We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasent surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Ranked #52 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our family satyed here for two nights at the start of a west cost trip and had a great stay. The front desk staff was very friendly and engaging and were exteremely helpful with information. The hotel is at the foot of a really cool redevloping part of town with plenty of boutiques, shops, bars and restaurants within safe walking. And about 2.5 miles from the downtown. Try the Dragonfly Coffee House for early morning coffee just a block away for some reknown Portland coffee. The breakfast is good but standard limited service fare. The rooms are very clean and the 40 inch flat pannel TV's are a nice upgrade. We will definetly stay here when returning as there is tremendous value.

Room Tip: Be a Priority Club member for some extra TLC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cowboypapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Thank you so much for writing that review! Great tip by the way! Priority club members do get a little extra love here. It is open to anyone and free to join! ! We hope you got to enjoy all of the benefits of Priority Club like our welcome gift bag, an extended check out time as well as collecting your points! I can happily suggest you spend them all in one place... a second trip to Portland! :) We hope the rest of your trip goes well and look forward to seeing you again!

Tiffany Forni
Online Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

...but uncomfortable beds. Besides the bed, however, our stay was very pleasant and the staff was friendly. The hotel was only a couple minutes walk from the Alphabet District, where we had some very nice meals. Also, the complimentary breakfast in the morning was a great perk, as we were busy traveling everyday. I would stay again...but maybe request a pillow top.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Thank you for your honest review. It is helpful to get any kind of feedback so that we can continue to improve our hotel. We try our best to pick comfey beds but everyone is different. All of our mattresses are pillow top but we would be more than happy to provide you with another fluffy comforter to make the mattress softer on your next visit. Just ask, that's what we're here for! :) I'm glad to see that you got to enjoy our breakfast. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay amazing! Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in portland!

Tiffany Forni
Online Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

As a Priority Club member, I was lulled into the double bonus points for the 2nd night stay and the price for 2 weekend nights was very competitive considering it's downtown location. While the immediate block surrounding the hotel isn't the most scenic, it's very convenient to the 405 highway and I-5, close to the river, and within 2 blocks the Nob Hill neighborhood is available. Nob Hill is full of fatastic restaurants (cafes, bistros, sandwich shops, high end European style restaurants and coffee shops), eclectic shopping (antiques, craft shops, high end men and women's clothing boutiques, record stores) and services (salons, dry cleaners, etc). It is obvious the locals hang out in Nob Hill, fully support the local businesses and because of this parking isn't easy so it's nice that the Holiday Inn Express provides free parking. Our reception at the front desk was friendly and efficient, my husband and I were placed in a room on the 4th floor with a view of the interstate, river and Mount Hood. The room was recently updated, it was very clean and neat, and the 2 queen beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large and contemporary. The enormous flat screen TV had dozens of cable channels which my husband appreciated for his sports watching habit. I used the small but convenient work out room Saturday morning and enjoyed the view of the indoor pool. After my work out I served myself at the free continental breakfast (served from 6:30 - 9:30am daily) some coffee, a yogurt and cereal. Despite the hotel being at full capacity neither my husband nor I heard anyone from inside our room - we were pleasantly surprised how quiet the 4 story hotel was. All in all a great stay for the price and the bonus points!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerpetualMovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express NW Downtown Portland would like to thank you for that wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and got to use our workout room, the breakfast and explore Nob Hill. Reviews like yours are so helpful to our current and future travelers we appreciate all of the thought and time that you put into creating it. We hope you found some of our great little restaurants on your walks through Nob Hill. We can only hope that you will be back again to explore!

We all look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Tiffany Forni, Online Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Its walking distance to pub and restaurants, the food coop, and bus line right outside the motel, check in was fast and service was knowledgeable and friendly, room clean and everything worked, breakfast was standard buffet style breakfast but very good and I'd stay again here for sure. Pool / Hot tub and gym on site all fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate it when guests like you take the time to share their experiences with others. Next time you stay with us feel free to ask our awesome front desk staff for recommendations on great places to eat or nice little shops to check out. :) We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Portland!

Tiffany Forni
Online Concierge
Holiday Inn Express - NW Portland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Great staff, easy to find (near the freeway), cute neighborhood was a bonus.
We stay at quite a few Holiday Inn Expresses (reward member), and this was one of the nicest ones we have been to. New (at least looked it), nice interior.
Pool/spa area was nice and clean and well decorated. The workout area was minimal, but better than other places we've been to.
Nice waiting area next to the guest laundry (Cushy chairs with a side table - great place to read a book). I've been to places where the laundry was in the basement and there is no place to sit, so this was a nice touch and greatly appreciated.
The neighborhood next to this hotel was unexpected. Really cute (great place for a run - lots to look at). A small (but expensive - WholeFoods style) market nearby. Tasty, small cafes within walking distance.
It's not next to the main touristy things, but it has close freeway access.
We really liked it here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1firewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write that very helpful review! We see that you've found our little secret the Nobb Hill shopping district down NW 23rd Avenue! I've informed our Executive Housekeeper to let her team know that they've done a great job keeping this hotel fresh looking through our nearly ten years! We can't wait to have you be our guest again! That cushy little area by the laundry room also has free wifi!

Thank you again for your great review!

Tiffany Forni
Online Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My daughter, two of her boys and I spent a Saturday night here while visiting another daughter who lives very near to this hotel. Everything met my expectations, but the swimming pool was the best. It was so warm.
This hotel is north of the downtown area. It was easy to park & there were restaurants within easy walking distance. The rooms were tasteful & well maintained & clean. I would definitely stay here again,
And did I mention how warm the water in the swimming pool was?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almostelderlycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! The indoor swimming pool is kept at a cozy 84 degrees and we are glad you enjoyed it! Both the hot tub and pool are salt water which is better for your skin and swim suits than the standard chlorinated pools. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your review!

Tiffany Forni
Online Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I came here with my husband and 2 small children and had a great time. The location is great. Conveniently located off the highway but in a wonderful neighborhood. It is within walking distance to a child-friendly park and playground (15 minute), a streetcar for easy access to downtown ( 20 minute walk), and a plethora of restaurants, cafes, and shops along 23rd street.

The room and lobby were very clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff had great customer service. I had called earlier in the day to request a crib and it was in the room when I got there.

My family really enjoyed the breakfast. My one complaint about it was that the scrambled eggs tasted fake, and they had a lot of sugary starchy offerings. The pancake machine was very entertaining.

We thought the pool was a nice size for recreational swimming (although not long enough for lap swimming) and had warm water. I also liked that there was a microwave and fridge in the room. Overall, a good value and I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourista01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyForni, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

First, we would like to thank you for your helpful review! We love to have guests take full advantage of our hotel's amenities and location. About the breakfast, we are sorry the eggs didn't satisfy. We do have less sugary options to chose from like hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and fruit. We try to be conscious of our guests dietary needs and provide different protein options throughout the week. Our signature cinnamon rolls have been one of the reason many people chose to stay with us so we will keep that sweet treat on the menu as we continue to improve our hotel in any way we can.

We are so happy that your family had a great time with us! We look forward to seeing you come back! Thanks again for your helpful review!

Tiffany Forni
Online Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 144 in Portland
557 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#12 of 144 in Portland
1,097 reviews
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 144 in Portland
741 reviews
Comfort Inn Portland
#62 of 144 in Portland
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $114 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing