We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of The Observatory

The Observatory
Ranked #68 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quaint”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great experience. The meat and cheese plate was very satisfying and the atmosphere was a fun place. They have an extensive drink list to choose from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlbc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    54
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise! Cool spot, great food, who knew?”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Met some friends at this restaurant for dinner. They've been before, and recommended it, and by golly if they weren't right! Funky place, not a lot of seating, and definitely low-key, but extremely good food. I had a wonderful pulled pork sandwich with the best sweet potato fries I've ever had; other dishes on the table were a couple of the specials, Mahi Mahi with sauteed greens and a chicken/mushroom/spinach canneloni. Good choice of wines by the glass & beer, fun waitress, and delicious bread pudding for dessert. As a bonus, prices very reasonable, too, and there's a bar with pool tables in the back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealPhilGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome Happy Hour”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Observatory has everything I go to Happy Hour for. The value is spot on, with $2 and $3 apps including a delicious tomato red pepper soup. Fun special cocktail of the day is made with good ingredients. Only downside is that for Portland they were a little shy on choices for beer on tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stmbled upon this neighborhood delight. There is something for everyone on the menu: fry bread appetizer is a must-do. We had various sandwiches, plus soup and salad. All were well above average. Noteworthy is the quality of rolls used for sandwiches: possibly the best our group has ever experienced. Pulled pork and burgers were a delight; soups obviously homemade with care. Not in the area? Well worth the drive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlainJane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious comfort food!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining here last weekend. It's really a hidden gem. With its warm hipster atmosphere and wonderful cocktail list, it was a treat. Their menu offers a nice selection of appetizers and salads. We started with the ceviche that was citrusy and refreshing. The entrees are the ultimate in comfort. Most are served with mashed potatoes and a variety of veggies. We chose the meatloaf and the baked pinko chicken high. The meatloaf s glaze was the perfect combination of sweet and savory. The Chen was baked o perfection and the Brussels spouts were tangy and crispy. Fr dessert we chose the bread budding and tiramisu, both were amazing. The pudding came itch a warm buttery glaze in a pot. The tiramisu was one of the lightest I had. Fullness didn't stop us from eating them both. The service was great! With so many selections in pdx, this one is worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing