We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere withe great food”
Review of The Observatory

The Observatory
Ranked #74 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere withe great food”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I went to the observatory with a friend, the recommendation from a person from Portland. We both loved it.
The atmostphere was great, and I loved the decor. A bit noisy, so I certainly would not go here for an intimate encounter, but for a group or friend situation it was perfect. The menu was a bit unusual and being slightly picky it worried me a bit, but the quinoa, blackbean and mushroom burger was exactly what I was looking for. They had some appetizer specials for half off and we tried the fry bread which was incredibly tasty. I felt it was a good value and very reasonably priced. I did not explore the wine/beer/cocktails, but they seemed to have a decent selection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    54
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very reasonable with imagination given to the dishes. A little noisy due to the high ceiling, but a great find. A decent beer and wine selection. This place was about 10 minutes from airport hotel row, but a nice find for an out of town visitor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skatingtoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Sandwich”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Unusual menu and good prices. Not a fancy place, a few tables set near a bar. Had a smoked trout sandwich (seemed an unusual item) on multigrain bread stuffed with cooked onions and sweet pepper. The side of sweet potato flies were expertly cooked - very crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgregfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
773 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“VERY high standard of food prep”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Out at 82nd and Stark SE one might miss this one..... it is a local hangout.
Price to quality = off the chart VALUE.
A VERY high standard of food prep.
My chicken fried chicken...yes u read it correctly...in the style of a chicken fried steak....using boneless thigh meat panko coated was outstanding...served with gourmet baby mushrooms in a cooked salad & a spicy corncake worked beautifully ensemble.
It's a busy little place and a bar scene going on.
No reservations.
casual atmosphere.
I waited a few minutes without being offered a beverage, then was seated at the bar.
Hard working staff had little time for chitchat but were cordial enough.
Remove food - drink handler using the 'claw' grip on the glassware....
and it's full marks from my perspective...
little tuff working in an 'open' prep area .....
.... ..it's there for all to see.
Would return to sample more menu items.
Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
260 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent meal and experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I chose the Observatory based on great reviews here. We were a bit nervous getting here as it isn't in the greatest of parts of Portland, but it if you can get out to the SE 80's, it's worth it. The restaurant doesn't look like much and doesn't take reservations, but we had good seats at the bar and were able to watch the amazing bartender work and see other dishes as they came out. We had a couple of specialty cocktails to start our meal. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful in choosing out entrees. We chose a trout piccata and a lamb burger. The trout wasn't very piccata-y, but it was very good. The lamb was prepared perfectly medium and was delicious. Although a bit nervous getting to and going in to the Observatory, it is a great option for Portland dining. I highly recommend it and will be back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing