We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Ranked #51 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express hotel. The quality and service are what you would expect. The location looks bad at first, as it is so near a main road junction, but in fact it is a short walk into some really interesting parts of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Helen P

Thanks so much for taking the time out to write your review. You are infact right about our location, it is quite wonderful. We love being able to give our guests great options to visit for restaurants, and shopping while in Portland. We hope you will stay with us when visiting Portland again!


Tiffany Patterson
Guest Service Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    152
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
80
108
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed many times at this location for many reasons. It is walking distance to the NW Alphabet District - great eateries nearby as well as being close to the Freemont Bridge and the highway taking you anywhere fast and easy. I spoke with Cassie - someone I had never dealt with before. She was SO sweet and professional. She was amazing and gave me the best deal she possibly could. When my Mother and I arrived Cassie greeted us so graciously. She made sure to provide us with the quieter side of the building on a higher floor. When my just turned 82 year Mother walked in the room she said "Oh my what a lovely room"! We settled in and she had the sleeper sofa. She kept saying how comfortable the bed was, not like a sleeper sofa that is usually all "springy and lumpy". I loved the privacy of the room as their was a "divider" between the living room and the King bedroom. I did not even hear her snore! The room was SO clean, smelled fresh, and the sheets did not smell like bleach - a problem I have had at several other hotels. They offer many pillows too - 2 that say "soft" and 2 that say "Firm". Mom wanted to buy these lovely, billowy pillows!!
A+++ I love this Hotel and was sorry I could not visit their wonderful pool and hot tub this stay as it is amazing. Thank you for a memorable stay!! I look forward to coming back to such an amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel so as not to hear housekeeping in the morning. It would be a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTrinityTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello TexasTrinityTravels!

Thank you so much for the glowing review of your stay with us! It makes me so happy to hear what a wonderful stay you and your mother had. Cassy is indeed a fantastic front desk agent! I will be sure and forward your comments about her guest service skills to her. Thank you again for such a great review. We do hope to see you and your mother again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a standard holiday inn and when we arrived we were a little concerned at the location on such a busy road network. However it is only a short walk to the downtown area and there are some good value restaurants and shops and it was a lively and bustling area on the Friday night. We were also able to walk from here to the main centre of Portland - about 30 minutes.
Our room was quite small compared to the usual US experience and our room faced on to a wall, but the amenities are good and it gave us the opportunity to get some laundry done on our travels. There is a small pool and gym but unfortunately on the second day of using it had to be asked to get out as there was unexplained dirt on the bottom!
There was a good choice for breakfast and the waitress was very helpful and friendly. Coffee was available also throughout the day and drink machines are on the corridor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi there Janie024!

Thank you for taking some time to review your recent stay with us. Vaughn street does infact seem very industrial, at first glance. I am glad that you were able to see our neighborhood for what it truly is- a fantastic shopping and dining area. Please feel free to ask our front desk staff during your next reservation about the different room options that we offer here at the Holiday Inn Express. Again, thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our youngest lives in Portland and we spent 5 nights here in August. Location is super. It's close to highways and restaurants, Parking is free. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. In spite of being in a commercial area, the small area near the door is nicely landscaped. The rooms are fine and the breakfasts are more than adequate.

The only issues with this hotel are the ONE very, very slow elevator and the need to constantly log in to the WiFi.

We will definitely be staying here next time we're in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almostelderlycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello almostelderlycouple,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed so much of our hotel. We are sorry for the elevator issue. We will forward your comments on to the appropriate departments to further enhance our overall guest satisfaction. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERETT
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel, the outside, seems like an average establishment. However, the amenities discovered within are certainly above average. It has all of the expected Holiday Inn Express items and other offerings that would be worth considering for any event. I was especially pleased with the parking arrangement as I was a little skeptical with a NW Portland destination about where I was going to park my F-150. The rooms are above average and the value is there.

Also, you can walk down 23rd and hit almost any type of cuisine that you would like. The access to the freeway is great and this location is easy to get in and out of. All of the staff I had interactions with were very nice.

This is a great place to stay, period.

Room Tip: I would try for a room on the North wing of the building away from Vaughn Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConcreteEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi ConcretePastor,

Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay with us. We love to be able to offer our guests an "above average" experience! We hope to see you again on your next visit to the great city of Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
412 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

First time in Portland and this seemed like a good choice. The neighborhood has a lot to offer for food and shopping although you're better off taking the street car if you want to leave the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful and provided a small gift bag of water and snacks for having status with HI. The free parking is a great deal and the location is close to the highway. The breakfast was the usual HI fare but we came down a little late and they kindly put together a plate for us. The hotel is clean, quiet, and the rooms have been updated. I might try a different neighborhood if I come back but it was a good place to start for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear NCtravelz,

Thanks for your review. Our area is one of a kind, with shopping and dining only blocks away. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our son and his girlfriend have just moved to the NW section of the city (Alphabet Dist). We were not sure where to stay that would be in walking distance so I took a chance and picked a name I knew with an address that sounded close. Boy, did we make a great choice! Clean rooms, friendly staff,, parking on site, (which is rare. Parking is a premium in the city of Portland), fresh hot cookies for the guests when they arrived. The young lady at the desk was incredibly helpful. So many restaurants and shopping just down the street. No need to take your car out, all within walking distance, Freeway on and off less than a block away. This will definitely be our hotel of choice when we go and visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickandvirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi there rickandvirg!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad that you happened upon our hotel and you were able to enjoy everything that we have to offer. We can't wait to see you again!


Leo Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#47 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing