We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about this hidden gem and my husband and I will be making this our hotel of choice when visiting our son who lives in Portland. From the welcoming front desk and breakfast staffs to the clean, spacious quiet rooms with comfortable bedding and upgraded towels and amenities, our experience was first-class. This hotel is in a safe location within walking distance of numerous eateries and shops. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi there TravellingTeresa!

Thank you so much for your exceptionally kind review of our hotel. We are elated to hear that we will be your "go-to" location here in PDX. We can't wait to see you again!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    153
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
81
110
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, CA
Level Contributor
379 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This HI was one of the nicest, cleanest ones we have stayed at.It must have been recently refurbished Everytning seemed new. The breakfast was really good with many choices. The front desk was helpful and pleasant and efficient. The location was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Tzipster

Thank you for such a kind review. We take a great amount of pride in our hotel. It makes our day to hear that you enjoyed our fresh and warm rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of 23rd St. There are many businesses there which makes it good for just looking around. Bakeries and small retail businesses line the street. The traffic gets pretty backed up during the good weather times.
The hotel is rather worn at this point but the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. New carpeting and decor would do wonders for the rooms and lobby.
There is very good parking so you can park your car and walk to lots of places. Parking is always a problem in any city.
The breakfast offered by this hotel is well done. It is constantly attended so that the food is fresh. It would do well to expand the breakfast time from 6:30 am to 10:00 am. That would give people a little more time to get down to the breakfast room. Vacationers would appreciate this.
All iin all, the staff and their attitude makes this a lovely experience.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and they all had the same view of the roof. For the most part, the view does not seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi there wahine1

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. 23rd is a fantastic area to explore while you are staying at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to do just that! Thank you for your suggestion on the breatfast times. We have tried that in the past but unfortunately Monday-Friday our traffic slows down too much to offer this all the time. That is why we offer breakfast until 10:00AM Saturday and Sunday for vactioners like yourself. We strive to keep our rooms fresh and updated, as you can see from previous reviews. We apologize that you didn't feel that our rooms were up to your standard. We do hope that you will give us another try to experience our great services, fresh, and updated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to Washington Park, the Nob Hill area, and not too far from downtown. It also had free parking, free wi-fi, and free breakfast which was a great bonus! I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff as well. My only complaint would be that the elevator was VERY slow, and we were on an upper floor so that was kind of an annoyance. Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper floor facing the parking lot and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGR222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello TGR222

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of the great things our hotel has to offer. I will forward your comments about the elevator to the appropriate departments.

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was a little nervous when we pulled into the hotel and the convenience store next to it had bars on the windows. However, the front desk clerk was amazing and shared maps and information about mass transit that helped us navigate easily to 23rd, Saturday Market, Pioneer Square and lots of other great Portland destinations. If you don't mind walking, 23rd is a great destination - lots of cute shops and amazing restaurants. The breakfast was packed, but had a lot of wonderful uchoices. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator, but we didn't have a lot of noise from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moclips57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review Moclips57!

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! 23rd is indeed a wonderful street to explore. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, ca
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This holiday inn express is excellent it is a little pricier than others in the area but the location cannot be beat. It makes it easy to walk to or get around to many attractions in the area. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with many choices. I would stay here again. Free Internet and free parking avoid the big chain hotels and save money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coosbaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi coosbaygal!

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, and all it's amenities. We look forward to seeing you again!


Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is located at the top of NW 23rd Avenue, within easy walking distance to NW 21st and NW 23rd Avenue shops, bars and restaurant. If you trael by car, there is free parking and easy access to the interstate. There is also a bus stop nearby, and I highly recommend using the public transportation system throughout the city. A $5 day pass will get you anywhere and the system is easy to use and is supported by a well thoughout mobile website for planning.

The hotel room was comfortable, spacious and full hot breakfast is included and coffee is complimentary throughout the day. And it is excellent coffee! Great hotel at a great location with friendly staff. When in Portland again, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello ebbie97!

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us such a great review, we truly appreciate it. We are very lucky to have a great public transportation system here in Portland, OR, and love that our guests are able to experience it as well. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express. I will be sure to forward your compliments on to the apporpriate departments.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,029 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 141 in Portland
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing