless it is as I have expected like the other Holiday Inn Express hotel, clean and roomy. Also some reviewers mentioned that it's close to restaurants and shopping. In my opinion, it's not "that" close like right next to the hotel. You still have to walk five to six blocks at least (pass the hospital) to get to nice/decent restaurants and shopping. So on a rainly day, it's not that fun. We were lazy so we ended up driving up there. I do agreed that in that area there are quite a few of unique shops that you don't find in portland downtown. The free breakfast is ok but there isn't any hot items like waffee or sausage like I had at the other Holiday Inn Express. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are all very friendly and helpful. When I asked for direction to go to The Grotto, they even printed me the map from their computer.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spicykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

This was our first trip to Portland and stayed two nights in one of the suites on the fourth floor. The room included a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Utensils were also provided. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even printed out directions to the various places we wanted to see.

The Inn is located in the Nob Hill district which has plenty of shops and places to eat some pretty good food. It's all within a few blocks from the Inn. There's a 24hr starbucks on 23rd and burnside (?) which is great if you're a night owl. We didn't get to make use of it on this trip, but will keep it in mind for next time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Hello Mirada!

Thank you very much for your review of our Holiday Inn Express. We really appreciate the time that you took to write it! Since you are a night owl I can give you a few other late night dining suggestions. The Matador, only four blocks from us, has a second happy hour that starts at 10pm. They stay open late and the atmosphere is very trendy and fun. If you're looking for something a little more casual a quick ten minute drive will get you to Portland's own 24 Hour Steak & Hotcake House. We can't wait for you to be our guests again!

Tiffany Forni
Online Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2007

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Most of the staff was very helpful. It's located in a great, convenient part of the city. The breakfast provided was perfect. My only complaint is that the pool and hot tub were not very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#13 of 144 in Portland
558 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#11 of 144 in Portland
1,099 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#51 of 144 in Portland
742 reviews
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown

Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $108 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at One of the Best Downtown Portland, OR Hotels. Holiday Inn Express Portland NW Downtown is located in the historic Nob Hill District and Northwest Industrial area. We offer great amenities to ensure you have everything you need to feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing