We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of The Observatory

The Observatory
Ranked #61 of 4,270 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I are not "foodies", but we sure understood the impulse as we looked at the wonderful, inventive options on the Observatory menu: Basil and Garlic Chili Prawn Skewers with
napa cabbage slaw and coconut cashew sauce;Lamb Burger with local goat cheese, roasted red peppers, marinated onions and red pepper aioli; Smoked Trout Salad with peppery greens, green beans, egg, potatoes, olives, fennel and tomato in a creamy kalamata olive dressing. It makes my mouth water to just remember it! Service was friendly and attentive but low key. The restaurant itself was casual but clearly with high standards for food and service (the pictures on their web site make it look a little BIGGER than it was, but not a major issue). Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    53
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clackamas Oregon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“excellent food reasonable price”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had the sirloin steak which was juicy, and super flavorful. The roasted fingerling potaoes were incredible. The meal was only $15. The entree salads were 9 to 13 dollars and looked great. The cheese platter includes fruit, bread, and bacon and is $14.

The happy hour menu is modest but also modestly priced. The observatory is a hip meeting place for happy hour drinks and dinners in the popular Montavilla restaurant row. Don't park in the McDonalds lot they tow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JurgisRudkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot in outer SouthEast”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is a comfortable vibe here, with good food and drinks. Relaxing, not expensive, not super extensive menu but who cares when everything you get is good. Close to my house to boot. Great place for girls night out as well as dinner with the Honey. I think the bar looks fun to just hang out for small bites and drinks, we usually have gone for dinner. Been her about 5-6 times, always good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrahemsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quaint”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great experience. The meat and cheese plate was very satisfying and the atmosphere was a fun place. They have an extensive drink list to choose from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlbc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise! Cool spot, great food, who knew?”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Met some friends at this restaurant for dinner. They've been before, and recommended it, and by golly if they weren't right! Funky place, not a lot of seating, and definitely low-key, but extremely good food. I had a wonderful pulled pork sandwich with the best sweet potato fries I've ever had; other dishes on the table were a couple of the specials, Mahi Mahi with sauteed greens and a chicken/mushroom/spinach canneloni. Good choice of wines by the glass & beer, fun waitress, and delicious bread pudding for dessert. As a bonus, prices very reasonable, too, and there's a bar with pool tables in the back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealPhilGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Observatory also viewed

 

Been to The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing