We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown
Ranked #54 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights recently. It is in a great location with lots of restaurants and close to downtown. The staff were friendly, and the pool was great. The place is not the quietest, door are very heavy and slam shut very loudly. A/C must be pretty old as well. Room was a little cramped compared to the holiday inn in Chehalis we also stayed at and food was not quite as good. Housekeeping was an issue, we were shorted towels, had our do not disturb sign out and housekeeping knocked on our door, not sure why they would do this and one person was sleeping sprawled out in a chair when we were going to the pool. Just did not instill confidence.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobDean16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Cupparoast!

Thanks for the review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location, staff, and amenities. We are very sorry that we fell below your expectations on other aspects of your stay with us. We will absolutely forward your comments onto the appropriate departments. We would love to have another chance to provide you with better service on your next stay with us.

Hope to see you again,
Leo Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about this hidden gem and my husband and I will be making this our hotel of choice when visiting our son who lives in Portland. From the welcoming front desk and breakfast staffs to the clean, spacious quiet rooms with comfortable bedding and upgraded towels and amenities, our experience was first-class. This hotel is in a safe location within walking distance of numerous eateries and shops. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi there TravellingTeresa!

Thank you so much for your exceptionally kind review of our hotel. We are elated to hear that we will be your "go-to" location here in PDX. We can't wait to see you again!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This HI was one of the nicest, cleanest ones we have stayed at.It must have been recently refurbished Everytning seemed new. The breakfast was really good with many choices. The front desk was helpful and pleasant and efficient. The location was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello Tzipster

Thank you for such a kind review. We take a great amount of pride in our hotel. It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed our fresh and warm rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of 23rd St. There are many businesses there which makes it good for just looking around. Bakeries and small retail businesses line the street. The traffic gets pretty backed up during the good weather times.
The hotel is rather worn at this point but the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. New carpeting and decor would do wonders for the rooms and lobby.
There is very good parking so you can park your car and walk to lots of places. Parking is always a problem in any city.
The breakfast offered by this hotel is well done. It is constantly attended so that the food is fresh. It would do well to expand the breakfast time from 6:30 am to 10:00 am. That would give people a little more time to get down to the breakfast room. Vacationers would appreciate this.
All iin all, the staff and their attitude makes this a lovely experience.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and they all had the same view of the roof. For the most part, the view does not seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wahine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi there wahine1

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. 23rd is a fantastic area to explore while you are staying at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to do just that! Thank you for your suggestion on the breatfast times. We have tried that in the past but unfortunately Monday-Friday our traffic slows down too much to offer this all the time. That is why we offer breakfast until 10:00AM Saturday and Sunday for vactioners like yourself. We strive to keep our rooms fresh and updated, as you can see from previous reviews. We apologize that you didn't feel that our rooms were up to your standard. We do hope that you will give us another try to experience our great services, fresh, and updated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to Washington Park, the Nob Hill area, and not too far from downtown. It also had free parking, free wi-fi, and free breakfast which was a great bonus! I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff as well. My only complaint would be that the elevator was VERY slow, and we were on an upper floor so that was kind of an annoyance. Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper floor facing the parking lot and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TGR222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello TGR222

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of the great things our hotel has to offer. I will forward your comments about the elevator to the appropriate departments.

Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was a little nervous when we pulled into the hotel and the convenience store next to it had bars on the windows. However, the front desk clerk was amazing and shared maps and information about mass transit that helped us navigate easily to 23rd, Saturday Market, Pioneer Square and lots of other great Portland destinations. If you don't mind walking, 23rd is a great destination - lots of cute shops and amazing restaurants. The breakfast was packed, but had a lot of wonderful uchoices. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator, but we didn't have a lot of noise from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moclips57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your review Moclips57!

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! 23rd is indeed a wonderful street to explore. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This holiday inn express is excellent it is a little pricier than others in the area but the location cannot be beat. It makes it easy to walk to or get around to many attractions in the area. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with many choices. I would stay here again. Free Internet and free parking avoid the big chain hotels and save money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coosbaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi coosbaygal!

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, and all it's amenities. We look forward to seeing you again!


Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#15 of 146 in Portland
560 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Inn at Northrup Station
#10 of 146 in Portland
1,112 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#47 of 146 in Portland
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown

Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $136 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at One of the Best Downtown Portland, OR Hotels. Holiday Inn Express Portland NW Downtown is located in the historic Nob Hill District and Northwest Industrial area. We offer great amenities to ensure you have everything you need to feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Portland-Nw Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing