We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving Cruise”

Portland Spirit River Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Columbia River Gorge Tour and Portland Spirit Dinner Cruise
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Small-Group Portland City Driving Tour and Willamette River Lunch Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn
2 reviews
“Great Thanksgiving Cruise”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was a great Thanksgiving Lunch/Dinner Cruise along the Willamette River. It was a 2.5 hr. cruise complete with a traditional Thanksgiving Meal. We had carved turkey, mash potatoes and gravy, sweet potatoes, stuffing, a variety of salads and fruits to choose from and whatever you want to drink. Oh and dessert, pumpkin pie, apple pie and cheese cake. It was great for the whole family and our son even had the opportunity to steer the ship-what a bonus for a boy. And the music was great!!! A piano player and the staff sings upon arrival and departure. Loved it and great views along the river. I would do this again next year if possible.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to spend the holiday with us and I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your time and the food! We hope to see you again next year if not before!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    132
    47
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great date night!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a great date night! My husband and I went aboard the Portland Spirit and found the food to be delicious and the wine hit the spot! The staff serenaded us and the piano player created a special romantic ambience. I even bought a gift card through the online site for my parents, who are also in desperate need for a date night. :)
I wouldn't recommend small children, however, since they would probably get bored. It's meant to be relaxing, romantic meal up the river and back.
I'll be honest, though. It was expensive since there was not any deals going on at the time. Now I know to look for deals (Groupon, Portland Perks, Living Social) but those come and go anyway. Fun night!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing your dinner cruise with us and glad to hear your enjoyed your cruise. We do at times do deals with Groupon, Perks and Living Social for some of our specialty and sightseeing cruises, so definitely keep an eye out for those.

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Portland Spirit on a beautiful Fall day!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took my Mom for her birthday on a Saturday lunch cruise. The weather was perfect, the staff was attentive, the food was delicious, and we had a wonderful time. We booked on very short notice, as we were trying to coordinate everyone's schedules but it all went very smoothly. Thanks again, Portland Spirit, for a great trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks so much for cruising with us and taking the time to review your experience. So glad to hear you enjoyed your time on board and look forward to cruising with you again soon!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great 2 hr cruise”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Used a Groupon for 2 hr cruise. Very pretty and informative. Dock is next to River walk. If you have extra time before or after, it is a long paved path right on the water. Lots of locals jogging and biking. Shops and cafes 1 block up from River Walk if you need refreshment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler567J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your cruise with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time on board and hope to cruise with you again soon!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Gorgeous fall day. Friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

So I'll give this a 3 because we got BOGO tickets thru Portland Perks, so we didn't have to pay the full price.

Perks: It was a gorgeous day and because we just did sightseeing we got to have the deck mostly to ourselves for about 1/2 the trip while most folks ate downstairs. The staff was friendly and we got to visit the wheel house. The drink prices were reasonable.

Negatives: Our tickets had the office address on them so we went to the wrong side of the river and almost missed our non refundable cruise. Luckily we found parking close by and ran to the ship and made it with minutes to spare.

We had our picture taken when we boarded but never saw it or were offered the picture.

We looked forward to the narration, but you can only hear it if you stand/sit right next to the speakers and during the 2nd half when everyone from downstairs comes upstairs it's almost impossible to hear.

It was worth doing once for 1/2 the price, I guess.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your sightseeing cruise with us. The Perk that you had showed our business office address, however the confirmation you receive when you make a reservation with us should have noted to boarding location correctly. Your boarding photo should have definitely been offered to you. And we appreciate the feedback on the narration, I would like to look into it further. When you have a moment if you could let me know what day you cruised with us that would be very helpful! It is feedback like this that helps us provide the best cruising experience possible.

Thank you again.
Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Spirit River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Portland Spirit River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing