We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to go from here”

Portland Spirit River Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Small-Group Portland City Driving Tour and Willamette River Lunch Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where to go from here”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I were so very excited about taking a 2 and half hour trip on the Portland Spirit to see the beautiful Christmas lights displayed by the boat owners on the Willamette river. We rarely treat ourselves to this kind of venture, let alone at Christmas time when the expenses are higher than usual.

This experience turned out to be an utter fiasco. We sat at a table which was unprepared, in the center of the room, there was noise and chaos from a Christmas party of several people next to us, we were seated on the lower deck and the windows were so fogged we were unable to see out. The list goes on. The one redeeming factor, food was great! Service left a great deal to be desired.

We will not recommend this trip to either friends or relatives. Very disappointed!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Portlanddew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your cruise with us and we are very sorry it did not meet your expectations. Very good to hear that you did enjoy your meal on board. We tried to message you, but have not heard back as of yet. We would love to get some more information from you to look into it further. If and when you get a moment please feel free to email me at kbaxter@portlandspirit.com. Thank you again!

Kristen Baxter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    125
    46
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Despite the Rain Storm-a great winter cruise!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

3 families took the Saturday Brunch cruise during a Winter Rain Storm and still had a very enjoyable time. Due to the group size,we were all able to sample everything on the special menu and there was no disappointing comments from child to senior. The staff were very attentive and informative on our needs and narrating the sights we were passing. The 'kids' enjoyed the visit to the 'Wheelhouse' and watching the stern paddles power us up the river. Our bonus was seeing the SP 4449 steam train returning from a holiday run with the locomotive and ship blowing their whistles for all to hear on the river. We look forward to coming back for a summer evening cruise later next year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so glad to hear that despite our lovely Oregon winter weather, you and your families had a great time on board! We look forward to having you all on board again this year!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dinner Cruise Complete with Lighted Boats”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner on the Spirit during the Christmas Boat Parade....Boats were decorated with lights and sailing out in the water alongside us for part of the cruise. It was really nice to see all the Portland city lights on the shore, too! Our dinner selection was a filet, and was so tender, you could have cut it with a fork. Very nice wait staff, wonderful piano music, and smooth sailing the whole time. Great way to start the holidays!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank brendi934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
So glad you had such a wonderful time on board our Christmas Ships cruise. It is one of our favorites too! Thanks so much for joining us to start your holiday celebrations and we hope to get you on board again!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Brunch Cruise”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a great time on their Brunch Cruise with the Sternwheeler. The ship is very cool and rides very smooth. The brunch food was just about what you'd expect from a bunch place. On top of that they had some lunch items and to top it off there was Champagne. All in all a great choice for a romantic trip.
I've been on those before and I have to agree with others that the lunch food is not the best.
Chose it for the views, ambiance and maybe for brunch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gkaragat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing our Brunch Cruise. So glad to hear you enjoyed yourself on board and we hope to have you on board again soon!

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Portland Spirit River .....super experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We took the Sunday Brunch in late November & they certainly exceeded our expectations. After a greeting & pictures at the dock (by the Captain & First Mate) we boarded the vessel. The first impression of the buffet was fantastic so we got seated & .....immediately received a glass of champagne. Nice ! And they were very generous :o)

Our waiter was very attentive & the piano player on the main floor churned out some great songs. The announcements of features on the shore were just enough & also very informative of Portland's history & curent changes. Back to the food as we filled a second plate. Lots of offerings from roast beef to fish & all kinds of salads. So this easily accommodated all tastes.

The vessel is very clean & in top shape. Lots of big windows to sight see. The upper deck gave you a bit more perspective & also a chance to check out the gift shop. But the bonus was to get into the wheelhouse to have a chat with the captain. He was very knowledgeable about the waterways, the vessel & other history of the region. Check it out !

What can I say .....strong referral. Great food, great sights & great service. Well worth the price to spend a few hours on the water.

Safe landings
Mike N

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland S, Public Relations Manager at Portland Spirit River Cruises, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Mike - Thank you so much for all the great feedback from your cruise with us. We are so glad you enjoyed everything on board and had such a wonderful time! Hopefully next time you are in the Portland area we can get you on board again.

Kristen Baxter
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Spirit River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Portland Spirit River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing